We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Townhouse/condo style hotel with daily maid service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copperstone Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Copperstone Resort to your Saves list
Copperstone Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 2nd Ave, Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Mountain View Upgrad
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Townhouse/condo style hotel with daily maid service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very nice property - almost brand new and fitted like a full townhouse with full kitchen (with granite and stainless steel), 2 baths, 2 bdrms, living area with fireplace, balcony, heated underground parking, hot tub and daily maid service. Perfect accomodations for a family. Great overall, except for the mattress in the sofabed - lumpy and felt the springs so was not good to sleep on.

The only downside is the location - its located in the whistle stop of Dead Man's Flats about 8 km east of Canmore, so you have to drive to everything. Dead Man's Flats is limited to a gas station. There is no onsite food services or other hotel amenities, although there is everything you could possible need in Canmore (charming mountain town). Location is fine for sightseeing and activities in Canmore and Banff areas (Banff about 35 km away). However, we were skiing at Lake Louise and found the drive (almost an hour each way) a bit long.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the highway (its a half block off the Transcanada Highway) and is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    161
    39
    20
    8
See reviews for
228
135
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Got a groupon for a good deal, and what a deal it was. Place is nice, has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Clean, super comfortable bed, flat screen TVs, however, decore is a bit dated (no big deal). Awesome, large hot tub. Friendly staff. Location is the only downside. 7-10minute drive to down town canmore. There is NOTHING happening in dead mans flat. Other than this, I would definately stay here again if a good deal like a groupon presented itself.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I decided to celebrate our 1yr Anniversary at Copperstone Resort a couple weeks ago and we were beyond impressed. Booking on-line was incredibly easy and the staff helped answer all of my questions right away. We arrived and check-in took all of 5 minutes. We requested a second floor room with a mountain view and they delivered. The room was modern, clean and perfect for the 2 of us but could of easily accommodated 4 people. The fireplace was very cozy and romantic and the kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed. We took advantage of the hot tub both days we were there and met some great people. The underground parking was my husbands favorite part and they even have storage units for all of your skiing or boarding gear. The suite had a washer and dryer which I thought was great. I read some reviews and a few complained about the resort being far from Canmore. It's an 8 minute drive. We actually took a cab into Canmore for dinner one night and it cost $15.00 each way which we were fine with. The resort is pet friendly which is nice for those who have pets. We didn't find any traces (smell or hair) of dogs or cats in our room. This was something I was a little worried about but it was fine. The rate we received was excellent and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. We will definitely be back.
Thanks Copperstone Resort for making our 1yr Anniversary so special!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I spent a weekend here this past October and had a lovely time, the suite was very spacious, modern and clean. There was a huge hot tub just outside of our room and the grounds around the place where kept up nicely. I go out to the Canmore area quite regularly, have stayed in many places, this so far is my favorite!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Not very many complaints. Great place to stay if you have a lot of people. We had 6 plus a toddler. We all loved the hot tub. Rooms and beds were.comfortable. Awesome view and many trails which my sons enjoyed. Only complaints I have were the pillows were absolutely terrible - so lumpy. And the supply of tea towels and dishcloths were minimal. Asked for more and they brought us 1 teatowel. But staff were always nice and friendly. The only other suggestion I have is more signage on highway as was difficult to find if you didn't know where it was. Can't see it from highway

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Most times when one books a dog friendly resort - weight/height/amount/breed restrictions and ridiculous fees. I've got 3 dogs ranging from 13lbs chix to 35lbs labx. They never asked to see my dogs and gave a very cute goodie bag on arrival...$20 per night for the dogs...not each! The resort is very clean and very modern and overall amazing. We are planning our next vacations to the mountains with them and even considered an investment property in 10 years!

Room Tip: 2129 was perfect for pets - balcony opened to wide open area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

On the plus side, the views from our suite were wonderful and the layout worked well for our family (2 bedrooms, plus a den with bunkbeds). There was the potential for this to be a great getaway spot.
Unfortunately, we were not happy overall with our stay . . . a few issues: First portable crib we received was unsafe with a large hole in it (however, we were promptly delivered a replacement). Bathroom door did not stay closed properly and did not lock. We notified front desk and were told they would send someone to look at it, to our knowledge no one ever came. Oven was very dirty and whatever was all over it burned/smoked and set off the smoke detector each time we cooked . . . we spent each meal time fanning the smoke. Suite was generally not very clean. Couches and carpet were looking a little worse for wear. Carpet needed to be vaccuumed properly around edges and near/under furniture. Stairs looked like they had not been vaccuumed in a long time. Light fixtures really dusty. Appliances not that clean. Blanket from closet was dirty. The first day housekeeping came, a towel and facecloth that we left on the floor to be exchanged, were hung back up in the shower. We ran out of coffee as it wasn't replaced. The second day housekeeping never came so we had to call down to the front desk to at least get some clean towels. When we did some laundry our room steamed up like a rainforest and we discovered the dryer wasn't even vented outside! huge fire hazard!
We let the front desk know about the problems and filled out the comment card. Shortly after our stay we received an email from the GM asking how our stay was, nice to follow-up, however it has been a week after emailing and haven't heard anything back.
The place seems to have some good reviews from others, maybe the other suites are better taken care of?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsManager01, General Manager at Copperstone Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Hayley,

I would first like to apologize for the challenges you experienced while staying with us. As the new General Manager for the Copperstone Resort (effective November 22), I can assure you that this is not our standard. Together with my team of dedicated staff, we will ensure that we grow from your experience, as we continue to improve our product and service.
Our commitment is to ensure that we are providing our guests with the very best guest experience.

Once again thank you for your comments. Please feel free to contact me directly should you be visiting the Canmore area again, as I am sure we can offer you a much better stay with us.

Respectfully,

Joey Bélanger
General Manager
Copperstone Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Copperstone Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copperstone Resort

Address: 250 2nd Ave, Dead Man's Flats, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore > Dead Man's Flats
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dead Man's Flats
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copperstone Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Copperstone Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copperstone Hotel Dead Man`s Flats
Copperstone Hotel Canmore
Copperstone Resort Canmore/Dead Man's Flats, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copperstone Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.