We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, lots of space, needs some improvement.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Gate Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Banff Gate Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Banff Gate Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   302 George Biggy Sr. Rd., Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great view, lots of space, needs some improvement.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My large family stayed at the Banff gate mountain resort over our November break. The location is EXCELLENT. just 12 ish minutes outside Canmore, about 20-22 minutes outside of Banff. I was pleasently surprised by the cottages, Every group has their own little cabin style cottage with a gas fireplace. When we entered we were happy to see a murphy bed in the enterance and there was 2 rooms with queen size beds and a double size sofa bed. NICE for space to sleep, not so nice Mattresses, and MAKE SURE YOU BRING BEDDING. There is only bedding provided for the 2 beds in the bedrooms NOT for the sofa or murphy.
I would say the most frusterating thing I found was when we went into the bathroom and there was NO spare roll and when we contacted the front desk we were told we could get some there, FOR $3 PER ROLL!!!! SERIOUSLY?!?! paper towel was the same. seriously one roll of each?! but anyways.
We spent A LOT of time at the pool, the kids LOVED it. There are 2 hot tubs, one indoors and one out, the indoor jets didn't work, the outside worked well. There is also a nice sauna, and a "fitness" room, however, half the equipment didn't work there.
Long and short the location was great, the resort was less than desirable. We went with a time share week and honestly wondered where the maintainence money we pay every year was being used. To sum up, easy to enjoy a week here simply due to the proximenty to other things but be prepared to PAY FOR EVERYTHING.

Room Tip: we were in cabin 12, 1-12 have way more space around them than the higher numbers, closer to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    13
    10
    8
See reviews for
35
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood, Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

If location is everything this resort is ideal. Waking to that mountain vista every morning is pure joy. Its close to Banff and Canmore can supply all your grocery needs and plenty of eating places. The gravel road in to the resort is a bit rough, but if you drive slowly you may see some wildlife on the way. Deer feed on the flowers in the entrance and don't seem too bothered by people. The fireplace took the chill off the morning air and the deck is great for your morning coffee. The cooking utensils could use upgrading, but we survived. With a few upgrades it could become a 4* resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

... it could be a lot better with some improvements. The units need some upgrading: appliances are old - our refrigerator had cracked plastic molding, which meant a missing door shelf, and the bottom rack in the dishwasher was missing a wheel so the basket had a hard time sliding in an out. The screens were worn/ripped in some of the windows. Our BBQ didn't work. We reported it to management, and I don't know if it was ever fixed -- we didn't try it again. The shades in the bedrooms don't make the bedrooms dark enough for sleeping -- it wouldn't be hard to replace the blinds with darker blinds/black-out shades. When the sun doesn't set 'til 10pm, and it comes up at 5am, the ability to darken the bedroom is important! And the resort advertises that is has wi-fi, but it rarely worked for us. In this day and age, not having reliable wi-fi is just unacceptable. On the plus side, the unit was clean (althought I spoke with another guest who told me his unit had not been cleaned when he checked in), the pool and the hot tub were nice, and the staff at the main desk were very cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

To call this place a "resort" is really a stretch of the imagination. The place wasn't bad and did have some positive features but it really needs a complete overhaul of appliances, carpet and lighting to get beyond a 2.5 to 3 rating.

On the positive side (with disclaimers)
- nice indoor pool with an indoor and outdoor hot tub. But the jets in the indoor tub didn't work very well and the soap dispenser in the men's changing room showers was empty the duration of our week-long stay. Makes me wonder if they clean the changing room more than once a week.

- remote location with some great hiking trails and a very good chance to spot wildlife. We saw some mule deer right across from our cabin. But, it's a fairly long drive to get to the major activities located around Banff and Lake Louise. We've got a comfy SUV so it wasn't a big deal for us to drive 100+ miles a day but the miles and gasoline costs do and did add up.

