We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monty Hotel Ampara

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ampara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monty Hotel Ampara
Save
You added Monty Hotel Ampara to your Saves list
C32 First Avenue, Ampara, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampara
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel is having a very good potential to grow up. The staff is very good and think about the guest. The rooms a offered on "room only basis" which is good. We have the option to go out and eat or to order and have it within the cafeteria. The food is good and some what hot....Please improve.

The maintenance crew should take care of the fanlight as this could not be closed and this should have a curtain at least to keep privacy. And the swing action of the split type AC was not working. Please attend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
6
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Khor, Al Khawr, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

AC rooms also very conjested and fanlight of bath room just open even without curtain. bed sheet need to be requested and first they refused as saying not eligible. but bill is very nicely prepared with very high rate ....go to hell ....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Passing through on my way back from East coast beaches. Only went to Ampara because of bus connections. Staff friendly enough but hotel drab and uninspiring. Felt that the charge was pretty high in comparison to other places in Sri Lanka. It seems like there are limited options though. Cleanliness was not great and rooms dreary.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Monty Hotel can be named as the best place if you are looking accommodation near Ampara Town. Rates are also quite reasonable and have quite well equipped rooms. Specially noticed that the lighting inside the rooms are not enough. Also the food is average. You can enjoy all facilities like Wifi, AC, Hot water and TV.

Pretty good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willoughby
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

First impressions are great. A lofty open reception area, modern, lush plantings and deep comfortable sofas. Unhelpful staff spoilt the effect. The only useful member of staff was the manager, who tried to do everything himself, whereas he would have been better employed training his staff. Room design bizarre with the bathroom put at the window end, removing any views. It was also so small that the wet room really meant that. Reasonable pool, food seemed to be from frozen. Good wine and spirit list, though the white wine was very warm, and the red arrived in an ice bucket ! No hot water or room safe. Poor value and poor staff were the abiding memories.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

No doubt this is the best hotel in Ampara. There are several room categories - luxury, standard and normal. Standard was just fine. The beds, linen and towels were good - to me this was most important. The toilet was basic but clean - no hot water. There was a small fridge in the room, Air Con and TV. The hotel also has a section which is very poor - this is the original guest house with which they started. In fact i think some of the really bad reviews I found on Trip Advisor refer to these rooms.

The food - was good. We had breakfast and dinner and both meals were good. They have a fairly good selection.

The service - EXCELLENT. I say this in particular because of a small medical emergency we were faced with when with one of our team members had to be rushed to hospital. The GM himself came down and sorted things out for us at 6 a.m. in the morning.Hotel pillows, linen etc were readily provided. Whats more the hotel even made sure that my colleague's meals were delivered to her by the Front Office Manager himself while we busied ourselves with the day's programme. I was impressed.

Before this I had reservations about visiting Ampara as I was unsure about the accommodation but not any more!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shimla, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Monty Hotel is conveniently located to reach Arugam Bay, Ella and Passikudah the hot spots in Sri Lanka and the service at Monty Hotel was splendid. The rooms are tidy and staff friendly. The pool is so fresh and clean ideal for family holiday as it is quiet and serene

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms facing the pool are roomy and fine, the suits are so huge and well kept
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monty Hotel Ampara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monty Hotel Ampara

Address: C32 First Avenue, Ampara, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Ampara
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ampara
Number of rooms: 49

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monty Hotel Ampara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.