We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The top choice in Mt Eden.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olaf's Artisan Bakery Cafe

Olaf's Artisan Bakery Cafe
1 Stoke's Road | Mount Eden, New Zealand
(09) 638 7593
Improve this listing
Ranked #554 of 2,166 Restaurants in Auckland Region
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The top choice in Mt Eden.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We go here all the time. The bread and croissants are outstanding, and their preserves are fantastic - worth a trip by themselves. The salads are also enjoyable, with great vegetarian options. The sweets are spectacular in appearance, though usually over-sweet. It is busy, but service is usually quick and always friendly, and the menu is unusual enough to differentiate it from other cafes, while not being too clever for its own good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“YUMMY Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Looking for somewhere in Mt Eden to have lunch. Found Olaf's. Weren't disappointed. Great food. Couldn't fault the service, despite some people saying otherwise in other reviews. We shared a pulled lamb roll, which at $11.50 was dearer than other places we have been to, but it was very nice. My wife enjoyed her raspberry tart. Coffee was good, but have had better. Overall it was very good, and willl pop in again next time in Mt Eden and sample something else.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm gluten intolerant so was dubious about going to an artisan bakery for lunch. However Olaf's had some great salads and I am still thinking about them several days later. My friend enjoyed her gluten full buy and overall it was a nice atmosphere.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disjointed service but overall a lovely experience...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Was unsure what to expect, appeared to be somewhere that you could take only well behaved children, however that isnt necessarily a bad thing.
Found a table for three easily, ordered at the counter and the displays looked divine however it was fairly packed and the food delivery came out bit by bit. Was given my raspberry tart which sat there for fifteen minutes before my coffee came. Waited another 10 minutes for my soup which coincidentally still came before the croissant and spreads that was ordered by another at our table. Seemed a tad disorganised but maybe they were having an off day.

Otherwise though, the waiters and waitresses were friendly and polite. The food made it well worth the visit, everything that was brought to the table was well presented and did not dissapoint. Strongly advise going there if in Mt. Eden.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Bread in Mt Eden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Considering the bread offer in Mt Eden, Olaf's is outwinning any. The Essential Deli close by is selling lovely baguettes though. However breads are definitely too thick to my liking. The baguette 'looks' awesome but is not yet...too rich and thick a dough. Other fruit and nut breads do better. Staff are busy but welcoming. I've just bought bread there so won't rate the café side. I'm a local...and French!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olaf's Artisan Bakery Cafe also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
New Zealand, South Pacific
Helensville, Auckland Region
 

Been to Olaf's Artisan Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olaf's Artisan Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.