We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auckland Wine Trail Tours

Auckland Wine Trail Tours
11 Pentland Ave | Mount Eden, New Zealand
+6496301540
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Auckland Wine Trail Tours has now been voted "Best Wine Tour In New Zealand" three times, in the 2010, 2012 & 2013 "Traveller Voted" tourism awards. We were also awarded Trip Advisor's "Certificate Of Excellence" for 2012 & 2013 and give our thanks to all our customers for their great reviews & comments. We are Auckland's original specialist wine tasting tour operator with the most experienced wine tour guide in Auckland, owner John Meadows. We offer a great range of Day & Half Day tours all with excellent wineries on both the West Coast (Kuemu, Waimauku) & East Coast (Matakana).Great scenery & sightseeing, farmland, regional parks, Tasman Sea, Pacific Ocean, rainforest, waterfalls, black sand beaches, vineyards, winery tour... delicious winery restaurant lunches. Small group, max 9, door to door service in city area.Private tours & large groups by arrangement.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

John picked up up at our ship on time and provided us with an amazing personalized tour of the black sandy beach where "The Piano" was filmed. We were then off to taste at delicious wineries.
If you are in Auckland this is the tour you want.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john m, Owner at Auckland Wine Trail Tours, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi Howard, many thanks for taking the time to send in your review of the tour... really great to get your comments & recommendation!

Very pleased you had a good time & enjoyed the combination of sights & wines...!

Thanks again, John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    12
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

John picked us (and our luggage) up right at the wharf where our cruise ship docked. We spent the morning visiting the beautiful black sand beaches and waterfalls, followed by a delicious lunch at the first winery on our wine tasting tour. This tour was a Christmas gift from our daughter and son-in-law but I had spoken with John via email about the wines we liked. He took us to those wineries but also added some very special smaller wineries that were very very good. We got to taste many different wines and discovered new favorites to add to our list. John was very friendly and knowledgeable. He got us to the airport in plenty of time to make our flight back to the States. We highly recommend the tours offered by John and Auckland Wine Trail Tours!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john m, Owner at Auckland Wine Trail Tours, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi Ann, many thanks for your great review & comments!
Really pleased to see you enjoyed all the various aspects of this tour... it's a great combination...
Hope you and the wines had a good flight back.

Thanks again, John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wine Wine Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

It's both a leaning and a tasteful experience. We visited 3 or 4 sites that lets you try 5 to 6 type of White - Red wine. Usually per site cost NZ$5, but the tour guide take charge for this. The NZ$5 is waived thou if you purchase any wine at each stop. Food is also great at "Cellar Door" and the venue is a big plus plus plus.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john m, Owner at Auckland Wine Trail Tours, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello "VSInc".... again not sure who you are but many thanks anyway for a really good review!

You are right that there are no hidden extra charges on my tours, that sort of thing can spoil tours so I avoid it.

Very pleased you enjoyed the tour, wines & food...

Thanks again, John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fabulous day out and about”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

From the initial emails to suss out which tours would work best, to his recommendations of where in Auckland to eat afterwards, John was an impeccable host and I would highly recommend these tours.

As an Aussie with a few winery tours under my hat, it was great to mix it up a bit with the Wine and Waterfalls tour - some sightseeing in the morning (black sand beaches, stunning lookouts, waterfalls once doubling as sets for Xena, Warrior Princess) and a solid range of different winemakers in the afternoon. John's expertise, hospitality and the small-bus style made for a great day trip out of Auckland.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john m, Owner at Auckland Wine Trail Tours, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hi "AJontheroad"... not exactly sure who you are... but anyway many thanks for the really great review & comments!
This is a really good combination tour for people who want to see some amazing scenery as well as visit some great wineries... lunch is good too!

Thanks again for your recommendation...

Regards, john.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Perfect Combination of Wine and Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you are in Auckland and looking for the perfect day tour, look know further. The Waterfalls and Wine Tour is a perfect combination of wine tasting and scenery. We spent half the day touring some spectacular beaches, scenery, forests and, of course waterfalls. The afternoon included 3 (or 4?...I lost count) wineries with plenty of tastings of a wide selection of wines. It was also great to be in a small mini-van as opposed to a large tour bus. Our tourguide, John, was a pleasure, and very knowledgeable. I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john m, Owner at Auckland Wine Trail Tours, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi Joe, that's great, many thanks...!
This tour is the one I do the most as you say it's a great combination... it was 4 wineries in total by the way!
Yes I agree, good to get away from the crowds. I sometimes feel a bit sorry for the people off the cruise ships, on a coach with 40 others with no idea where they are going, where they are or what the winery is or does etc...

Anyway, many thanks for your great review, regards, John.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auckland Wine Trail Tours also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Auckland Wine Trail Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auckland Wine Trail Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Auckland Wine Trail Tours to your Saves list