We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai River

Shanghai River
7831 Westminster Highway, Richmond, British Columbia V6X 4J4, Canada (City Centre)
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 673 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Centre
Manitoba
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is some of the best Chinese food I have ever had! The food is traditional and not the standard North American version. Staff were friendly and helpful. The environment is great and clearly caters to families with most tables set up for groups of 8 to 10. The only limitation is a rather restricted drink menu with one house red or white wine and few varieties of beer. Reservations are recommended, the place is frequently full and has a queue of waiting patrons.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    34
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine FL
Top Contributor
565 reviews 565 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 178 cities Reviews in 178 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Great place for good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

After reading the reviews here, I knew I had to stop in for dinner.

So on my latest trip to Vancouver last week I stopped in for dinner with a few friends.

We arrived around 5:00 and already the place was filling up. We were quickly seated and our host brought us menus. The menus had pictures which really helped speed up the process of deciding what to order.

I knew what I wanted right away, the Peking Duck. Brad ordered the Schezwan Shrimp and Linda had a vegetable dish. We decided to share everything and we all enjoyed our dinner.

As others have noticed, some of the servers English is a bit ... rough. But then again, I would be hard pressed to even say a word or two of Chinese.

We found the staff friendly, the food was excellent and overall a great dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Ideal for a Family gathering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

It was my birthday and I asked my daughter who lives in Richmond to make a reservation at a Chinese restaurant that had excellent food, good service and would be suitable for her 2 small children (ages 3 and 7) as well as my husband and me and our daughters and their spouses.

The Shanghai River hit the mark on all points. There were a great many delightful dishes on the menu and we had no problem choosing a few that we knew would be good. Our favorites were the Whole Rock Cod with vegetables and the spicy egg plant - both extra yummy.

Our daughter had arranged to take in a small birthday cake and it was presented with a couple of candles at the appropriate time by our server who seemed happy to help. In fact we found all of the wait staff to be very good.

Like most large Chinese Restaurants, Shanghai River is noisy and the many tables are quite close together so it wouldn't be very suitable for a Romantic Evening - or a business lunch or dinner. Other than that I highly recommend.

.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A European's joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

A favorite of my in-laws, we had lunch and dinner here during our two week stay with them this summer.

I was treated first time round to Peking duck accompanied by a few vegetable dishes. These included pak choi and an absolute favorite of mine, water spinach. I was certainly not disappointed, nor did I leave hungry. In fact, for a time I thought I'd need to be carried...

On our return a week later for dinner we opted for a variety of dishes including jelly fish, something I'd never had before, and their renowned xiao long bao. My partner loves her fried pork chops and she made no attempt to hide her satisfaction as she devoured her share in silent delight.

Everything was brought to us quickly, tasted great and in generous quantities. Very enjoyable and I would certainly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing food!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I happen to come across this restaurant because it was one of the few ones still opened when we arrived at the Vancouver airport on Friday evening. We knew we had hit the jackpot when we saw that it was full of Chinese people at 9:00 in the evening. On our way to our table, we say a little lady making Xiao Long Bao behind a glass window. After scanning the restaurant, we discovered that this was the house specialty and boy, was it special! We like it so much that we ordered a second order. That's 8 baos for each person!!! In addition, we had the Black Cod with Spicy Minced Pork. It was fabulous!!!

We wished we had more people in our party so that we could try more of the dishes. We will definitely go back there the next time we visit Vancouver.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai River also viewed

Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
Richmond, British Columbia
 

Been to Shanghai River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.