We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dishes of the day and perfect service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ponsonby Road Bistro

Ponsonby Road Bistro
165 Ponsonby Road | Ponsonby, New Zealand
(09) 360 1611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #176 of 2,364 Restaurants in Auckland Region
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
West Sussex
Top Contributor
534 reviews 534 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 181 cities Reviews in 181 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“Great dishes of the day and perfect service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We made the journey from central Auckland to come here and we are so glad that we did. The welcome was great and the menu choice excellent - though we both decided on the dishes of the day. A really interesting crostini of fog and gorgonzola, local fish and a delicious dessert. The wine list was extensive and we were exceptionally pleased with the recommendation. Service throughout was perfect and we felt like old friends, particularly since Annabelle (?) had family very close to where we live in the UK. Small world and a restaurant that I would have no hesitation in returning to whenever I am find myself in Auckland.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    25
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seefeld in Tirol, Austria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“looked good turned out average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

tThis was our first visit to the Ponsonby Bistro and very very disapointed we left, poor lighting as if they were trying to hide the bad Quality of Food. I had the confit duck which was good, but the pumpkin mash was a disaster. I asked for the Baby carrots instead of the Brussel sprouts but was told that Brocoli would go better.. The mash was more like a mistake and the Brocoli was under cooked and I like my veggies al`dente.. Tzhe duck itssefl was very good but could have done with a Little jus.we had a nice Sav and for my mains I orderd a nice glass of red the waiters choce. The wine arrived and was place down, and I asked what it was and was told it was a Pinot which was very helpful. She went back to ask what she had served. Nobody asked if we had enjoyed the meal except the waiter who took the Money at the til.all around People were using there cell phones to read the menu. Will not go back, the glass of Pinot cost 18´50.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Stellar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

One of my favourite Auckland eateries. Almost always hits the mark in terms of food and service.

Menu changes regularly and keeps me coming back for more. Service is never over familiar but friendly enough to be just right.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

It was a Thursday night and we wanted some where to eat, a walk along Ponsonby Road and we realized we hadn't eaten here for a long time, again we were not disappointed.

Even thou we had no booking we were able to get a table outside, one of the group being a smoker, this worked well. The restaurant and bar were both busy and there was a cool buzz about the place.

It was a bit chilly outside so the heaters were turned on and even blankets supplied, those little touches make all the difference.

We were served quickly and soon had wine poured from the very good selection on the list. Water as also offered and poured and topped up all night long.

We ordered our food and then just chatted and relaxed until the entrees arrived. These were great, a salmon ceviche and aubergine dish, both well presented and very tasty, very good portion sizes as well. Mains were pork and fish of the day, John Dory. Again both well presented, tasting very good as well, only negative here is the fish was slightly over cooked.

We did indulge in desert, a chocolate pudding and summer berry tart, the tart was great, I can still taste it.

The service was very attentive and the whole evening was executed very well.

We will definitely be back again.

Thanks team!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Most of the dishes were very good, we got good wine recommendations, and enjoyed the very good atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponsonby Road Bistro also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Ponsonby Road Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponsonby Road Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.