We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Vancouver Airport Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Vancouver Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Vancouver Airport Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7551 Westminster Highway, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1A3, Canada (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Richmond
GreenLeadersSilver level
Victoria, BC, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

On Tues. Sept. 17, 2013, we arrived at Vancouver airport from LAX one hour late, frazzled because of a glitch by Air Canada. Our luck changed at approx. 12:45am when the Sheraton Airport shuttle driver, Mike, picked us up at YVR. He handled three sets of baggage: my daughter's, grand-daughter's and mine, then disappeared into the hotel while we were checking in. Within minutes, Mike appeared again, carrying a glass of milk and cookies for my 8-year-old granddaughter, who was quietly suffering from lack of sleep. This kind gesture brought a bright ray of sunshine to what had been a nasty travelling experience. When we offered our thanks he replied airily "That's what we do at the Sheraton."
Next morning (it was 5:15am when we had to catch the shuttle to the 7:00am flight that Air Canada insisted we take -- imagine, after a few hours' sleep!) there was Mike in the lobby, smilingly asking what we took in our coffee. This person is a jewel. If this reflects Sheraton's hiring policies, congratulations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVeinot, General Manager at Sheraton Vancouver Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience with Mike during your recent unexpected visit.
We also feel very fortunate to have Mike working for us at the Sheraton and this "random act of kindness" represents perfectly the type of person that Mike is.
I know that Mike has already seen your Trip Advisor comments as we published them in our daily staff communication briefing. I will thank you on is behalf for your amazing endorsement of his service.

Best Regards,
Steve Veinot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    162
    54
    12
    12
See reviews for
88
77
41
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liberec, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We missed a connection at the airport and the airline put us up in this hotel for the night. It was about a 20 min free shuttle bus ride from the airport and proved to be an oasis in an otherwise hectic day. We were given a king room that was well appointed, good quality toiletries and hairdryer supplied, coffee maker with supplies to brew your own Starbucks coffee. big screen tv, writing desk, easy chair and ottoman and a balcony. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The hotel has an in-house Starbucks that opens at 6 am as well as a well supplied gift shop. The in-house restaurant/bar served up very fine, large portion meals. I had fish and chips made from halibut and my wife ordered black cod. We give both dishes great reviews. WiFi is free in the lobby along with about six computer terminals. WiFi in the room is about $5.00. Two or three different newspapers are available in the lobby in the morning. Free airport shuttle runs like clockwork every 30 minutes. All in all, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVeinot, General Manager at Sheraton Vancouver Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Many thanks for your positive comments on your unexpected stay with us at the Sheraton Vancouver Airport Hotel.
Thank you kindy for describing our products and services for the Trip Advisor audience. I am pleased that your stay was pleasant even in light of missing your flight and having to spend the extra night in Richmond before returning home.

Best Regards,

Steve Veinot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 non-consecutive days on this trip. The first stay, we had a room on the first floor; on the 2nd stay (3 days later) we were on the 2nd floor on the very far end of the hotel. It was a very long walk on mostly carpet which made it slightly difficult to pull our heavy luggage, but since it was only for one night, not a big deal.

The hotel is situated in some kind of plaza which it shares with the Marriott hotel. Rooms were clean and noise was not an issue. 7551 Westminister is a busy road, especially during rush hour. We had a rental car and paid for parking (I think it was $18/night) which is basically finding a spot in the plaza (the hotel website says there's covered parking that that wasn't our case).

This does not have an airport hotel feel as the area is quite busy with lots of food and shopping places within a 10-min drive. Lots of Chinese shops and restaurants that were very good. Overall, but for having to pay for parking, it was excellent for an airport hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for location of room you're given. On our 2nd stay, we were given a room that was very far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Booked in at this Sheraton for a 2 day, 2 night conference and hadn't been here before so wasn't quite sure what to expect but was happily surprised at the quality of the room, on-site amenities and conference facilities.

I was in room 245 which was a balcony room that overlooked a back parking lots but was mercifully quiet and enjoyed a well appointed, large, comfortable room with nice beds and updated bathroom. The individual room climate control was nice as was the big flat screen TV so overall was very happy with the fit & finishes of the room.

Having a Starbucks on-site was handy and visited it a few times over the course of the weekend. The catered conference meals and snacks were prepared and presented well which isn't always the case at these large events.

I'm not quite sure why I've missed this Sheraton over the years when in Richmond but now I've been I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located close to the airport and a large shopping mall. It also is walking distance to many good restaurants and the Sky Train. With a 24 hour shuttle it could not be a better choice for early morning flights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVeinot, Manager at Sheraton Vancouver Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for the comments on your recent stay with us at the Sheraton Vancouver Airport Hotel. I appreciate your comments that demonstrate not only our proximity to YVR, but also the many amenities that surround the hotel within a 5 minute walk, including the Richmond Centre Mall and the Canada Line skytrain station.
We look forward to seeing you again on the future.

Regards,
Steve Veinot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed August 13, 14 and 15th, 2013 at the Sheraton Vancouver Airport Hotel. We arrived after a long flight from Bermuda and were obviously tired. The wait for the free shuttle was brief and very quickly we arrived in the lobby of the hotel. We have nothing but great things to say about the hotel and staff. Check in was very friendly and swift. They located us on the 5th floor West Tower which was quiet. The room was spotless and bed extremely comfortable. We had access to their executive top floor lounge which was really great with breakfast and newspaper, drinks, food and snacks available 24 hours. The fitness center is very nice with modern machines. Our dining experience at Harold's was so good that we ate there every evening. The Richmond Mall is just across the road and the sky train into Vancouver is a short walk making this hotel an inexpensive option to the downtown venues.

We rented a car right outside the hotel (from National not Avis) and returned to the hotel upon our flight back to Bermuda three weeks later. We made use of the excellent service and food once again at the hotel. I had about 40 pounds of frozen Pacific salmon which they put in the deep freezer for us while we dined. They also held our luggage in a secure room. After dinner when it was time to catch the red-eye back to Toronto, we again made use of their free shuttle to YVR.

We would like to give special thanks to one of their hosts “Ed” as he showed us around and got us wine glasses for our room and showed us the way to the beer and wine store just off the ground level. Mario and the entire staff deserve commendation for their professionalism and friendliness. We were so pleased with this hotel that we plan on staying there again over New Years. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the West Tower which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel Aug. 30 - Sept. 2nd, 2013. Requested and received two rooms, ground floor, with sliding glass patio doors / easy access to the swimming pool area. Traveling with wife, daughter and 5 yr. old grandson. Loved it.
Great staff at front desk, food/beverage. Truly impressed with this hotel - actually did not expect the level of service and quality facility. Beds/linens were super comfortable, the pool although small was wonderful for me and grandson. Staff made excellent recommendations for restaurants, directions - good Dim Sum nearby, easy walking. Took the sky train into Vancouver - Stanley Park / Aquarium / Granville Island are great destinations. Highly recommend this hotel. Bartender (Diane?) is a peach.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors, north side are quieter, rooms facing the pool area are louder but conveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVeinot, General Manager at Sheraton Vancouver Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive feedback on your stay with us.
From your comments, I am assuming that you have been at the hotel several times and am pleased that the hotel products and the staff service keep us top of mind when your are staying in the area.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Steve Veinot
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Vancouver Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Vancouver Airport Hotel

Address: 7551 Westminster Highway, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Richmond
#9 Business Hotel in Richmond
#14 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Vancouver Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel offers free shuttle service to Vancouver Airport, as well as special park and fly packages. In addition, we have great event space, perfect for everything from board meetings to weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Vancouver Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Vancouver Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.