We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biggin Hall Country House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Biggin-by-Hartington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Save
You added Biggin Hall Country House Hotel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0DH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Icebreaker Special Deal
derbyshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Real Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Our first time visit but not our last .I ate there with friends and we all were really taken with this 17 th Century old house The interior is furnished with care and adds to the ambiance of the Hall. . The staff could have been a little more welcoming but having said that everything else was first class.The food was delicious and the portions were just right not too big just enough.
I think that this lovely Restaurant could become a firm favorite with us.I look forward to a revisit in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    70
    14
    10
    6
See reviews for
31
116
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our family party numbering five all thoroughly enjoyed the excellent value first rate Sunday lunch. With the ambience of the fine old Hall and its location contributing to a really pleasant all-round dining out experience. Grateful thanks Biggin Hall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Says on website very dog friendly but dogs only allowed in the room so you have to leave them. Cant even have a drink in the bar with your dog with you. I can understand that some people don't like dogs around but they shouldn't state that they are very dog friendly as it is misleading.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

we had been before service and quality still excellent.room spacious and very comfortable plenty of room for our two dogs.breakfast plentiful and well presented with huge choice on the buffet.packed lunches a bonus for a days walking.dinner menus varied with really well cooked dishes, the veg outstanding not overcooked(probably put on pounds)pimms before dinner and complementary wine what more could you ask and all with very helpful staff.will be back

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I, both keen golfers, have stayed at this rather lovely and old inn on two occasions and we have never been disappointed. The accommodation is clean and comfortable, the staff most courteous, pleasant and helpful and the dining room serves the most delicious cuisine.

Sandwiches, water and biscuits for lunch are made available for the walkers (or in our case golfers!) each day so this saves times in having to find an eatery whilst out.

Room Tip: A room in the main building is more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Such a delightful place to stay. The room we had was double aspect with a view of the garden (room 3) just a short walk upstairs after dinner.

The food is superb and the service also very good. The hotel also provided packed lunches for the following day.

Watching the chickens on the lawn whilst drinking Pimms and lemonade before dinner - what could be better ?!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

There were 23 of us who stayed from Sunday to Friday. We're not an easy group to satisfy but we all had a great time. The staff were helpful and supportive, the food was great and we had a brilliant time. Pimms before dinner, fresh milk in each room, packed lunches -so many extras.
It's in a great location, plenty to see and enjoy.

Room Tip: Room 2 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biggin Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biggin Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Biggin-by-Hartington
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biggin-by-Hartington
Hotel Class:2 star — Biggin Hall Country House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Biggin Hall Country Hotel
Biggin Hall Country Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biggin Hall Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.