We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggin Hall Country House Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biggin Hall Country House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Biggin-by-Hartington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Save
You added Biggin Hall Country House Hotel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0DH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Biggin Hall Country House Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here last weekend for a family reunion and were thoroughly spoilt from the moment we arrived. Our Room 3 was large and spacious with a double aspect over the gardens. We used the hotel for a base for several excellent walks which were either started straight from the front door or just a short drive away in the heart of the Dales.
The dinner menu had a large range of starters and main courses and so over two nights we were all able to try different dishes which were cooked to perfection with excellent presentation.
We could not have asked for anything more and hope to return again for a fifth visit again soon.

Room Tip: We loved our large spacious Room 3 with delightful antique furniture as well as all mod cons. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    76
    16
    10
    6
See reviews for
34
131
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have just spent the most peaceful and relaxing weekend at this fantastic value hotel. The bedroom was fantastic with a huge and amazingly comfortable bed - hung with splendid drapes. Furniture was antique. The very practical wardrobe hid a TV. Bathroom was state-of the art. Everywhere was spotless. Food was delicious and plentiful.

There is plenty to do roaming the lovely countryside and lots of places to visit.
I spent a quiet and happy morning on a sunlight sofa enjoying the quiet while my companion went on a long and energetic walk.

Room Tip: Number 4 was where we stayed. Friends on the other side of the hotel, in number 3 were equally happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

An extremely warm welcome, a cosy spacious clean room. A very pleasant ambience set in a beautiful location. Terrific value for money but the highlight has to be the wonderful food. Beautifully presented and clearly the use of top local produce. Great attention to detail. We had a superb stay and will most certainly return time and time again. Well done everyone and many thanks to all the staff for working so hard and giving us a lovely relaxing break. Paul Wilson and Joanne

Room Tip: Look at the icebreaker offer..........amazing value !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed for two nights with a friend at the end of March. Had a twin room in the Lodge which is less than 100 metres from main house. The room was comfortable and warm with free wifi (although this is not advertised), a good sized sofa and small fridge which contained a pint of fresh milk -a nice touch. The ensuite bathroom was down 5 stairs from the bedroom and was basic and not as well finished as the bedroom but very clean with hot water at all times. The three course dinner menu that was part of the package gave good choice and included free wine or beer. The food was excellent and service very good. Breakfast was a buffet with well cooked good quality items and a good choice. In with the deal was a very good packed lunch on both days.
The hotel is in a lovely rural location and the grounds are very nice . The only downside is that the public lounge areas are very small and cramped because the building is very old and there is no proper bar area to sit in. However the staff are friendly and helpful and our two night break was excellent value for money. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a quiet and comfortable break in a lovely location.

Room Tip: Some rooms are dog friendly so if you are allergic to dogs mention this when booking and they will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We have just returned from a two night break and had a truly relaxing and comfortable stay. Our room was spacious, warm and cosy. It was lovely to sit before the log fire in the lounge enjoying our complementary glass of mulled wine whilst deciding what to eat off the excellent menu. The food was excellent both evenings and was washed down with very pleasant wine from the complementary carafe! The staff were friendly and the whole atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. Breakfast was a buffet but again very good. Biggin Hall is in a superb location with walking from the door into beautiful countryside with the added bonus of a picnic lunch available for those that wish. We will return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house and our room was very quiet and overlooked the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We first visited Biggin Hall more than 20 years ago, and found it just as charming and welcoming on this visit as we did before. The Icebreaker offer was fantastic value but the cost was only one thing we liked about our stay. The food was excellent, from the wonderful choice at breakfast -- getting the eggs cooked to order was a nice touch -- to the packed lunch (again, with a choice, this time of sandwich fillings) and to the tasty and well presented evening meals. The log fire was very welcome. The room was well decorated, spacious and warm, with nice bed linen and a very comfortable bed. We're recommending it to our friends!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house but the annexe rooms looked just as nice. Our room was at the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have just returned from our second 3 day break this year at Biggin Hall. It was cosy, friendly, with lovely food and well situated for exploring Dove Dale and further afield. Our first walks were directly out of the hotel and no driving was required. The friendly reception staff printed us copies of suggested walks. Our breakfasts and dinners were delicious and packed lunches were inclusive too. Hot mulled wine greeted us on our return from a day's walking, and one package included a half carafe of wine with dinner. This adds up to a good value break with no additional costs.
The pub next door is also welcoming with a good selection of beers and board games in front of a warm fire - muddy boots and wet gear no problem!
We look forward to a return trip!

Room Tip: One visit we stayed in the Bothy attached to the hotel and we have just returned from our new year c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biggin Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biggin Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Biggin-by-Hartington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biggin-by-Hartington
Hotel Class:2 star — Biggin Hall Country House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Biggin Hall Country Hotel
Biggin Hall Country Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biggin Hall Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.