We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe stop - perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Askham Hall Gardens and Cafe

Askham Hall Gardens and Cafe
Askham, Penrith CA10 2PF, England
01931 712348
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Askham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy the gardens, relax in the Kitchen Garden Cafe and visit the animals. The gardens are full of interesting features including colourful terraces and herbaceous borders, formal lawns, kitchen gardens, woodlands, meadows and ponds. There are impressive views too and you can buy some plants to take home with you. At the Kitchen Garden Cafe you can enjoy coffee, cakes, light lunches including pizzas and other hot food from the outdoor wood-fired oven. Homemade ice-creams and cordials are also on the menu. We grow and rear as much of our own produce as possible for Askham Hall Cafe and our pub and restaurant the George and Dragon in nearby Clfton.You can meet the animals too in our special animal viewing area - including rare-breed pigs, goats and shorthorn cattle and soon, free-range chickens and ducks. And children can also enjoy the outdoor play area.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cafe stop - perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We visited the cafe for afternoon tea on a drive back from the Lake District, and what a find! Excellent cakes and scones, home made jam, good tea, not too expensive (given the quality), and sat in an old cow shed for a real rustic feel. One very minor moan was that the cream teas didn't use clotted cream - but hey, we are from the West Country.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    7
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Fabulous garden cafe with pizzas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Went to the cafe for a late Sunday lunch with friends, as part of a long walk around Askham and Lowther castle. We didn't want much, but were enticed by the pizzas and cheese toasties. They were delicious and just the right size. Pizzas cooked in open wood oven. Good range of teas and coffees. A brilliant stop for simple food on a walk.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Gardens not as hoped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The gardens were not as hoped, perhaps late in the season for the best of the boarders. The pond full of duckweed and algae was not a good feature for the garden. The garden and hall are set in a splendid location and perhaps more could be made of the gardens for what is charged. The greatest concern is the open stone steps without handrails from the terrace to the animals, this we found to be bordering on dangerous and am surprise that it is used for public access.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
editor89, Owner at Askham Hall Gardens and Cafe, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear John

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Askham Hall gardens and cafe. We are disappointed to read your feedback in relation to the gardens. Askham Hall gardens opened to the public in 2012 and the development of them is an ongoing process. The gardens have come a long way during this time however as with any project of this nature there is still further progress to be made, which we feel is reflected in the entry fee which has not increased since the opening.

In regards to a handrail on the steps, this is currently being installed and will be in place next week, to facilitate visitors. We are sorry that it was not already present during your visit.

We have recently been awarded the VAQAS accredition (Visitor Attracton Quality Assessment Scheme), meeting the National Tourist board's seal of approval. If you have any further concerns or queries please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dreadful Gardens”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Visited the cafe for a wood fired pizza. They got the order wrong and then simply added the pepperoni and stuck it back in the oven so the base was burnt but overall the pizzas were nice. Paid £5.50 each to visit 'gardens'. Very disappointed. Plants poorly maintained, weeds everywhere, the 'secret path' was manky, dank and smelly which lead to a 'pond' which again was poorly maintained and nothing to see except a sea of green. The animal trail is simply a walk in a field and if you squint then might just be able to see a pig in the distance.....Disgusting that they are even charging to visit. Dreadful dreadful and more dreadful. The only positive is the girls in the cafe are pleasant.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
editor89, Owner at Askham Hall Gardens and Cafe, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Helen,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Askham Hall gardens and cafe. We are disappointed to read your feedback in relation to the gardens. Askham Hall gardens opened to the public in 2012 and the development of them is an ongoing process. The gardens have come a long way during this time however as with any project of this nature there is still further progress to be made, which we feel is reflected in the entry fee which has not increased since the opening.

The animal trail is a new part of the route. As is the nature with animals, we cannot guarantee what you will see during your visit, however there are currently shorthorn cattle, boer goats, pigs, piglets, ducks, chickens and our newest addition baby chicks in the grounds at Askham Hall. We are sorry that at the time of your visit there were not many animals visible as the animals in the fields may have been sleeping in the shade. The chicks are currently in the stable block, I am sorry if you missed the sign for these.

We have recently been awarded the VAQAS accredition (Visitor Attracton Quality Assessment Scheme), meeting the National Tourist board's seal of approval. If you have any further concerns or queries please do not hesitate to contact us.

I'm glad to hear that your overall experience of the cafe and the pizzas was positive, despite a confusion with the order. We shall investigate the issue with the burnt base to ensure this doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to eat & chill out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Couldn't decide what to do for lunch out on a Sunday & had left it too late to book into the sister establishment - the George & Dragon at Clifton - so just popped along for a Sunday afternoon pizza. The setting in the gardens is fantastic & the pizzas with the freshest of ingredients cooked in the outdoor oven are just to die for. Great in summer when you can sit out but equally great in winter when you can sit inside in the cosy old barn refurbishment. We're local so we often pop along for lunch, the good thing with it being cafe style is that it doesn't matter what time you go you can always get excellent food (especially pizza) & it's very good value. Oh and the espressos are great along with the small play area to keep the younger ones occupied. Well worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Askham Hall Gardens and Cafe also viewed

 
Penrith, Lake District
Penrith, Lake District
 

Been to Askham Hall Gardens and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Askham Hall Gardens and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.