We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brew On Quay

Brew On Quay
102, Quay Street | Auckland Central, New Zealand
+64 9-302 2085
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #239 of 2,158 Restaurants in Auckland Region
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Focusing on great atmosphere, ambiance, fine food and the best brews from around New Zealand and the world. With the decor of Brew on Quay changing from room to room, Brew attracts every type of beer consumer, not just the typical kiwi bloke, but also the business man, the lunching lady, the party princess and the group of friends out for a fun night. Brews point of difference also comes in the form of its roof top bar. The rooftop bar offers an ambiance all of its own. To sit on the roof and have a brew with friends under the night stars can either be romantic or just plain fun. We promise you something different, fun, and full of Brew. Cheers.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

we did not eat here as we were put off by the ridiculous price of the drinks. They did not even have a happy hour. The staff were,in our opinion, too attentive, and appeared to be rushing you on to the next drinks. They constantly looked at you to see what you were doing and prowled around unsmilingly. Quite intimidating. As another reviewer said, the choice of tap beers is laughable and they could not even offer me a Monteiths bottled dark ale - so much for a fantastic choice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    43
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Another fabulous meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We continue to go to Brew on Quay because of its location and consistent quality, we're usually on the way to some event or another. Another great meal on Saturday, a reasonable wine list and of course the beer selection for the boys keeps everyone happy. A friendly and helpful team able to offer advice if you get a bit stuck on what it is you want.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great Beer and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had dinner at Brew on Quay last night and was very impressed. The beer selection was good and the food and service excellent. They have a tapas style menu that was reasonably priced. We selected 5 dishes and enjoyed them all.
Staff were friendly and helpful so all in all a very good night.
Highly Recomended

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Beer selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Outstanding beer selection in beautifully restored oldpolice station. Only let down by the relatively poor selection of tap beers. So close to five out of five.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Decent pub, good choice of beers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

They've got a nice selection of beers here and staff is nice. They give helpful advice when asked. Mostly an after work hangout for the surrounding offices.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brew On Quay also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Brew On Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brew On Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.