We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were craving!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino Bar & Restaurant

Portofino Bar & Restaurant
26 Victoria Road, Devonport 1001, New Zealand
09-445-3777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 30 Restaurants in Devonport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, European
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
delaware
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Just what we were craving!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We wanted a good authentic Italian meal before we boarded a cruise ship and Portofino delivered! The spaghetti marinara and the pollo marsala were quite delicious and we highly recommend Portofino!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not so good second time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great location in Devenport Village.Dining room is above the street with large open windows Nice atmosphere.Tasty but ordinary food and overpriced for the quality. We have eaten here about year ago and the first time was better.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Fine food and good ine list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

probably the best place to eat in the area. very fine food which show imagination and flair (not always the case in new Zealand.). We ate there twice and bot times were pleasantly surprised. Good service

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic Italian stuff....molto bene!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The approach to Portofino restaurant in Devonport is through a small walkway between a row of cafes that leads to a flight of stairs making a first time visitor a bit apprehensive. However once upstairs the place presented and excellent ambiance and had welcoming staff leading you to the table. The service and food was great. It was late afternoon on a lovely sunny day and the whole restaurant was drenched with warm rays of a setting sun.
Wonderful experience for the whole family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Will be a New Year's Eve Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Have been to Portofino in Devonport several times now - and also to see 2012 new year in!

We love this restaurant. We took some friends who had never been and they had nothing but good things to say about everything. It's also BYO. Even though some restaurants advise BYO - they can be a little funny about it. Not Portofino - they were very accommodating about non-alcholic bubbles too. Gave us an ice bucket and all.

Staff were the same as last new year's eve and were fantastic as always. Friendly,helpful, attentive without being obtrusive. The meals were really good especially the prawn starter. You don't often get such a generous portion. Beautiful, big, fat, juicy king prawns!! The sauce was fantastic. Gave a finger bowl and extra plate. I'll be getting the main size next time we go!! Attention to detail is very good.

We just had such a great evening and will be back! :-)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portofino Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Devonport, Auckland Region
Devonport, Auckland Region
 
Devonport, Auckland Region
 

Been to Portofino Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.