We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The end of an era.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newick Park Hotel & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newick Park Hotel & Restaurant
Nr Church Road, Newick BN8 4SB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Newick
Brighton, East Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The end of an era.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our last Boxing Day lunch at the glorious Newick Park Hotel. The staff were as attentive as ever in spite of impending redundancy. Thank you Newick Park for some wonderful memories and memorable meals. Boxing Day will never quite be the same.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    11
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
44
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ditchling
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Despite the redundancy of all staff as of beginning Jan'14, they maintain their enthusiasm and high standards. Friendly, attentive but not intrusive. Chef's cuisine still of high notability. We have been going there for ten years. Calm atmosphere condusive for a total 'chill out' following a hectic or stressful period. Grounds - meadow, lake, woods, walled garden - 250 acres with stunning views. We wish all the staff success and happiness in their quests for new positions - they wil be a credit to wherever they go. P&M

Room Tip: Stay in Main House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is in a marvellous setting and the grounds superb, and notwithstanding the 7 hour power cut I must say that the staff coped admirably, and the management should be proud of the staff in general for the attentive service that they give.

Having stayed recently at another "Signpost" hotel with a 2AA rosette rating there are obvious comparisons that we can make and sadly the other hotel beats this hands down in a number of respects, namely:

The almost complete lack of vegetables with the main courses, making the dish unbalanced, with tiny smears of potato and other things on the plate. What is wrong with a couple of carrots and mange tout or broccoli to give a meal colour and balance?

the drink prices are exorbitant - we were charged £21-80 on the first night for two gin and tonics- I think this must have been a mistake on your part, and then £10-40 the next two nights for a gin and tonic and a beer, the most expensive drinks that I have ever bought!

It was not pointed out that coffee and petit fours was an extra and not inclusive as it is elsewhere, and again £3-75 per person is excessive.

The fly invasion in our bedroom on 2 successive days of 12-15 bluebottle type flies dead and dying was most most unwelcome especially as there appeared to be no explanation as to how they were getting into the room with a closed window.

Having said all that, and I understand that a change of management is under way, we may well consider staying at your hotel in the future as we like the atmosphere and the area- we just wont buy drinks if we do!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyCummings, Owner at Newick Park Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Tony187057

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the grounds and setting of the hotel and thank you for your kind words about our staff and management here at Newick Park Hotel. Offering a high standard of service is very important to us even when we are faced with unforeseen challenges such as a power cut!
Thank you for your comments about your meal, we will take your points on board with regards to more vegetables on the dishes. Quite often our vegetables are within other ingredients of the dish itself but I will mention it to our Head Chef.
We were very surprised to read about your drinks bill. Could we please ask you to contact us directly with regards to the date of your stay so we are able to investigate this further for you?
We are sorry you thought the price of the tea, coffee and petit fours was included in the meal. The price of the 3 course meal is £42.50 per person and all other incidentals such as the tea, coffee and petit fours are listed on the menu and priced accordingly. We feel that the £3.75 for a cafetiere of coffee or a pot of tea with a selection of home made petit fours is a fair and competitive price.
We are sorry that your stay was interrupted by some bluebottle flies in your bedroom. With the age of the hotel and the varied temperature of weather recently it naturally produces more flies and insects into the countryside. We have since had our windows treated.

We look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience

Kind regards
Lucy Cummings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My other half and I have stayed here about four or five times over the years, always for one night (when we get a baby-sitter). I am gutted to hear that it's going to close. I love everything about it. The beautiful grounds and lake, the large comfy rooms, the enormous baths, the staff who all seem relaxed and happy, and the superb food and wine. We have always had the most brilliantly relaxing stays here, and felt properly looked after. I hope someone else will run it as a going concern as I always felt sure that one day I would have a party there in the gorgeous library.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the big baths!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringmer, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just had to second the previous reviewer regarding afternoon tea...love this hotel and the restrnt, however "Afternoon Tea" leaves a lot to be desired....For £17 we were initially given tea/2x scones, when queried where was the rest of the "tea", we were told we had asked for the wrong thing, even though they had accepted our voucher for Afternoon Tea, they had given us a Cream Tea and it was all our own fault apparently, all very, very odd.........Dinner here is delicious, but Afternoon Tea - no........

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bicester
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We indulged in one night stay to get away from it and it was worth the not so small investment. good dinner, great breakfast and a lovely nights sleep. We had a room overlooking the lawn and lake and was impressed with the quality of everything the hotel and it's staff. If you like a period property with high ceilings and antiques, you will love this Sussex gem. Set in 200+ acres you can unwind to your hearts content. No kids, no noise, peace and quiet. Loved it.
Slightly tatty and the edges but this gives it so much charm.
Will stay again.

Room Tip: Try and stay for more than 1 night to really unwind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthing,sussex,england
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night for my best friends wedding and could not find anything to fault. Food, service and whole building was exceptional. We stayed in the Albertine room and it was a lovely room with a nice little view. I took a walk down to the lake this morning and could have sat there all day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Newick Park Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newick Park Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Nr Church Road, Newick BN8 4SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Newick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Newick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest traditions to be found in England is that of the country house. Representing a wonderful escape from the bustle of daily life, they have always been places for the lucky few to relax, unwind and catch up with friends. The country house hotel is the modern day interpretation and Newick Park in East Sussex is one of the best. It is one of the few to be privately owned and run so it still feels exactly like a family home; it is elegant and friendly, with huge log fires, fabulous antiques and wonderful staff. The lovely Georgian house is Grade II* listed and is surrounded by its own private park of 255 acres, which means it enjoys complete peace and privacy, together with the most fabulous views over the lake and nearby South Downs. Each of the sixteen bedrooms is individually designed, some with four poster beds, others with some of the widest beds you will ever sleep in. It is thirty minutes from Gatwick Airport and from the historic city of Brighton. The internationally renowned Glyndebourne Opera House is only fifteen minutes away and there are many historic houses, gardens and castles within easy reach. Wi-fi broadband internet access is provided free of charge and there are two beautiful light and airy function rooms ideal for meetings or small conferences. Guests can have fun on the quad bikes or the 'in-house' tank, and clay pigeon shooting is available with full instruction. Newick Park also organises team-building or family based activities such as treasure hunts, which are great fun. Private parties, weddings and other special occasions are often celebrated here, with most being held as exclusive use events. "Shortly after opening in 1996 Newick Park earned, and has retained, the AA's supreme accolade of 'Top 200 Hotels', now known as the 'Inspector's Choice'. Our food is also excellent – a fact that has again been acknowledged by the AA who continue to award us Multi Rosette Status. The restaurant is led by Head Chef Chris Moore who searches out only the best local food including many ingredients sourced directly from the estate and organically run kitchen garden. Other recent awards include the prestigious Conde Nast Johansens's Readers Award for 2008 awarded to the hotel which has had the most positive feedback from Johansen's readers. As well as being a finalist in both the 2009 Champagne Taittinger Wine List Award and Conde Nast Johansens’s Most Excellent Innovation in Sustainable Hospitality Award in 2010." Whatever the reason for your visit, whether it is for a meeting, wedding or short break, once you have experienced the unique atmosphere of Newick Park you may find it hard not to return. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newick Park Country Estate Hotel Newick
Newick Park Country Estate Lewes
Newick Park Hotel & Restaurant United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newick Park Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Newick Park Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list