We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland Harbour Oaks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Auckland Harbour Oaks to your Saves list
Auckland Harbour Oaks
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   16 Gore Street | Auckland City, 1010, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Queensland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Absolutely recommend this hotel if you want a CBD location and good value with fantastic views. We enjoyed a one night stay in a two bedroom/two bathroom. We wanted to be handy to the ferry terminal and CBD. Check-in procedure was polite and efficient. At booking we had requested a high room with good views of harbour and city. Wow - did they deliver! Our room was a corner one (35b) and the views from living and both bedrooms just blew us away - both in the day watching the harbour, and the city lights at night. Equipped kitchen and laundry, and also appreciated the breakfast provisions (seed & fruit roll; cerial bar; yoghurt, juice and apple). Didn't miss the air-con at this time of year. Would definitely book again next time in Auckland.

Room Tip: Corner room on high level - very pleased with 35b.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    118
    115
    50
    36
See reviews for
96
137
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights. Location was good, roosm were large but owners have cut corners (guess you get for what you pay for). For example pillows were just pieces of foam covered in a pillow case! Id be interested to see what this hotel looks liek in a few years as the new Indian owners look like they want to offer cheap prices but with cheap service!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UdaiSarin, General Manager at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear TheTravelBuddha,

Thank you for your review, I appreciate the feedback.

Please note that all the apartments in the building are individual owned but owners from various backgrounds...there is no one fixed ethnicity of owner.

We will certainly look at your comments during our building wide refurbishment which commences on 1 June - this will have no effect on customers as floors will be closed for painting and re-stocking of inventory etc.

Thank you and safe travels Buddha.

Udai Sarin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Very nice rooms with all you need ... you just might miss the aircon during sommer time.
They have a reasonable car park for 20 NZD per day. All Bars and Clubs are nearby and a 24h convenience store as well.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more quite due to nightlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The rooms are good; although small, they are light, well furnished, centrally located. There are comfy, queen-size beds, well-appointed kitchen with stove, microwave, fridge/freezer, toaster, kettle, pots, opening windows into the fresh air with floor-to-ceiling windows and full laundry in the bathroom. The gym is fine, small but equipped. There are a few cons: firstly, the openair Pool. It was closed when I tried to use it-10.30am on a pleasant May morning - but the real drag is the entrance; you have to climb a vertical, metal ladder as the Pool is quite high off the ground - quite impossible for me at 70 with arthritis! The towels are inadequate. No computer sockets are available where you need them-near the study table, so I re-arranged the furniture. Noisy neighbours can blight if they leave their balcony windows open at night, but the Management swiftly dealt with that. The bathroom is a decent size, but the shower door opens OUTWARDS, there's no place to put soap, etc except the floor & the water pressure is so ferocious that you need to check the shower head is facing away from you when you turn it on. There are 3 fast lifts to ferry you up & down; a good idea is to get your room keycard programmed to go to other floors if your friends are not on the same floor as you are. If the Pool were better I would say, excellent, but it is only Very Good!

Room Tip: Room Nos. E & F have a Harbour View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

A very good hotel in a good location with excellent facilities. Full kitchen and separate living room and a very good bathroom. But the room faced west and on a sunny autumn afternoon the sun was streaming in - so I looked for the airconditioning control. None! Rang reception to be told that there was on air conditioning. Strange in a 4+ star hotel. Wouldn't like to be there in summer!

Reception staff were a bit indifferent but otherwise the experience was painless.

Room Tip: Depends on the season. Do not choose a west facing room in summer or early autumn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This place is clean and offers decent rates for a city stay. It is quite central to the city centre, harbour precinct, Vectra Arena and Britomart (train station). There are quite a few massage parlours and strip joints in the streets around the apartment block.

Hotel staff are OK, some don't pass on all information at check in.So ask if you aren't sure of anything.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the 37th floor (there are 38 levels). It isn't a big apartment but was sufficient for our needs. Our room faced west so the afternoon sun streaming in made the room very hot and stuffy. There is no air conditioning, but I did see a fan in the wardrobe. We opened up the door to the tiny balcony (about 1/2 metre wide). We also opened the bedroom window but surprisingly could still hear traffic below. The were fantastic views of Auckland city, the harbour, the harbour bridge and wharves, but don't look down if you have a fear of heights. When we were there, the Sea Princess was docked and we saw it leave that evening.

The room was fully equipped for self catering - there was a full sized fridge/freezer, stove, oven, microwave and dishwasher. The dishwasher was broken. The microwave was confusing to operate. There was a table and chairs to eat meals and a lounge setting. TV was tiny. The bathroom had a washing machine in it. I had to fiddle a bit to get the right shower pressure.There is also an electric heater for colder winter nights (also in the wardrobe).

There is also a pool and gym but we didn't use it.

This building is also a residential block for permanent residents or long stay guests. I saw a lot of students and office workers coming and going.

Car parking costs about NZ$20 but you do need to reserve a spot because it is limited.

Access to the building is quite secure. You need to swipe your card to enter the foyer, then when you get into the lift you need to swipe it again and enter your floor number. You need the key to enter the car park from the foyer and to leave the building. At the time we were there there was nowhere to park outside when checking in as there were roadworks, so we just parked in a lane way.

I would stay here again because of the location and the reasonable price.

Room Tip: Stay in a room with harbour views (above 20th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed 2 nights alone..so got picky. Positives - 114$ a night in April autumn winter prices. 24hr reception. Staff are good.Nice view of harbour on the 17th floor, great shower pressure, stove,breakfast consisted of museli bar, apple, orange juice a microwave,the living space had a nice couch and seat, and coffee table. nice interior.good location close to the main street. Double glazed windows good for sound but no aircon..had to open the windows anyway. negatives- No Aircon, no room manifest, local calls charged at 80c per minute and no warning of these charges, long process using the rather slow free 1 hour internet, bedding rather uncomfortable sheets not fitted, internet port behind couch far away from phone and power source. Pool was closed and the gym is very limited with equipment.The lobby is rather small and well worn carpet. This hotel easily confused with the hobson street auckland oaks

Room Tip: High up..studio..was booked out, i think it would be better value than the "one bedroom" s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auckland Harbour Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Harbour Oaks

Address: 16 Gore Street | Auckland City, 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auckland Harbour Oaks 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tallest apartment tower in New Zealand - 4.5 Star Qualmark Rated. Auckland Harbour Oaks offers Auckland CBD apartment style hotel accommodation with sweeping views of the harbour and city.New:* GYM Access* Pool Access* Complimentary 1 hour free broad-band internet per night purchased (up to 250mb). The emphasis is on style and comfort at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Auckland Harbour Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Harbour Oaks Hotel Auckland Region

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland Harbour Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.