We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kudos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Canoe

Blue Canoe
3866 Bayview Street (Unit 140), Richmond, British Columbia V7E 4R7, Canada (Steveston)
604-275-7811
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Canoe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 669 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Steveston
Cross street: 2nd Avenue
Transit: Local bus service to the corner of No. 1 Rd and Moncton, 2 blocks from the restaurant.
Description: Rustic & charming, this Steveston Village gathering spot features a sea-heavy (but sustainable) menu and a unique beer and wine list.
Richmond, B.C.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Kudos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

It's not often a restaurant will take the cost of an entree off the bill, unrequested, simply because the dish wasn't cooked the way you expected. My daughter likes deep fried calamari but not pan fried. She neglected to ask about the preparation but when the waitress noticed the uneaten calamari she offered a different entree and when that was refused took the cost off the bill. Well done Blue Canoe!

Incidentally the rest of us, 5 at a birthday celebration, quite enjoyed our meals!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    64
    25
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“All of our family get togethers happen at the Blue Canoe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a terrific spot to take the kids for a nice get together When our kids come into town from Calgary and Seattle we take them to the Blue Canoe great experience

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gone Downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Blue Canoe used to be one of my favorites in Steveston, but not anymore. The menu has changed and the selection is not as good anymore. Portion sizes have also decreased but prices have increased!! I would try other restaurants before I would go back here. They do have a great patio.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“not a bad meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

went for lunch in December. When we arrived there were very few people in the restaurant. There were three groups in line. We were told it would be a five minute wait, the next couple ten minutes and the third fifteen minutes. We asked if they were understaffed and they said no but there were a lot of reservation. We never noticed the place filling up. That aside, service was ok and the food was good. Would i go again, yes. The view from the window seats is very nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Steveston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Had lunch at this restaurant on Christmas Eve. So good. Fish and chips excellent, Salmon chowder was declared a hit and the fish tacos to die for. the best ever. went back today but too busy, so moved on to another restaurant. Blue Canoe chefs are creative and present new items. not just run of the mill seafood items. I recommend this restaurant. Service great, staff friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Canoe also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Blue Canoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Canoe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.