We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colette's Family Homes Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Landsmeer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colette's Family Homes Bed and Breakfast
Noorderbreek 46, Landsmeer 1121 KH, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Landsmeer B&B and Inns
Ponce Inlet, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Recently stayed at Colette's. During those two days, Amsterdam set records for
the low temperatures with heavy rain. The high point was staying at Colette's. She did everything she could to make us comfortable. She provided an ample breakfast (with bags so we could pack leftovers for lunch), made recommendations and reservations for us. We loved staying in Landsmeer, which is so convenient, and met many local residents which enhanced the stay for us. We were unable to do everything we wanted due to the cold and rain so we plan an
eventual trip back!

Room Tip: One room overlooks the canal, which would have been pleasant (in better weather) and is somewhat la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was there in May with 3 other friends, when the Spring begun and the flower was not yet blooming.

Collette picked us up from the jetty and she was very helpful from the moment we met until our last day in Amsterdam when she dropped us at the bus station.

Location wise, her house may not be at the heart of Amsterdam, but all of that was nothing compared to the hostility she gave us and the wonderful neighbourhood she had. With just a bus ride away, Landsmeer is not very far away from the central city.

We had experience that we will not trade with any other place. We love the cosy home like Collette's, with the river running at the back of her house. This is the ideal B&B one must stay when in Amsterdam.

How I wish I stayed at this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I recommend to everyone who wants a tranquil and cosy place in Amsterdam. The houseowner madame and her family are very kind. Only 25 -30 minutes away to Amsterdam train station by bus. Best hospitality. Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife I stayed with Colette and Noury and had a wonderful experience. She is very friendly and went out of her way to make sure we knew where we were going. She had all the bus routes printed out and knew exactly where to go. The B&B is about a 20 min bus ride to Central Station but don't let that scare you off. It is a great value to stay here compared with in city locations. One issue that you need to remember is to pack light. Like most Americans we brought too much stuff and it was a severe pain to get from airport to the train to the ferry. Don't try to save money just rent a taxi or pay Colette if she is available to pick you up at the airport. Also there are 13 spiral stairs leading up to the 2 rooms so packing lighter is a huge plus. Room and bath were fine with no issues. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Colette's over Easter and had a great time. Colette was very knowledgeable about the area. We found our way easily around and across the free ferry to Central Station and then on the trams down to the market on a Saturday Colette was very easy going and nothing was too much trouble. We a great stay thanks Colette

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Colette and her husband were away when we went so we were made welcome by her son Kane.
The room we had was the 3 bedded room as shown at the top of the reviews, very clean and comfortable with a big breakfast (taken in the room). Its not that big and 3 adults would be a struggle but ok for a small family. Kane was very helpful, you are loaned a travel card to get you around on the bus and the trams which you can charge up at the central station. Transport is easy to Amsterdam central there are 2 buses the 124 (more direct) and the 125 (goes all around the houses! But interesing.), it was exceptionally cold when we were there but the room was warm enough and Kane helped to turn the heating up when we were cold. If you want a city centre hotel this is not for you! But if you want a quiet cheap friendly place to stay with easy access to Amsterdam (about 20mins) they this is for you. There is a good app (9292) which gives all the travel times and prices of the buses trams and rail, we used it a lot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My sister and I stayed with Collette in April 2012 for a weekend after a riverboat trip through Belgium and Holland. We so much enjoyed staying in a home to give us more of a feeling of what residential life is like in the Netherlands. Her home is not far from more rural areas where you can walk or ride a bike and enjoy the countryside. A large park is also nearby. Landsmeer is a suburb of Amsterdam and you get there by taking a free ferry across the water. It takes five minutes and Collette comes and picks you up the first time you visit. Then she shows you how to take the bus from her house back to the ferry. We stayed in a compfortable upstairs room with three single beds. The staircase makes it a little difficult to carry up heavy suitcases, so she let us store them downstairs which was very convenient. There are not that many stairs, but they do curve around slightly going up. She serves wonderful breakfasts, so generous that you can take what you don't finish with you. She has lots of helpful advice on what to see and how to get there. The train and bus station in Amsterdam is conveniently located beside the ferry that you take to Landsmeer. That made it easy to visit the Keukenhof Gardens and other places of interest. I hope I can go back soon and stay with her again. What a delightful experience!

Pam R

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was upstairs, but she let us store our heavy luggage downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colette's Family Homes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colette's Family Homes Bed and Breakfast

Address: Noorderbreek 46, Landsmeer 1121 KH, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Landsmeer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Landsmeer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely clean and comfortable rooms with private bathrooms TV minibar tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer, Iron & ironing board Free wifi, located on a canal,in a quiet surburb, with supermarkets & restaurants in walking distance also close to nature area for walking, jogging, or cycling, 10 mins to the center by bus, but runs till 1-15 in the night i supply you with maps ect, and help you plan your days ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colette's Family Homes Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Colette's Family Homes Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list