We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To long a wait but!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Queens Head Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Queens Head Inn to your Saves list
The Queens Head Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lower Green, Askham, Penrith CA10 2PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Askham B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“To long a wait but!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Lovely welcome, promise of good food, good table, lovely atmospher and very friendly staff.
All of this was 100% perfect but our only problem was we did have to wait over an hour for our food, there was four of us and my Mother waited about 10 mins after we had been served for her meal BUT,
The food was worth waiting for it was excellant.
Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    20
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
16
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We found this pub after we were rejected in an arrogant manner by the nearby Crown and Mitre. How lucky we were. Good food at reasonable prices with the most welcoming atmosphere. We ate here most days and it made our holiday. We forgive them for closing for the wedding.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We came across this pub when we were looking for The Queens Head at Tirril. What a gem it is, we 're to early for food but we got a very warm welcome. We looked at the menu and decided to come back the next evening to eat but unfortunately the pub was closed due to a wedding reception.The pub is very olde worlde with a great atmosphere. We sat and played one of the many games they have available and enjoyed our drinks, will will visit again when we return to the area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Queen's Head for my brother's wedding and my entire stay was ideal. Welcoming staff accommodated every need of the wedding party, from its dog friendly policy, to vegan dietary requirements, nothing was too much trouble. Staying here for two nights with friends and family we really felt at home. A hearty full English was perfectly cooked and even included haggis as bonus. Having young children with with us the kitchen were really accommodating in catering for their preferences. While the rooms are small, the carefully considered decor and well planned use of space means they are cozy rather than cramped. Chatty locals and a picture postcard setting really made this place a home from home. I would recommend The Queens to anyone, to eat and to stay, I look forward to my next visit. A big thanks to all the staff who really put in a lot of effort to make my brothers wedding and our stay such a pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had luch here and the food was excellent...really good chef !
however the carpet at the back entrance is appallingly dirty and there is no fresh smell on arrival ....also there is a tiny dog running around that is in grave danger of being squashed by an unsuspecting customer !
The meal when it arrived was very very good.
However the ladies toilet had no light, maybe a blessing as was not clean, paper towels just stacked near sink. The men's were also not clean. Rather disappointing and off
putting.
We have eaten here frequently in the last but after the recent change of management I doubt we will return unless There is a general improvement in the level of hygiene.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensHeadAskham, Owner at The Queens Head Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi thanks for your review, we are pleased you found the food really good and yes we have an excellent chef, as for your other points one of the bulbs had blown in the ladies toilets which was replaced as soon as we were notified, hand towels placed on the sink does not constitue an area being dirty our toilets are cleaned reguarly, sadly the carpet is a little worse for wear (we inherited it with the pub) however its not dirty but very worn in places of high foot flow, and as for Oscar he is our teacup Yorkshire Terrier who would always get out of your way so don't worry about standing on him he is very friendly and as we are a dog friendly pub we sometimes have him with us, but only during the morning, we would love it if you came back to visit us as you obviously enjoyed your meal hope to see you soon.

regards

Eileen Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Spent two nights from 6th September. Lovely old inn with a good menu. Really enjoyed the evening meals. However, the breakfasts were something else - we could hardly move afterwards!! Although the rooms were only small, they were comfortable. Everyone was really friendly. Have already recommended The Queens Head to a number of friends, and hope to return in the not-to-distant future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at The Queens Head, Ashkam and we were delighted with our 'find'! It was a last minute booking but we were very impressed overall. The location is excellent for access to The lakes, but the surrounding area is beautiful and well worth a visit. The hotel is family run, very friendly and the service and the food are both excellent. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the hotel is brimming with 17th century charm. Obviously, the room was quite small (if you compare with a modern hotel for instance) but it more than met our needs. We are already planning our next visit and hope to book the Lowther suite so we can treat the family. It's probably also important to note that the owners are extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming and it's fair to say that they go out of their way to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queens Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head Inn

Address: Lower Green, Askham, Penrith CA10 2PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith > Askham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Askham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Queens Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queens Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.