We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curry & more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Junction House Cafe & Market

The Junction House Cafe & Market
120-1st Avenue, Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta, Canada
403-609-3671
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Continental, British, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Where Great Food and Great People Meet!In the true spirit of a mountain railway junction, we have designed our menu with the idea of some of our favourite foods arriving in on different railway lines right into our very own kitchen. From Russell's East Indian specialties, to great Canadian & British favorites, to the warm soulfull food of the south,we hope you enjoy the mix.We offer a great mix of food for young and old alike. We are open evenings from 5pm to 10pm and from noon Saturday & Sunday. Closed Monday's. Our food is also available to take out hot or from our Market to prepare yourself at home.
Canmore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Curry & more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This new restaurant is only 7 minutes from downtown Canmore and well worth the short drive. Entering, you are enveloped in complex aromas of Indian spices in a cozy warm dining room. The four different curry entrees we ordered were served individually in bowls on plates with rice and cucumber onion salad. It was easy to pass the bowls around family style so each could be enjoyed by all. While much of the menu is Indian they also do a burger and fish and chips. The list of beers is short but perfectly complementary to the food. Service is relaxed & friendly and knowledgeable.
Dinner for 4 including drinks & dessert under $110.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A bit of India in Dead Man's Flats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Would you expect to find fine Indian food next to the gas station at Dead Man's Flats? We wouldn't have if we hadn't read about the Junction House in the local paper. These people have been producing Indian food for the Canmore farmers' market and other outlets for some time, and now they have their own place. We visited before the official opening, but even then the food was delightful. Indian friends agree that it's nicely done and exceeds their expectations. There's more than curry available: you can have steak, pulled pork , burgers and that sort of thing. We had butter chicken and the daily curry, both really nicely spiced - to our hotness specifications - and tasty. Next time I want to try the Indian poutine.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Jum, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So happy to find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Came across Russel Donald wonderful spice kits at the farmer market in Canmore and wanted to purchase some more but was not going to be in town on Thursday so after googling his name to find out where else he sold, we were delighted to find he has The Junction house. Absolutely wonderful food, I cannot praise it enough. Our friends who are local to Canmore were also very happy not to have to travel far for fabulous Indian food. Both Russel and his wife were so very kind and welcoming, we will be returning for sure on our next trip to Canmore.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic curries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Visited the restaurant about 6 tImes during our stay in Canmore & tried all the curries. I've eaten loads of curries in England, lots of the on the 'famous' curry mile in Rusholme, Manchester, & I can say without doubt that The Junction House curries are by far the best I've ever had ! And don't get me started on the samosas - you've got to try the beef ones, absolutely delicious. I would highly recommend a visit, it's a great restaurant, with excellent food & a lovely relaxed atmosphere. I'll be back :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great addition to the Bow Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Super environment and food - the spicy dishes were nicely put together and good quality (that's what we tried). With just two visits the Junction House is in our top 3 restaurants between Banff and Canmore. If you live around here you have to try it, and if you are just visiting you will find it a great place to stop in for a meal. Dead Man's Flats is only 10 or so minutes from Canmore.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Junction House Cafe & Market also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Dead Man's Flats, Canmore
 

Been to The Junction House Cafe & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Junction House Cafe & Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;