We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel in Derbyshire” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biggin Hall Country House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Biggin-by-Hartington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
Save
You added Biggin Hall Country House Hotel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0DH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Icebreaker Special Deal
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Jewel in Derbyshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have just returned from our second 3 day break this year at Biggin Hall. It was cosy, friendly, with lovely food and well situated for exploring Dove Dale and further afield. Our first walks were directly out of the hotel and no driving was required. The friendly reception staff printed us copies of suggested walks. Our breakfasts and dinners were delicious and packed lunches were inclusive too. Hot mulled wine greeted us on our return from a day's walking, and one package included a half carafe of wine with dinner. This adds up to a good value break with no additional costs.
The pub next door is also welcoming with a good selection of beers and board games in front of a warm fire - muddy boots and wet gear no problem!
We look forward to a return trip!

Room Tip: One visit we stayed in the Bothy attached to the hotel and we have just returned from our new year c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    70
    14
    10
    6
See reviews for
31
116
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed a weekend here with friends on a bed, breakfast and evening meal plan. Had reservations at first as I thought the table d'hôte would be substandard but I was wrong. It was beautifully cooked, very tasty, nicely presented, and a good choice of dishes. The ambience in the restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was a buffet but all was fresh and regularly replenished. Waiting staff and hotel staff all very pleasant. The place is just well, homely. It is nicely furnished but not in your face with it. A 17th Century building and of historical and architectural note. Bedrooms are comfortable and a good size with firm comfortable beds. All is as you would expect it to be. Great place to stay in the Peak District either as a base (we did Chatsworth for the day) or for walkers. Packed lunches are available. A wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 3 is big than Room 5 in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel. We stayed for a weekend in September with our dog in one of the courtyard rooms. The room was lovely (comfortable, spacious and clean). The hotel is in a quiet setting, has bags of character, great food, walks from the doorstep and a dog friendly pub a minutes walk away....my kind of place and will definitely go back :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Met up for a long weekend with another couple. We had our dog with us so stayed in one of the Courtyard rooms. It was spacious and comfortable. The dinners were superb, with complimentary carafe of wine, and pre dinner drink of mulled wine. The food was virtually faultless - tasty, well presented, good portions. The breakfast was great, such a long time since I indulged in fried bread and black pudding in addition to the lovely sausages, bacon, eggs, tomatoes. Walked off all these calories in the nearby Wolfcotes Dale, Dovedale, and Tissington trail, all very close by so car stayed parked at the hotel all weekend. Even the village pub was next door, really cosy & serving Black Sheep real ale. Perfect. We'll definitely be back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Just spent a couple of nights in a court yard room and I can only say how nice we found the whole experience. Our dogs were accommodated at no extra cost and the food throughout delicious.

The Hall is comfortable and cosy for post dinner drinks and as a whole, the break was superb value.

We are looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: The court yard upstairs rooms are a really good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our second stay- the food and service is brilliant at dinner, and the complimentary wine is a super touch. The rooms are big and comfortable.
On our last morning, the dining room at breakfast was very very busy, although there seemed to be more people than the hotel could accommodate. Things had run out- plates, glasses for juice, bread and hot food not replenished, and the waitress did not seem to notice.
We were a party of 3, in the rooms down the path- lovely location, with the chickens and piglets, and whilst our room 23 was quiet, my son in 22 suffered from the loud and inconsiderate people below talking until 1.00am on both nights and slamming doors. This bears out a previous review that the sound insulation is inadequate. All in all, we did have a lovely time, we would return and ask for rooms in the main house. Had we been asked at departure, we would have made these points, but there was almost no personal interaction between the hotel and us during our stay.

Room Tip: In the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you are looking for a five star experience with manicured lawns and uniformed reception staff, this is not it. Biggin Hall has chickens and geese on the lawn, pet pigs in the meadow and lots of happy walkers with mud on their boots.It also has comfortable rooms with proper bathrooms and well cooked food.The staff are local and attentive. It is the perfect venue for exploring the beautiful countryside around the hotel. It is the second time our group has been and we feel very lucky that we found it. We will go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Biggin Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biggin Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Biggin-by-Hartington
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Biggin-by-Hartington
Hotel Class:2 star — Biggin Hall Country House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Biggin Hall Country Hotel
Biggin Hall Country Buxton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biggin Hall Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.