We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Wonderful!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Gate Mountain Resort

Save Saved
You added Banff Gate Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banff Gate Mountain Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   302 George Biggy Sr. Rd., Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Edmonton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

My wife & I have been to this resort for about 3, one week stays and we love it!!!!!! It is a great resort for those who want to get away from the concrete junlges and crowds of nearby Canmore and Banff. When staying at this place, you really feel like your right in the mountains. The Chalets, although not necesarily the most modernly decorated, are great. Lots of room... comfy, cousy and a fully stocked kitchen with a large deck and BBQ. The pool is nice and the indoor/outdoor hottubs are great. The lodge has lots of nice places to relax as well as a large pool/acarade area, all for free. Free use of internet in the lodge and wireless available in chalets. Of our 3 stays there, we have had no issues. The units have been clean and the staff have been very friendly and helpful. This place is our favorite place to stay in the Canaidan Rockies and we will definately be back... hopefully lots more! All the people we have sent there have also given it high ratings.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    11
    9
    8
See reviews for
32
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Banff Gate is rustic and has wonderful chalets to rent. The rooms were clean the
dishes, fridge, stove & cupboards as well were clean. Furniture very run down
so an upgrade would be great. Fireplace brings wonderful ambiance and the view
of the forest in front of us was very peaceful. If however you are put in one of the
chalets in the center of the chalet grouping, your view is limited to the cabins lined in front of you and the cabins in back. Zilch privacy or ambiance of sitting out on a deck in
the evening or early morning for you. I wouldn't go if we couldn't get a chalet at
the front, back or sides(these border the forest) of the grouping. Not everyone cares about this, yet for my family the views of nature is what brings us here.
Also we like to read in the late evening so better lighting would be great!!!

Room Tip: We were put in the center of the grouping of chalets and told the front desk we wanted to be moved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We spend upwards of 75 to 100 nights a year in hotels all over the world, and I have never stayed in something that is so dirty. I found a sock beside the fireplace, coffee grounds under the sink, food in the oven, baby bottle under the bed, dishes and pots that are dirty and a stove and kitchen wall so dirty that there is an oily flim on it. I could go on and on. The resort is old but has fantastic views.
Staff at the font desk were fantastic when they could be found. More thatn once we waited 40 mins and no show.
Would we stay here again - no.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dead Man's Flats hotels

Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

The good thing about this resort is the view,,,that is all...
The chalet are dingy..
The stove, the oven the dishwasher were so dirty and crimy that they could not be used when I reported it to the front desk - a little wipe was done....the dishes, glasses utensils were so old and used that they were disguting...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

The description of Banff Gate is a little misleading. The resort is about 35k from Banff.

The accommodation is a little tired and does need some TLC. A piece of wood being used to lock the door and empty water bottles behind the bed doesn’t suggest somewhere that is well looked after

The swimming pool and the iced over tennis court was just great to give us some activities while in the resort.

Then there are the views.

That is why you would want to stay at Banff Gate. To wake up to those views every morning – that’s what makes this type of holiday (or should I say vacation?). The accommodation was really warm and cosy – somewhere you wanted to get back to after a day’s activities in the snow.

Would we go back – certainly. We wouldn’t go back for amazing accommodation – but we would go back for those views.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyle, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

after reading all the reviews i have to say my experience when staying there was awesome. friendly staff, clean chalet, and breath taking views of the mountains. i would stay there again in a heartbeat

Room Tip: i loved the fact it was 10-15 minutes to canmore and 30 to the national parks. seeing the wildlife g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We visited Banff Gate on a week's timeshare selloff - and were happy with the experience. Views from the large windows are beautiful. Resort is on a mountainside a few miles outside of the Banff Park gates. Units are stand alone and very quiet. Rooms are large - basics were clean, except for dirty glasses someone had put back in the cupboard. The deck is huge and would be a great place to spend summer afternoons and evenings. The second day, the furnace had quit over night; maintenance was there immediately and had it fixed. Staff were very friendly.
Internet in the unit was very sporadic. Main lodge connection was much better.
The inside of the unit is completely finished in cedar, sometimes seeming rather dark. Lighting could be somewhat better. Not a plush resort by any means, but the rustic aspect fits the surroundings - and the views are superb.
Pool and hot tub look refurbished - bright and clean.
Plan to come back to this resort in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Gate Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Gate Mountain Resort

Address: 302 George Biggy Sr. Rd., Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore > Dead Man's Flats
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Dead Man's Flats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banff Gate Mountain Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff Gate Mountain Resort is an outdoor playground for all ages where mountain activities and rustic amenities meet. It is nestled in the majestic pines of Pigeon Mountain at the foot of the Lougheed and Windtower Mountains. Our 46 fully appointed chalets are surrounded by Lake Louise and the adventures of the Banff National Park. Activities include water rafting, hiking, skiing, mountain biking, dog sledding, golf and more. For those preferring more peace and quiet, the picturesque grounds of the resort provide the perfect retreat. Children’s play areas are intertwined by hiking trails that sprawl throughout the resort connecting to the surrounding wilderness. Local wildlife often wanders unhindered throughout the area and across the property. An indoor heated pool, hot tubs and a family clubhouse provide a well-rounded travel destination for families and adventurers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Banff Gate Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Gate Mountain Hotel Dead Man`s Flats
Banff Gate Mountain Resort Canmore/Dead Man's Flats, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Gate Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.