We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing amazing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ruins Talisay

The Ruins Talisay
Hda. Sta. Maria, Talisay City, Philippines
6334 476-4334
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Attractions in Talisay City
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nothing amazing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Visited this place in July 2012 and felt that there was nothing special with this place. I was the food for the infinity number of mosquitoes present on-site and although the story of this place is kind of intriguing... there's really just so much time you can spend here. I don't suggest a special visit to this place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    28
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Magnifico !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I went to The Ruins twice in 3 months.

The place only recently opened as a tourist attraction after the descendants of the mansions's owner decided to accept garden weddings on the grounds of the ruined mansion.

Tall and majestic, one will be awed by the mansion's story. A gift of love from a sugar baron to his lady, the owners decided to torch the building when Japan invaded the Philippines - - the owners are said to detest the idea that their mansion was going to be occupied by the Japanese military. Built from class-A materials, the building was supposed to be burning for days and yet the whole mansion did not go down to ash. What a magnificent structure !

Today, The Ruins is a top destination in Negros Occidental. It is located in Talisay City, just at the boundary of the capital city of Bacolod.

The photos tell all.

I fell so in love with The Ruins I blogged about it.

http://boyplakwatsa.com/?s=Bacolod+Ruins

.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna, philippines
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
103 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“mansion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

a burned out mansion during the Japanese invasion. Let the building speak for itself. The guide said to visit it at 5pm as you will see the building glow from the sunset. There's a restaurant and museum shop in the area.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipolo, Rizal, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Your Negros tour wouldn't be complete if you will not visit this place, you may think that this is just a simple ruins and nothing more but you will definitely enjoy your tour here!

PS. Look for Mars and hire him as a guide in your tour in the ruins, he will definitely give you a good laugh! ;)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A ruined castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I think my Negros assignment will never be complete if I did not visit The Ruins in Talisay City. It was like a mansion, a "castle" in my own description. I was awe with its structure, maybe because it was my first time seeing one. We also had our sumptuous lunch there. Just a little info: The road going to the Ruins is not really that comfortable with, you can ride a taxi by meter if your not big in number

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ruins Talisay also viewed

Oslob, Cebu Island
Malapascua Island, Cebu Island
 
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to The Ruins Talisay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ruins Talisay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.