We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big enough for all of us” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Horn Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Big Horn Motel to your Saves list
Big Horn Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   #1 - Trans Canada Highway at Deadman's Flat, Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2T9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“big enough for all of us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here near the end of July.You get what you pay for...a room.Ours had 3 queens and a single,and a roll up cot if needed.The shower "screamed" when ran,and the room was dusty and needed a good cleaning.That said,the view was awesome,and we had a nice breakfast right next door at the husky.Would we stay here again..yes..we only sleep in the room,the beds were comfy too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    14
    7
    11
See reviews for
10
24
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This motel is more on the budget side but it is a great way to see Banff and Canmore very cheaply and still the view from the motel is amazing. Our room had a kitchenette which was handy. There is also an outside picnic table and gas BBQ

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I've written a review here before and now my wife and me have stayed here many times since. We still love it and look foward to each time we make our reservations! We call it "our lil' get a away"! My wife is 44yrs of age and I'm 31...so there's a bit of an age differance and we still love our "bit of heaven" ( I dont think age has anything to do with this motel.....it's all in what you want). We always stay in the same room (#127) it has a kitchenett and a queen sized bed on the north side of the highway. We love the "down to earth" hospitality and love it's million dollar views with a very reasonable price! We are actually going there in a couple days.....and are looking foward to it! This place is GREAT and I would HIGHLY recommend this motel to anyone that is looking to get away from the BIG CITY LIFE and enjoying a "down home" experience (sorry for the southern anologies.....im from Texas). EVERYTIME the room is VERY clean, the people VERY helpful and VERY friendly!

Room Tip: We recommend the "suites"...with a small kitchen (we bring our own food) it's like &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medicine hat
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Booked over the phone and the lady upgraded us for free. Friendly and helpful welcome at reception. We had a pet friendly room with a kitchenette, loads of space and two double beds which we were not expecting. Everything was very clean! Little bit of noise from the road but to be expected when situated so close to it. Good stop off place or for few nights, probably wouldn't want to holiday here. Great value for money! Would definitely come back, no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

My fiance and I have stayed at the Big Horn several times, mostly because of it's proximity to Canmore, Banff and Kananaskis, combined with it's inexpensive rates. We stayed there for ~80/night last time we were there (August 2011), compared to the standard ~100/night we've paid at hotels in Banff or Canmore. The accommodations are fairly bare-bones, but it's clean and affordable! If you don't need to be right in town, and just need a place to stay while in the Canmore area, go to the Big Horn Motel in Dead Man's Flats!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

I planned on staying here for 3 nights to spend some free time exploring the mountains, and be away from the frills of Canmore(like bars!) but I was only able to stay for one night as I was plagued with a tooth infection. The super great friendly owners saw my pain and were fine with me canceling the other two nights.
The room was large, very clean and I got a kitchenette suite which was useful when there is only one? place to eat in town. Be warned there is no cable TV, but they have about 6 channels however the owners have a huge, complimentary collection of VHS movies to choose from if your a kid or adult. Bed was clean and comfortable, hot shower, I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone who wants to be in the mountains but not in Canmore or Banff.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Me and my wife live in Calgary and go to the mountains whenever we get a chance. So we pass my the Big Horn everytime we're on our way to Banff. My wife has stayed at the Big Horn once before and said it was "ok, with no frills, but great pricing". Since we never really had a honeymoon we decided to give it a shot! We called and booked our room with not a hitch and the man seemed very friendly! We arrived at the motel on a tuesday and immediately hit it off with the man behind the counter (we thought he was the owner but found out from him later that he's actually helping the owners out while they contimplaint retirement). We talked for about 30 minutes with him before we actually got to our room, and found out alot about the motel and himself. Myself and the guy (his name is Raj) found out we both loved the Dallas Cowboys and are both devoted fans!
When we arrived in our room it was VERY clean, with a queen sized bed, small (probably 20" T.V. a VCR, chest of drawers, bed side tables, trunk for storing larger items, small round table, two chairs around it, a sink, two stove top burners, mini fridge, microwave, toaster, lots of silverware, a very nice sized bathroom, with a very nice sized shower/tub). Our room was probably 400 sq.ft and for the two of us was plenty! The room was Perfect!! At the front they have probably 100 VHS tapes that are older but that you can watch for no additional charge! All the people there were VERY friendly and extremely helpful!! Our stay lasted only 3 days but was AWESOME!! your right next door to a HUSKY gas station with everything you'll need with a Restraunt inside (we didnt eat there so i have no comment on the food). There is a small communial kitchen right when you walk in, along with a washer/dryer (quarter only) that you can use!
The Big Horn is right off the trans Canada in Dead Mans Flats and on our trip is was VERY quite, with virtually no road noise. We only paid $70. per night (off season, during the week) and thought THEY got the short end of the stick! The view from our room was incrediable (we stayed on the north end) with great views of the surrounding mountains!There is no A/C but in March we didnt need it! I WOULD HIGHLY recommend this place to ANYONE who's NOT expecting TAJ MAHAL type qualities,but more of a "down to earth, fun, friendly" place! I have to rate our HONEYMOON a 10/10 and in large part to this GREAT motel and its FRIENDLY staff!! my wife and i both have NO, ZERO complaints about the BIG HORN!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Big Horn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Motel

Address: #1 - Trans Canada Highway at Deadman's Flat, Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2T9, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore > Dead Man's Flats
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dead Man's Flats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Horn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Big Horn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Hotel
Big Horn Motel Canmore/Dead Man's Flats, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Horn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.