We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park
265 Elizabeth Street, Coburg, Moreland, Victoria 3058, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We camped a few nights in this caravan park. It's in a great location, just a very short drive to Melbourne. For accommodation this close to Melbourne, it offers fantastic value for money @ less than $50 a night for a powered tent site at peak period. Big park with spacious grounds and even in peak period when practically all the sites were taken up, you did not feel like you were stacked on top of other campers. The amenities block is very well kept and even though there's sometimes a queue for the shower stalls in the morning, you do have the option of more shower stalls & toilets attached to the camp kitchen in the camping section of the park. The camp kitchen however, is a bit small with only 1 sink for the crowds to use, but that is a small negative to an otherwise very well kept and very conveniently located caravan park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    54
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
44
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coopernook, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed in a cabin. Well appointed for us 3 adults. Park is clean, tidy and well managed. Parking is a bit tight when checking in as there insnt much room, which can block the line up when trying to get to boom gate. However this isnt much of a problem. Park is close to public transport and shopping. Ammenities are large and clean. Park is quiet even tho it is tucked away in a residential area. Who ever thought such an oasis can be hidden away close to melbourne CBD. Helpful and friendly staff who also show you to your type of accommodation which is a nice touch. Great amount of tourist info in office. Look forward to staying here again in February 2013

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Big4 Holiday Park in Coburg is so easy to get to when coming from the north. I'm not used to city traffic so it is wonderful that this accommodation is so easy to navigate to without having to contend with heavy traffic.

When making the booking for our camper trailer, the staff could not have been more helpful and I was able to get our preferred area of the park. The amenities are always very clean.
There was a bit of rain during our stay but the water didn't pool in the camping areas.
The city is just 30 minutes by car.
Grocery shops are close (by car) and it will be even better when Woolworths opens within walking distance.
In short, Melbourne Big4 in Coburg is easy to find, with great amenities and within striking distance of the city. Did I mention the very helpful staff?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for a week, we are a family with young kids and also brought my in-laws (70y+) along. We booked one of the 3 bedroom units/villas, it was spacious enough and well-equipped and clean. The facilities in the park that we used (laundry, games room, playground) were all well-maintained. It was unfortunately too cold to use the pool but it looked great for warmer days!
The staff is very friendly and helpful, they can give lots of information on things to do, have discount vouchers available at reception.
As for the location, there is a bus stop right in front of the park which takes you to the train or tram, but it will take you about an hour to get to the city centre. If you have your own car maybe drive up to the station to save on travelling time. So if you want to stay close to the city this isn't your pick. Butif you want the comforts of a self-contained unit and the facilities of a holiday park in a quiet location in reasonable distance to the city, this is the place to be. Highly recommended for families.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WattsHolidayParks, Manager at Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thanks for this great feedback and for the travel tips for future guests. We believe that Melbourne BIG4 offers the best of both worlds and you have summed that up beautifully for us. We look forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great park! Our cabin was a lovely little home away from home, the kids had a ball in the playground, and the facilities were clean and lovely. The staff were all very helpfull, friendly and accomodating. I would come back and stay again anytime. We were close to our friends, without having to stay with them and the value was great. Nice quiet area, we had undisturbed sleep, and no annoyance from traffic noise, or any other problems.

Room Tip: Our cabin was great, but they all seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Munmorah
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Given that the area had been the recipient of a lot of rain the sites were very wet. The staff however were very accommodating and searched out the best sites available for the two vans to park next to each other. Could be better if there were more slabs available. Facilities are very clean and the heated floor is wonderful in winter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park

Address: 265 Elizabeth Street, Coburg, Moreland, Victoria 3058, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moreland > Coburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Coburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park is ideally situated just 9kms from the Melbourne CBD and offers a range of accommodation, caravan and camping sites.Choose from self contained accommodation ranging from luxury three bedroom villas that sleep up to seven people to Spa Cottages for an ideal couple escape. Our sites are suitable for caravans, tents, camper trailers and motor homes and you will love our extra touches such as heated amenities floor and camp kitchen.Ask our friendly staff about public transport close by and make Melbourne BIG4 Holidya Park your base to explore Melbourne ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Big4 Holiday Park Hotel Coburg
Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park Greater Melbourne/Coburg, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne BIG4 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.