- the cabins are nicely equipped with a fireplace, full kitchen, 2 big bedrooms and 2 full baths. But, the appliances are fairly worn out, the overhead fan in the sitting area made such a loud grinding noise that we didn't use it. The formica counter top was chipped. The front wheels in the dishwasher lower rack were missing. Indoor lighting was mediocre with harsh flourescent bulbs that were hard on the eyes. The windows were large but the glass was filthy. The exterior lighting was suitable for a small airstrip. Not sure why since it doesn't appear to be a high crime area. Even with the blinds lowereed my wife and son had to wear eye shades to sleep.

- they do have wireless internet. But, it didn't work in our cabin.

All things considered I wouldn't stay here again nor would I recommend it to my friends. I think the biggest failure for this place is that with a little TLC and some serious cleaning it could be a much better place to stay.

Room Tip: Bring an eye mask if you can't sleep with the lights on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dead Man's Flats hotels

Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed at this resort during a heat wave in July 2012. There are a lot of things for kids to do which is a plus and the views are great. However, there were no screens on the bedroom windows. The mattresses need to be replaced. One was hard as a rock and the other had coils right at the surface on the top and bottom of the mattress. Without screens the Mosquitos were feasting. The literature in the chalet stated that there was wifi in the unit but wifi is only available in the main lodge and the signal is weak.

Room Tip: Before booking make sure that the windows have screens. You might want to bring your own portable f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort with another couple the week of June 22-29th. I found it to be very similiar to a friends cabin that had been in their family for 50 years. It is very basic but satisfactory for our purposes. It does have a nice big porch but the misquitos were so bad we couldn't stay out too late in the evening. The view was great of the mountains and it was very quiet. There is a very nice hiking trail close by.

If you are looking for a comfortable place to rest at the end of the day this is worthwhile. If you are looking for luxury or a lot of night time entertainment this is not the place for you.

Check in was easy and it looked like all the sports facilities - tennis court, etc were in good shape - we did not use them since we were gone


We were in cabin 38 and the only problem we had was the street light on the cabin that lit the back road made it very bright at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The cabin had two bedrooms, and the master bedroom featured a king sized bed and a connecting bathroom. The bed was very comfortable. That upstairs bathroom had a bathtub but no shower.
The cabin was a bit old, but we were only inconvenienced by that every once in a while. The oven clock didn't work correctly, and I couldn't figure out how to set the time again. It was only a few minutes off when we first arrived, but then it was about 45 minutes off by the end of our week. This caused us to be late a few times.
The Internet connection only worked in the main lodge. So, you'll need to bring your device there. I believe there was also a computer available for use.
There are areas to hike near the resort, so you'll save money if you don't want to pay for another day to enter Banff.
Housekeeping isn't an option while you stay here. They offer the opportunity to change your linens once a week, Tuesday. But, you have to take your linens to the lodge to make the exchange. Also, at the end of your stay, you must take your trash to the dumpsters. I didn't mind some of the other rustic elements of the resort, but that one did bother me.
People can see right into the cabin at night. There are large windows at the top of the cabin, which results in excellent morning mountain views, but if you're walking upstairs at night people will see right in if you leave the lights on up there.

Room Tip: I think the views are better higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Gate Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Gate Mountain Resort

Address: 302 George Biggy Sr. Rd., Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore > Dead Man's Flats
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dead Man's Flats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Gate Mountain Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Gate Mountain Resort is an outdoor playground for all ages where mountain activities and rustic amenities meet. It is nestled in the majestic pines of Pigeon Mountain at the foot of the Lougheed and Windtower Mountains. Our 46 fully appointed chalets are surrounded by Lake Louise and the adventures of the Banff National Park. Activities include water rafting, hiking, skiing, mountain biking, dog sledding, golf and more. For those preferring more peace and quiet, the picturesque grounds of the resort provide the perfect retreat. Children’s play areas are intertwined by hiking trails that sprawl throughout the resort connecting to the surrounding wilderness. Local wildlife often wanders unhindered throughout the area and across the property. An indoor heated pool, hot tubs and a family clubhouse provide a well-rounded travel destination for families and adventurers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banff Gate Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Gate Mountain Hotel Dead Man`s Flats
Banff Gate Mountain Resort Canmore/Dead Man's Flats, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Gate Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.