We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre room, wrong location” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Copperstone Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Copperstone Resort to your Saves list
Copperstone Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 2nd Ave, Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre room, wrong location”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was actually quite disappointed in this resort, and the chain that manages it. We actually stayed at Falcon Crest for our honeymoon, which was amazing, and within walking distance to everything in Canmore, which is the reason we stayed there. When we checked their website to book for our 1 year anniversary, their prices had gone up a bit, so we explored other options. We got to Copperstone`s website through Falcon crest, and on the front page it proudly stated that it was in Canmore and had gorgeous mountain views. We made our reservation, and even paid $10 extra for a "scenic mountain view."

We will now always check Google maps for the exact location and address of the place we`re staying at.

They blatantly lied on their website. When I plugged the hotel into the GPS (too late, we were only a half hour away by then) it informed us that the hotel was NOT in Canmore at all. It was about 15 km away from Canmore, in a tiny hamlet called Dead Man's Flats.

Upon getting there, and informing the attendant at the desk of the "miscommunication", she offered no help at all, not even an apology about the misleading nature of their website. When I asked how much I would have to pay if I wanted to cancel the reservation, I was told that I would be charged the ENTIRE amount for our 4 night stay. Irritated, we went to our room, which was a far cry from what we were expecting, hardly nicer than an average hotel room. And to top it all off, our scenic mountain view was hard to focus on, when in the open yard directly outside the attached patio featured a decaying shed, a field of dandelions and crabgrass, and a disused and weathered cliche windmill cabin.

We were essentially conned into spending almost $800 on a hotel we didn't want.

Oh, and probably close to $200 on gas and cab fare back and forth from Canmore, which we hadn't budgeted for, thinking we were going to be able to walk most places.

So, thank you Clique resorts, for taking my money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, General Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your candid comments. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay. It is always our intention within Clique Hotel and Resort to pair our Guests with the location that best meets their vacation needs. Unfortunately in this case we did not do so.

The location of the Copperstone Resort is one of our strongest features as it appeals to guests that are looking for a quiet mountain condo retreat experience, while still being only minutes from Canmore and Banff. Certainly if you were looking for a stay that would be within walking distance of downtown Canmore, then the Copperstone would not be the best option. The Blackstone Mountain Lodge or the Stoneridge Mountain Resort would certainly be more inviting, as they are both located next to the Falcon Crest Lodge.

I would like to invite you to stay with Clique Hotels again and try one of these properties, as I am sure we could match or exceed your Falcon Crest stay.


Please feel free to contact me directly, and I would be more than happy to assist you in arranging your next Canmore stay.

Sincerely,
Joey Belanger
General Manager
Copperstone Resort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    154
    36
    19
    8
See reviews for
217
127
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great location with spacious rooms and excellent views. On the down side dishwasher was broken, can opener did not work. Plates were not clean and we found old grapes behind the curtains. Cleaning staff are in need of training and standards. If these basics where rectified it would certainly be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Copperstone Resort. The facility had beef recommended by our travel agent, and it was perfect for us. We had unit 3208, a lovely 2 bedroom unit for us, our daughter and her partner. The kitchen was nicely appointed, we used the BBQ and had no issue, except it would have been nice to have specific BBQ utensils.
The beds were very comfortable and the linens on par with other high end hotels we have stayed at.
It was a very nice touch to have one complimentary package of coffee, along with sugar and powdered creamers. Also there were pods for the dishwasher, and a small box of laundry detergent for the washer.
The fireplace was very nice. The view in the mornings spectacular.
The wifi worked well with no connection problems.
The hot tub was clean and very welcome after a day of travel.
We would return if we get another trip to Alberta, and would definitely recommend Copperstone Resort to anyone.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at the Copperstone. Again the room was marvelous- clean and well stocked. It met our every need. The location is also very good as we were able to travel in two directions to see the mountains, rivers,etc. Parking is underground and is free. The WiFi works well. There were a few areas of concern namely, the grills on the barbecues were filthy and one was so rusted,it should be replaced. Also the self starters do not work so it is difficult to get the barbecues to work, after you have tried to clean the grills the best you can. The other is the outdoor table was very dirty and even though my wife borrowed some cleaning solution from the staff, she was not able to get the tar- like substance off the table. Another area that was different from the first time we stayed at the Resort was that our room was not cleaned until after 5:00 p.m. We thought they had forgottren about us but we did manage to get it cleaned but at a time that was a bit difficult for our schedule.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, General Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I have spoken with the team and we will see that your comments are addressed.

Thank you for staying at the Copperstone.

Best Regards,

Joey Belanger
General Manager
Copperstone Resort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This is our third visit, and true to form, we had a good time. We took advantage of the Court Yard Amenities as well as the Hot Tub. Great chance to BBQ with the boys. As always, the boys just loved the bunk beds. We hiked the trails and were close enough to town to get in some sightseeing and shopping. Overall, the service was great and the staff were very helpful.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the resort for two nights and were not that impressed. The bathroom was not clean. There were hairs on the floor around the tub and around the toilet. The bed felt like we were sleeping on a sheet of plywood. When we went to make coffee in the morning there was mouldy coffee in the pot. The furniture was also quite worn. We were really looking forward to going to the resort after seeing the reviews and a rating of 4.5 but it was a real disappointment. We suggest spending a bit more and staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, General Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and comments. I do apologize for the condition of the room. This is certainly below our product standard, as can be noted by the positive reviews for the Copperstone. I will follow up with the team so ensure that we are not seeing a repeat.

With respect to the furnishings, we have ordered all new replacement sleep sofas that will be arriving mid June. We do pride ourselves on the quality of the bed and sleep, as the vast majority of reviews are positive. I will have our team look to see that our mattresses have no concerns that need to be addressed.

Thank you once again,


Respectfully,

Joey Belanger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Overall we were very pleased with out stay at Copperstone. The room was clean and well laid out. A few things to note are:

Cupboard doors were too close to ceiling so they rubbed when opening. Also the air conditioner did not circulate into the bedroom so the bedroom was quite warm. Also the tub did not drain well at all. It would fill as you showered and then would take 10 mins or so to drain after. This will need to be fixed.

The hottub was very nice and the central courtyard is set up nicely for groups of people.

Overall we enjoyed are stay and will be back again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copperstone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copperstone Resort

Address: 250 2nd Ave, Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore > Dead Man's Flats
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dead Man's Flats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copperstone Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Copperstone Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copperstone Hotel Dead Man`s Flats
Copperstone Hotel Canmore
Copperstone Resort Canmore/Dead Man's Flats, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copperstone Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.