We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The American Grille

The American Grille
7571 Westminster Highway | Vancouver Airport Marriott Hotel, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 1A3, Canada (City Centre)
+1 604-232-2804
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The American Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 669 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $26 - $43
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Centre
Cross street: Minoru Boulevard
Transit: A short 5 minute walk from the Brighouse Canada Line Station.
Description: Located in the heart of Richmond at the Vancouver Airport Marriott Hotel, The American Grille continues to be one of Richmond's most popular lunch and dinner destinations. Offering a comfortable business-casual setting by day and elegant candlelit dining at sunset, The American Grille is sure to wow you and your guests.
AR
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Always pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Their breakfast is real good. The last time we ordered yogurt, granola, & fruit & it was soooooo good for we hadn't had food like that in awhile. This time we both ordered eggs & Canadian bacon. The buffet looked good but was a little overpriced for us because we're not great big eaters. We like this place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    37
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, MD
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I recently stayed in the Marriott Vancouver Airport, which features the American Grill Restaurant. I ate breakfast there three times and dinner twice.

The breakfast features a buffet or you may order off the menu. If you do chose the buffet, you can request eggs cooked any way you please if you do not want the type of eggs featured in the buffet. The price is very reasonable and the service is outstanding. The waitress even remembered me and my usual order after the first day.

For dinner, one night I had the spinach salad and for my other meal, the 6oz. AAA Alberta Beef Tenderloin. The salad was very good, but the beef tenderloin was absolutely delicious. I've eaten in many steakhouses and this was as good as the steak I have been served in one of these. Service was also outstanding.

Don't be fooled thinking a restaurant in a Marriott can't be good. Give this one a try; you will be pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An excellent breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The physical space is comfortable and full of natural light. The menu and buffet offer many choices. The food is fresh, tasty and well presented. The service is excellent.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick, maryland
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
423 helpful votes 423 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We ate several meals here and they were all excellent. Whoever does the breakfast preparation is obsessional about perfect plating, with toast in geometrical array and everything else neatly placed (I wish I had photographed these!). Everything was cooked to customized perfection, including vegetarian egg whites only omelette, and pancakes and bacon. Service at all meals was excellent. For dinner, tried the asian vegetarian plate (Ginger Hoisin Vegetable Bowl) with salmon added (very good) and Alberta Beef Tenderloin with frites (also very good). For lunch, had some very good salads (Spicy Prawn and Avocado; Fraser Valley Greens) and moules et frites. The regional Canadian Cabernet from Okanagan was also quite acceptable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHOENIX
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Gilled Salmon Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

One of best in the NorthWest and wonderful service from waiter

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The American Grille also viewed

 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to The American Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The American Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.