We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Devonport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manuka

Manuka
49 Victoria Rd, Devonport 1001, New Zealand
(09) 445-7732
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Devonport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in Devonport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Dined here for Lunch after arriving on the ferry in the morning and exploring Devonport and walking to the top of Mt Victoria. Service was very quick and the Lamb steak sandwich special was perfectly cooked to order and very tasty. Sitting by the window allowed me to soak up the atmosphere of Devonport and the restaurant itself. A lot of character inside and if you need a place to dine in Devonport I would look no further than here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    80
    13
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“It was a cold and stormy night...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

...arriving in Devonport with friends, towing a suitcase in the wind and rain, just off the ferry, and a bit hungry and thirsty after a full day of meetings. Manuka was quite the comfortable haven. A pizza bar with a reasonable wine list and good coffee. We shared a pizza with seafood, chorizo and various veg. It was really delicious - and pizza can be just plain ordinary, so getting a good one is note-worthy. The price was reasonable and the place was suitable for a good chat - not overwhelmingly noisy and reasonably spaced tables. Decor-wise, their was a seriously odd potted plant (from Madagascar perhaps?) semi-succulent, spiky with thick, pale green stems. It was so curious that I had to do a close examination to determine that it was real. Quite the discussion starter! I'd come again...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nearly broke a tooth...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

... on pieces of mussel shell amongst the seafood linguine. So between spitting out mouthfuls of food into the paper napkin, and needing to use my fingers to pull the beards out of each mussel, it was an unpleasant dining experience. The taste of the food didn't make up for it - the sauce tasted like canned spaghetti. My husband's big breakfast was run of the mill. To be fair, the service was friendly and when I pointed out the issue they did offer to take the cost of our hot drinks off the bill. But I'd rather they'd served up great food than offer us a $9 refund.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Even granpa said the food was excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We went here for a late lunch with no expectations and were super pleased with our choice. My dad who never compliments a restaurant meal said the food was excellent - no higher praise can be expected. Would definitely go back there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“A real surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We ate lunch here today- no problem to seat 9 of us and provide colouring in to keep the kids occupied.
Large menu which I often don't equate with quality but this was not the case at Manuka- really lovely meals.
Lamb salad- lamb perfectly cooked.
Chicken burger- generous and tasty.
Bacon and eggs- eggs cooked hard as ordered- doesn't happen often.
Tomato sauce- no problem- came out straight away.
Kids menu varied- breakfast options, pizza , pasta, fish and chips. Again generous sized portions for $9.50 per serve.
Milkshakes were a winner.
Only negative- coffee could be better. Not bad but not great either.
We would definitely return to Manuka.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuka also viewed

Devonport, Auckland Region
Devonport, Auckland Region
 
Devonport, Auckland Region
 

Been to Manuka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.