We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food but .........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Queens Head Inn

Save Saved
You added The Queens Head Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Queens Head Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lower Green, Askham, Penrith CA10 2PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Askham B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food but .........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had luch here and the food was excellent...really good chef !
however the carpet at the back entrance is appallingly dirty and there is no fresh smell on arrival ....also there is a tiny dog running around that is in grave danger of being squashed by an unsuspecting customer !
The meal when it arrived was very very good.
However the ladies toilet had no light, maybe a blessing as was not clean, paper towels just stacked near sink. The men's were also not clean. Rather disappointing and off
putting.
We have eaten here frequently in the last but after the recent change of management I doubt we will return unless There is a general improvement in the level of hygiene.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueensHeadAskham, Owner at The Queens Head Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi thanks for your review, we are pleased you found the food really good and yes we have an excellent chef, as for your other points one of the bulbs had blown in the ladies toilets which was replaced as soon as we were notified, hand towels placed on the sink does not constitue an area being dirty our toilets are cleaned reguarly, sadly the carpet is a little worse for wear (we inherited it with the pub) however its not dirty but very worn in places of high foot flow, and as for Oscar he is our teacup Yorkshire Terrier who would always get out of your way so don't worry about standing on him he is very friendly and as we are a dog friendly pub we sometimes have him with us, but only during the morning, we would love it if you came back to visit us as you obviously enjoyed your meal hope to see you soon.

regards

Eileen Norman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    3
    0
    5
See reviews for
13
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Spent two nights from 6th September. Lovely old inn with a good menu. Really enjoyed the evening meals. However, the breakfasts were something else - we could hardly move afterwards!! Although the rooms were only small, they were comfortable. Everyone was really friendly. Have already recommended The Queens Head to a number of friends, and hope to return in the not-to-distant future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at The Queens Head, Ashkam and we were delighted with our 'find'! It was a last minute booking but we were very impressed overall. The location is excellent for access to The lakes, but the surrounding area is beautiful and well worth a visit. The hotel is family run, very friendly and the service and the food are both excellent. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the hotel is brimming with 17th century charm. Obviously, the room was quite small (if you compare with a modern hotel for instance) but it more than met our needs. We are already planning our next visit and hope to book the Lowther suite so we can treat the family. It's probably also important to note that the owners are extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming and it's fair to say that they go out of their way to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Askham is an excellent base for the Lakes & Cumbria but not overrun by tourists; it's a working village community with friendly local people in the pub. Lowther Suite very good for family with older children as they have their own room in the suite. Please see also my full Google review.

Room Tip: Lowther Suite very good for family with older children as they have their own room in the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Spent two nights here with my son and would recommend to anyone who wants comfortable pub accomodation with good food and beer.The staff were very friendly and helpful.When I asked if there was a local map,one of the owners made a special trip to her house and returned with a pile of guide books and maps.The village is very attractive and there are a range of pleasant walks from the front door.Unfortunately I didn't have my trunks but there is an open air heated swimming pool just round the back.There's a good range of food and real ales to savour at the end of the days activities.I was particularly impressed to get a properly cooked raw steak.Handy for the motorway and Haweswater is not far away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here with my wife on our way to the Lake District in June 2013. Fantastic friendly service, excellent food, and the room was also quiet and peaceful. Only minor problem was the water tank for the toilet making a really loud noise as it filled up. Must be seperate from the rest of the system. Aside from that, we had a great stay and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night, arriving quite late. This is a very old building so some of the rooms are in keeping with that - a little snug, comfortable and well furnished with a modern shower room and everything you need. We needed to repack all our luggage so our hostess very kindly moved us to their larger family room which was nothing short of superb - a really incredible bathroom, a very comfortable bed with views over the village. I can't understand an earlier comment about the Chili - I had it and it was delicious - I couldn't finish it, the portion was huge. Breakfast was also lovely. Nothing was too much trouble here - the staff were friendly, really helpful and very welcoming. We will go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Queens Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head Inn

Address: Lower Green, Askham, Penrith CA10 2PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith > Askham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Askham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Head Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Queens Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queens Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.