We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copperstone Resort

Save Saved
You added Copperstone Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copperstone Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 2nd Ave, Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
72 Hour Sales - Save 25%
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

An amazing about of space, helpful staff, great location, quiet . . . need I say more. We stayed in a two bedroom, two bath suite with a full kitchen, dining and living room. It came with a washer/dryer and small balcony. The facilities offered indoor parking with a fenced storage area for each suite (great for storing gear), a small fitness facility, outdoor BBQ area and hot tub.

Close to Canmore but far enough away to enjoy some quiet as a family. Housekeeping was great (and I am very picky),

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    131
    33
    16
    7
See reviews for
178
107
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our 2 bedroom plus den was clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room-darkening curtains were a blessing (our boys slept till after 9 am!). We'd like to go back for a longer stay sometime to really check it out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have stayed in Copperstone Resort 4 times during the last few years. I can say that I am afraid that things are not being kept in shape.

Check-in: Quick and smooth, friendly front desk.

Two Bedroom Suite: We got into the place and the AC was on and it was freezing cold with the thermostat reading 8 degrees. The smell in the unit was very bad. Tried to call the front desk by dialing 0 on the phone, it said that their message capacity is full. Went down and asked for a freshener to be sprayed in the room but two days ended and no one came to remove the scent.
I had to go to Safeway and buy a Febreze freshener and buy my peace of mind.

Beds are very comfy with nice fluffy pillows.

When we left and asked to have the room tidied. House keeping came in and changed the towels and left. They did not mind to at least put in new shampoo and conditioner bottles.

Another reason, that will make me avoid Copperstone again is the check out at 11 am. I don`t know why these resorts are pushing people out so early. I asked to stay till 1 pm, but was told there will be extra charges although most of the units were empty. To be fair, they allowed me to stay till 12 noon.

Next time would rather stay in a place where they allow late check-out and care more about customer satisfaction rather than extra charges.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, General Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Than you for your comments,

I apologize for the service; our standard is to provide exceptional daily housekeeping service to all of our guests. Unfortunately this season has seen the mountain property recruitment challenged by the events brought about by the flooding in Alberta. As many guests altered their travel plans early in the season, so did those seeking summer employment; thus making 2013 an unusual year in which to recruit and retain staff.

This certainly does not take away from the experience you had; rather I am hoping that is will help to shed some light. We continue to keep our focus on customer service and are working with our guests to ensure that they are getting the service they have come to expect from the Copperstone Resort.

We are continuing to see our housekeeping team numbers return to the seasonal volumes that have enabled us to provide the exceptional guests experience that our past customer reviews reflect. We trust that customers past and future will take the unusual events of 2013 into consideration as they plan for their next trip into the Mountain properties. Knowing that as an industry, we are all working aggressively to ensure that we continue to offer the service and experience that has made the Canadian Rockies a world famous destination.

Thank you once again for your comments. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be happy to discuss this further.

Joey Belanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have stayed at Copperstone Resort four times. Most of our visits have been pleasurable but our last one was far from good.

We had requested an early check in due to a weddng we were attending and never heard back from them, the day of the wedding we tried to call ahead of time but apparently all the phone lines were down. When we arrived an hour before check in, we were turned away, when we did check in we were also informed that internet was not working. I understand that this was due to the floods earlier in the month, BUT we were never informed of this prior to booking and no compensation or apology was given in return.

Our bed also had a some stains on it, which is always the worst part of staying in a hotel.

Normally we really enjoy Copperstone, but our last visit was not one of their best. Sometimes a simple explanation or apology can go a long way.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, General Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I do apologize about the bed and I will have this addressed. This season has proven somewhat challenging for many properties in the Mountain regions. Fortunately for the Copperstone Resort we were not directly impacted by the flooding events. We have however been subject to the challenges faced by utilities and infrastructure repairs. Internet and phone service was affected and have since been repaired. We do continue to see the occasional outage of Internet as the phone company goes about repairing damaged equipment. I understand that this does little for guests that need to access Internet when they travel and we are truly sorry for the inconvenience.

