We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good airport hotel and close to Richmond” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport

Save Saved
You added Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3099 Corvette Way, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 4K3, Canada (Bridgeport)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 24 hotels in Richmond
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“good airport hotel and close to Richmond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We went up to Richmond from Seattle for a foodie weekend. We were upgraded to a corner room. The room size wasn't bigger but we gained the space of a corridor and have windows all around.

The hotel surrounding isn't really walkable. If you are just stopping by Vancouver and heading out the next day, you will have to take a taxi to Richmond or other places. Fortunately, Richmond is very close. As the hotel is not quite in town, I was surprised that we have to pay $19 for parking. Whether it is at a good location depends on what you are looking for. We knew that we would be going to restaurants in Richmond, so this location is ok.

The hotel is new and clean. When we entered our room, there was a musty smell as if the room was damp.

The restaurant seemed to be understaff. There were two wait staff and we had to wait for a long time to get our coffee during breakfast.

The hotel has free internet throughout. This is the first time I have been to a Starwood hotel that doesn't charge for internet. It is great and I wish more Starwood hotels would do that.

The amenities are truly "Westin", heavenly bed, nice showers, etc.

Room Tip: the "21" rooms (and some others) are corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WallCentreHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear chicbean, We thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments and concerns. It is wonderful to know that you were able to take great advantage of our free wi-Fi internet service. Please accept our sincerest apology in regards of your lenghty wait in the apron restaurant during our busy breakfast hours. We always try to accomodate as best as possible. Thank you for your patience chicbean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    191
    48
    16
    8
See reviews for
108
130
33
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Booked through Hotwire and got great value for this new hotel, we did learn however that had we booked directly with the hotel as Starwood members, we could have been upgraded to Club level for just a little higher cost. Location is convenient to the airport, Richmond and Vancouver. We had a mountain view which was beautiful, but a little bit noisy as our room faced a main road. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms ob the south side I suspect are quieter than on the north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WallCentreHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear GORDON M,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay with us. We absolutely appreciate it and it gives us the opportunity to provide you with the best possible customer service and quality. We regret to hear that you were not aware of the possibility to upgrade to our Executive Club Lounge for an additional $25 per night, which includes complimentary breakfast and evening appetizer. We apologize for the inconvenience.and will make sure to properly communicate this feature to all of our guests moving forward in the future. Thank you for your patience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a new Westin hotel located in Richmond BC, it is somewhat close to the airport although there are quite a few of them which are closer and then there are those which are an equal distance away but are in a better location. We got this at a great deal though so I can't really complain, and since we reside in the same city, it was not much of an inconvenience for us - I would imagine it would be for out-of-towners unless you have a vehicle. There is a light rail transit system nearby but the station is quite a bit of a walk away, it is also at the end of No. 3 road which is where most of Richmond's establishments are but they are mostly in the centre which isn't accessible from this hotel unless you can walk for 30 mins. or take the bus/train.
On another note, the pool and gym is located in a side of the hotel which is shared with residents of 2 nearby condo buildings - so it is a maze of elevator/stairs and back-alleys to get there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Westin was great value. We arrived in Vancouver at 9:00 pm and felt that it was crazy to spend a lot to simply sleep and leave the hotel for the city. So, we bid on priceline and got the hotel for about $80. It was a nice Westin--comfortable beds, nice room and great value. The hotel is walking distance to the skyway into the city and walking distance to the casino. Definitely think of staying here if you need to be at the airport early--they have a shuttle to the airport too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WallCentreHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear drsheryl, We are more than delighted that you had such a wonderful stay at the Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport Hotel. Thank you very much for expressing your positive comments in regards of your recent stay with us. We will make sure to forward them to our team and are looking forward in welcoming you back soon. Do not hesitate to contact us at reservations@wallcentre.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

When traveling to Vancouver, I find it sometimes easier to stay near the airport. I often use Hotwire to get a nice hotel at a cheaper price. For my last 2 stays, I have ended up with the Westin. I could not have been more pleased. Parking can be challenging if you self-park. Valet service is available for an additional feel.

The staff is extremely friendly. They are always smiling and remember your name. I am part of the SPG club, but at the lowest tier. That doesn't seem to matter. They still treat you like a star. The rooms are comfy and sizable. I always know I will get a great nights sleep. Internet is free if you want to check email. If you are going to transfer files, you will need to pay for the additional speed.

Room Tip: Show your SPG membership. You may just get an upgrade if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed at the Westin Wall Centre in early April 2013.

This hotel is a hotel of approximately 6 stories high in a long rectangular shape with about 15 guest rooms on each floor. There is an extension to the rectanglular shape which is the area where the small gym and pools are located. One side of the hotel faces the highways and the other faces an open and unbuilt industrial area with two apartment buildings next door. There is a small marina around the apartments next door that you cannot see from the hotel, this marina area is not scenic.

Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:

- new hotel
- a few minutes' drive to the airport
- quiet rooms ( although the rooms facing the highways has a slight hum if you are sensitive)
- the rooms facing the open industrial area aforementioned are larger, I had one of those which contain 2 queen beds
- very new, modern and comfortable bathroom with separate shower area and bathtub
-very good food in the restaurant
-good service ( except for the young man who served me upon check-in who was a bit offish)
-shuttle bus runs every 30 minutes 24/7
-excellent deal if you have a car as I paid $ 135 ( CAA rate) and it came with I believe 8 days of free parking

Cons:
- this hotel is very small, " Centre" in the name makes it sound grand and it is not
-rooms facing highways has a slight hum if you listen for it. Although maybe 80% of the guests should not find this an issue
- nothing to do outside the hotel, a very dead area with 2 not-fancy restaurants across the street and some conveniences down the road, I arrive at 5pm and my flight next day was 2 pm, I was wondering if I should have booked a hotel downtown to have things to do, the surrounding area is very industrial and ugly looking
- restaurant is small with about 15 small tables, the food is expensive ( main course as I recall was about $ 25 Cdn, with a glass of wine and tax, I paid $ 40 for dinner) but the quality was very good so the price was fair
- the gym has new equipment and has large picture windows facing as I said unattractive views
-the pool and jacuzzi are spotless, the pool however is small, great for a dip or for kids, not for lap swimming although it is a rectangular shape

I would not stay here again unless I am only just sleeping overnight and just want to eat on site and then to bed. It is a boring location.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing away from the highways
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport for a weekend with some friends. Booked through Priceline, and they honored our request for a room with two beds. The hotel is newer, but located in an industrial area just adjacent to the main strip in Richmond. Probably a 5-minute walk to restaurants, shops, etc. on the strip, and a 15-minute walk to the SkyTrain.

The hotel itself is in excellent condition. The staff are courteous and friendly. We had a room on the 14th floor, which offered commanding views of the nearby marina. Despite being near the airport, we experienced no airport or highway noise whatsoever.

The room had two very comfortable queen beds, a 50"-ish-inch LCD TV, and a mini-fridge. The bathroom contained a large, glass-enclosed shower and a deep soaking tub. Very nice!

We didn't use the gym or the pool, but our friends did, and reported them to be excellent. We didn't dine at the on-site restaurant either (too much good food nearby!), but the menu looked quite good.

Parking is $20/night, which, while expensive, is about half of what you pay in downtown.

We'd gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport

Address: 3099 Corvette Way, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 4K3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Richmond > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#4 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#7 Business Hotel in Richmond
#9 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Wall Centre, Vancouver Airport is conveniently located near the airport, offering complimentary shuttle service to and from and providing guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport Hotel Richmond

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Wall Centre Vancouver Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.