We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sampran Riverside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sampran Riverside to your Saves list
Sampran Riverside
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 32 Pet Kasem Highway, Sam Phran 73110 , Thailand (Formerly Rose Garden Riverside)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sam Phran
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Went to my son's wedding there and stayed for the weekend. It's in large botanical grounds with a long drive way and several security gates and guards. There's a lake in the middle which has several Thai houses surrounding it, which you can rent. There's a river flowing next to the hotel. There's a Thai Wedding house next to the lake and another building referred to as the Japanese house...it looks very Japanese, but I'm unclear what its real purpose is/was. There are flowers and fauna and a collection of elephants which people come from far and wide to see ( and ride).
The exterior of the hotel is L shaped and 10 storeys high. its a bit weathered on the outside. There's a good quality outdoor tennis court and an excellent outdoor pool and large jacuzzi. The pool furniture is likwise a bit weathered and needs updating. The interior is fine and the rooms i.e. the De Luxe was very very spacious...with a big walk-in shower. TV's a bit old hat, but frankly that's not what I was there for. There are a couple of restaurants and a Thai market in the grounds with a few small touristy shops, plenty of present buying stuff available. There's little or no hassle which is always welcome. The food in the restaurant was good with a fair choice. The courses arrived a tad randomly, starters not always at the beginning, but they meant well! It's reasonably priced .The setting for the wedding was brilliant and my son had a very traditional Thai service, several hours long and Buddhist monks incuded...very good indeed. The party in the grounds after was also excellent. The staff in the hotel were pretty well all very good, very friendly accommodating and not pushy, just nice people...I'm actually hard to please so my compliments are hard-earned. On the down side there was some minor external works going on, JCB etc, but it was bearable, but better without it! All-in-all I'd recommend the place esp if you're looking for a wedding location.

Room Tip: De Luxe was very spacious and execellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    32
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
19
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had no expectations towards this hotel. We only wanted to spend few nights near Bangkok and head to river Kwai and continue our travel to Cha am.

It took about 1,5-2 hours to reach hotel from Bangkok airport. From hotel it took about 1,5 hours to get to river Kwai and two hours to Cha am.

Room was spacious even with extra bed and baby cot. Only thing I did not like was fitted carpet. I loved the lemongrass soap! They sold shampoo, soap etc. in the hotel lobby.

Hotel is not new and there are signs of wear and tear. But it was clean and specially lobby area was nice.

Environment was beautiful and garden huge. We enjoyed beautiful river view from the restaurant. Children's outside play area was big and nice. There would have been many things to see.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

“Glad I went.”

Feb 22, 2012 ByAirByLandBySea
This beautiful place lived up to its expectation. It's a schlep pretty much from any point but well worth it. It's very serene and pretty.
200bht 20 minute massage is great treat at their spa.
The show is fun and there are a few eateries and shops to chose from.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We spent 4 nights in rose garden,Its very clean and comfortable place.
get more travelling information from the friendly staff.Its on a very nice location. Easy access to many places. Specialy dont mis floating market when you are there.Its very interesting.varoius types of delicious food serve in their large resturant.Best place to taste traditional Thai dishes with so many types of spices.

Room Tip: my best choise is river view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

The Rose Garden hotel has a beautiful tropical garden, with orchids and also flamingos: so if you stay at this hotel it is worthy to spend some time in the garden; at the sunset the landscape is beautiful at the riverside.
The hotel is a building not very new, but the room was clean and comfortable and nice. Unfortunately the floating restaurant was closed (it opens only in the week end) but the restaurant on the ground floor has also a la carte menu and is good (thus not very cheap for the thai standards).
The hotel is also famous for organizing twice everyday the show with typical thai dance and fight. If you stay at the hotel and wish to assist to the show, make sure to buy tickets at the reception (discounted 200 BH, instead of 500 BH, if you buy them outside the hotel, even if in the “hotel area; we mistakenly bought them not in the reception and, when we show them to the staff, they gave back us the difference of money spent).
The staff of the was very nice and helpful.
As to the show, it is nice for the dancing and thai boxe, but the initial show with elephants is quite sad (poor elephants forced to make circus numbers). If you wish to take any picture with the dancers, they would ask money….
The spa as well is nice and we tries the thai massage…. An experience to do!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We spent 3 days in late July, 2011. The main hotel building is very upscale but I do not usually choose highrise hotels in scenic settings so I did not see those rooms. Instead, we rented one of the few traditional teak houses on the property. It was beautiful. It was quite large (about 40x40 feet) and raised about 8 feet in the air on stilts. It was divided into two halves. The front half was enclosed, but open air with windows on three sides. It contained a wet bar, a very nice desk, a coffee table with chairs and loveseat, and a lounge seat. All the floors were polished teak and the setting was very nice (except for a little road noise from passing vehicles, but occasionally an elephant would also pass). The sealed back half contained a very large AC bedroom--again with very nice furniture and polished teak floor--and a very modern bathroom. The entire place had the feel of a traditional Thai house with very modern amenities. Everything was wood except for marble in part of the bathroom. The price of 5400 Baht (higher on Fri and Sat) included a great buffet breakfast overlooking the river. We also ate a couple of meals at another restaurant next to the river. The food was good and the prices reasonable.

There are about 60 acres of manicured landscape, but we only saw a small portion. There is also a re-creation of a traditional Thai village with daily shows of local crafts and culture and a daily elephant show, but we did not see any of these and can give no report. It was a very memorable visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Staying at this hotel is really an 'experience' from the beautiful surroundings by the river bank to the friendly staff. It is so peaceful here and during my stay there was a wedding reception what a place to have it. My room was very spacious on the 'pool side' but still with wonderful views. I had a delightful time here as part of a tour of Asia.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sampran Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampran Riverside

Address: Km. 32 Pet Kasem Highway, Sam Phran 73110 , Thailand (Formerly Rose Garden Riverside)
Location: Thailand > Nakhon Pathom Province > Sam Phran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sam Phran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sampran Riverside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully landscaped 70-acre botanical park by the Ta Chine River is located just outside Bangkok and has provided entertainment, relaxation, accommodation and a place to meet since 1962. Culture, tradition and a native way of life have been preserved through daily practices and performances. See our way of life for yourself on your next visit to Sampran Riverside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sampran Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Garden Riverside Hotel Sam Phran
Sampran Riverside Thailand/Nakhon Pathom Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sampran Riverside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.