Unfortunately early check in can be a challenge as Summer time occupancies in the Mountain properties are high and require us to turn over rooms quickly. We understand the impact this has on guests and are continuing to work on improving turn around times so we can better accommodate early check in requests.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Joey Belanger
General Manager
Copperstone Resort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was actually quite disappointed in this resort, and the chain that manages it. We actually stayed at Falcon Crest for our honeymoon, which was amazing, and within walking distance to everything in Canmore, which is the reason we stayed there. When we checked their website to book for our 1 year anniversary, their prices had gone up a bit, so we explored other options. We got to Copperstone`s website through Falcon crest, and on the front page it proudly stated that it was in Canmore and had gorgeous mountain views. We made our reservation, and even paid $10 extra for a "scenic mountain view."

We will now always check Google maps for the exact location and address of the place we`re staying at.

They blatantly lied on their website. When I plugged the hotel into the GPS (too late, we were only a half hour away by then) it informed us that the hotel was NOT in Canmore at all. It was about 15 km away from Canmore, in a tiny hamlet called Dead Man's Flats.

Upon getting there, and informing the attendant at the desk of the "miscommunication", she offered no help at all, not even an apology about the misleading nature of their website. When I asked how much I would have to pay if I wanted to cancel the reservation, I was told that I would be charged the ENTIRE amount for our 4 night stay. Irritated, we went to our room, which was a far cry from what we were expecting, hardly nicer than an average hotel room. And to top it all off, our scenic mountain view was hard to focus on, when in the open yard directly outside the attached patio featured a decaying shed, a field of dandelions and crabgrass, and a disused and weathered cliche windmill cabin.

We were essentially conned into spending almost $800 on a hotel we didn't want.

Oh, and probably close to $200 on gas and cab fare back and forth from Canmore, which we hadn't budgeted for, thinking we were going to be able to walk most places.

So, thank you Clique resorts, for taking my money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, General Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your candid comments. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay. It is always our intention within Clique Hotel and Resort to pair our Guests with the location that best meets their vacation needs. Unfortunately in this case we did not do so.

The location of the Copperstone Resort is one of our strongest features as it appeals to guests that are looking for a quiet mountain condo retreat experience, while still being only minutes from Canmore and Banff. Certainly if you were looking for a stay that would be within walking distance of downtown Canmore, then the Copperstone would not be the best option. The Blackstone Mountain Lodge or the Stoneridge Mountain Resort would certainly be more inviting, as they are both located next to the Falcon Crest Lodge.

I would like to invite you to stay with Clique Hotels again and try one of these properties, as I am sure we could match or exceed your Falcon Crest stay.


Please feel free to contact me directly, and I would be more than happy to assist you in arranging your next Canmore stay.

Sincerely,
Joey Belanger
General Manager
Copperstone Resort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Great location with spacious rooms and excellent views. On the down side dishwasher was broken, can opener did not work. Plates were not clean and we found old grapes behind the curtains. Cleaning staff are in need of training and standards. If these basics where rectified it would certainly be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Copperstone Resort. The facility had beef recommended by our travel agent, and it was perfect for us. We had unit 3208, a lovely 2 bedroom unit for us, our daughter and her partner. The kitchen was nicely appointed, we used the BBQ and had no issue, except it would have been nice to have specific BBQ utensils.
The beds were very comfortable and the linens on par with other high end hotels we have stayed at.
It was a very nice touch to have one complimentary package of coffee, along with sugar and powdered creamers. Also there were pods for the dishwasher, and a small box of laundry detergent for the washer.
The fireplace was very nice. The view in the mornings spectacular.
The wifi worked well with no connection problems.
The hot tub was clean and very welcome after a day of travel.
We would return if we get another trip to Alberta, and would definitely recommend Copperstone Resort to anyone.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Copperstone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copperstone Resort

Address: 250 2nd Ave, Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore > Dead Man's Flats
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Dead Man's Flats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copperstone Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Copperstone Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copperstone Hotel Dead Man`s Flats
Copperstone Hotel Canmore
Copperstone Resort Canmore/Dead Man's Flats, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copperstone Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.