We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manuka

Manuka
49 Victoria Rd, Devonport 1001, New Zealand
(09) 445-7732
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Devonport
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A real surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We ate lunch here today- no problem to seat 9 of us and provide colouring in to keep the kids occupied.
Large menu which I often don't equate with quality but this was not the case at Manuka- really lovely meals.
Lamb salad- lamb perfectly cooked.
Chicken burger- generous and tasty.
Bacon and eggs- eggs cooked hard as ordered- doesn't happen often.
Tomato sauce- no problem- came out straight away.
Kids menu varied- breakfast options, pizza , pasta, fish and chips. Again generous sized portions for $9.50 per serve.
Milkshakes were a winner.
Only negative- coffee could be better. Not bad but not great either.
We would definitely return to Manuka.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    67
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I got Brownie points”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I took my local fiends here while on holiday from NZ and they new nothing about it but did they rave about the food. I had been before in 2007 and the standard of food, hospitality and service is great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
482 helpful votes 482 helpful votes
“Superb salads and loved by locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This local eatery has an informal look and casual atmosphere that disguises the superb food and service. Going many times during my business stay in Devonport, I looked forward to each meal more and more. I particularly like the entree salads, one of which featured the very local flavours of kumara, lamb, spinach, and feta. The servers were to a person efficient, pleasant, and genuine. Sitting there night after night, I noticed that most of the clientele were locals coming for a takeout pizza, joining friends for dinner, or taking the family out for a treat. Others came just for the coffees or a glass of wine. Not cheap, but definitely a worthwhile choice among the clutch of eateries along Devonport's high street.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Yummy lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Service friendly and fast and the food was yummy! I had a breakfast option and hubby had lunch. Both happy with choices. Cant ask for much more really :0)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Wide variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

An interest place with a wide range of menu choices. It has a bar atmosphere up front and a dining area in the back. Of the four meals we ordered, two were declared "great" and two were thought to be "okay". Service was a little slow, but we weren't in a hurry.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuka also viewed

Devonport, Auckland Region
Devonport, Auckland Region
 

Been to Manuka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.