We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Cheese Press Cottage
The gritstone cheese press
Sitting Room
Bedroom with double bed
Biggin-by-Hartington
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maddyhaha
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tranquil, cosy and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This cottage is wonderful. We spent a very relaxing couple of days there with our little baby. It was so cosy and comfortable and had excellent facilities. We received a warm welcome from Jane but were otherwise left to do our own thing which was perfect. The kitchen and bathroom are well appointed. There is also a bbq for use and washing facilities, which is excellent when travelling with a baby! The patio over looking the beautiful surroundings is a fabulous place to enjoy dinner and a glass of wine. You need not use your car as the walking which is accessible from the cottage is amazing. We will definitely stay and would highly recommend it to others

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review. I am so glad you had a nice couple of days in Derbyshire and we all fell in love with little Stanley! Please come back and see us again soon. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
johndmcgi...
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely small Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Beautiful cottage on a immaculately kept farm. It was the little things that made are stay so enjoyable. Like the capsule coffee machine with capsules provided. Everything in the house is of the highest quality, especially the bed. Would highly recommend.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and I am glad you had a good time in Derbyshire. My husband will be thrilled you have said the farm is immaculate! Though it is probably more the tenant farmer who deserves all the credit. Hope you manage to return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Gemma G
Tipton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing weekend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed at cheese press cottage for two nights last weekend with my fiancé and honestly do not have a bad word to say about it.

We arrived around 5:30pm (a little later than the 3pm check in time) and received a very warm welcome from Jane. We were shown around the cottage and left to take in the surroundings and relax, and what beautiful surroundings they are. Having come from a busy noisy job and living in a built up area the quiet was so noticible from the moment we arrived. It was just us and the sheep! Also the views are spectacular. Cheese press cottage has a private patio area that overlooks the most beautiful rolling countryside (with beautiful sunsets as the evenings went on)

The cottage itself has everything you could possibly need. The kitchen is fully stocked with utensils, pans, crockery etc and is spotlessly clean (the nespresso machine has made me look into buying one!). The same goes for the bathroom, plenty of hot water, a great powerful shower that is very easy to use and luxurious fluffy white towels.

There is a television with freeview and a DVD player in the living area which is very comfortable and relaxing. We felt so at home there from the moment we arrived.

We had an excellent nights sleep in the comfy bed with goose down duvet and felt completely refreshed by the time we left.

Whether you choose to stay around the cottage and enjoy the owners working farm or go out and explore the nearby towns of Buxton, Bakewell or Matlock or the plentiful walks (maps are also available in the cottage) this is an ideal location for a relaxing weekend to get away from the stresses of everyday life. I have already recommended it to several friends and family.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2014
I'm so pleased that you had a nice weekend. Thank you so much for your kind words and please come back and see us when you want to get away from the City. You can definitely relax and unwind looking at the views. I have just returned from a couple of nights in a built-up area and it was so nice to get back to Derbyshire and enjoy the space and open views. Thanks again. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Sarah W
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful, peaceful, great for walking and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage was very beautiful, well equipped, and cosy. The owners were very obliging and helpful. There is a private footpath down to Biggin Dale - a very lovely place to walk. Near by Hartington has a cheese and chocolate shop. We couldn't fault our stay!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2014
Many thanks for the kind review. Really pleased you had a nice time at the Cottage. We are very lucky having the private footpath down to the Dale and glad you were able to make use of it. Thanks again. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Amy W
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A peaceful and relaxing get away.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage was more than we hoped for. Very clean, cosy and comfortable. The cottage looks over the Derbyshire countryside and you are not overlooked by any other guests so you feel that you are the only ones there, a lovely exclusive feel.

The kitchen area had fantastic amenities so we could cook our own meals. The local pub is ten minutes walk away, we had dinner in there too and it was very nice.

We really wish we could have stayed longer and came back to Manchester feeling revitalised.

A brilliant stay-thanks!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2014
Thanks so much for writing such a nice review. I am really pleased you had a nice few days and you managed to feel relaxed by the time you returned to Manchester. Do come and see us again when you need a country fix! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
HFull
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning views, fantastic cottage - home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Made to feel very welcome at this lovely little cottage.The cottage has everything you'd need, with little details that made all the difference to our stay. The cottage itself is incredibly pretty, with a log burner to warm the evenings and all the mod-cons you need. It is self contained with its own parking and we felt like we were the only people around - just what we were looking for. All the things you'd need in a home from home, our stay was enhanced by the regular visits of chickens and ducks and their lovely dogs! Gorgeous views right across Biggin Dale, with some great walks within walking distance and very easy access to all the local sites, shops, walks and attractions, whilst being in what feels like the depth of the Peak District. Jane was very welcoming and gave us all the information we needed for the local area and farm. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a peaceful break in lovely countryside, cosy cottage and gorgeous views.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The style/feel of the cottage and surroundings
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2014
Thanks to you for such a lovely review. It was nice to meet you both and I am so glad you had a nice few days break before returning to London. Do come back again and see us when you need to escape from the big city!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DJW450
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely quirky accommodation, lovely area and very friendly owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Cottage was ideal for 2, with lovely views. It was warm and comfortable, lots of hot water and log burner for cold nights,very well equipped kitchen. Very peaceful and relaxing area, pity about the rain during our stay! Lovely to be among the sheep, cows and to watch the 3 geese - very comical. The only tiny minus point - could do with a mirror in the bedroom, the only one is the bathroom cabinet.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2014
Thank you very much for the review and I am glad you had a nice time despite the May rain!
Thank you for pointing out that there is no mirror in the bedroom. To be honest I don't know why I never thought about putting one in there! I have just ordered a full-length mirror and am going to put it on the wall near the bathroom so handy if you are drying your hair etc. It is always really useful to get feedback and I appreciate your comment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$103
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
jane h
Speaks English
Listed since : Aug 2013
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 12 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing