We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New find for us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull on The Green

Save Saved
You added The Bull on The Green to your Saves list
The Bull on The Green
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bull on The Green
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Green, Newick BN8 4LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Newick B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“New find for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We were going to eat at our usual favourite The Lamb at piltdown (see my review), but were turned away for sunday lunch at noon because they were fully booked.However we went for a short drive and found The Bull on the Green. No problem getting a table, ordered the roast beef, extra gravy etc... Great staff. Great food. Great atmosphere. The Bull has 2 new regulars now. We will definitely be back here, their food is the best. So glad we tried it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    11
    11
    6
See reviews for
7
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bognor
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

2 night stay when doing a visit to the Bluebell railway and a trip to South of England Show.
Very speedy check in and good welcome from young lady who showed us to our nice room.Everything was fine and we had a good nights sleep on first evening , breakfast and service was good. on arrival back from show we had dinner in the pub and this was excellent the atmosphere very warm and welcoming .
we did go to bed early but were woken up at 12.45 by people coming back and blinds being pulled with lots of talking so not the best nights sleep,breakfast again was very good and the check out very smooth and helpful as we had left an evelope in a taxi and the staff at the pub offered to send it on to us if dropped off there .
Only moan for me and this is a personal dilike is wooden toilet seats but otherwise would stay again .the room was a nice large size but some rooms are smaller and cheaper.All in all a nice village pub with accommodation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is my first review on Trip Advisor. After a fantastic experience this weekend at The Bull on The Green I felt compelled to put finger to keyboard! Myself and 4 friends headed down to Sussex on Friday night to participate in an organised cycle event. I found The Bull on the Green after calling at least 5 other hotel/pubs in the area who were all fully booked and really rather rude on the phone. The Bull were a short cycle from the start of our cycle route and just a few miles from the train station. They were exceptionally accommodating, fitting 5 of us in to two rooms, finding an area for us lock up our bikes over night, holding the kitchen open for dinner, giving us hints and tips on the local area as well as working around our early start time for breakfast the next morning. The rooms where very nice, clean and modern and the overnight stay was very reasonably priced. The food was lovely and hearty, just what we needed, there was a great selection of wine too and a good ambience in the bar/dining area. The staff gave us a warm welcome and couldn’t do enough to help us out. An all round fabulous experience. In hindsight I wish I booked us all in for 2 nights so we could head back a celebrate our cycle finish there!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We met at the Bull in the evening for a meal before going on elsewhere.

Quite frankly the overpriced meals did not match the quality of the food.
I had scampi and chips which were edible although the scampi was a little overcooked and the fish inside the scampi appeared grey.

Service was a little perfunctory but our meals arrived quite quickly, probably because we were the only customers in the restaurant.

As for "atmosphere" there was none and I would suggest the Bull needs a good clean and sprucing up. I visited the Bull 5 or so years ago when the staff were welcoming and friendly to non-regulars as we were last evening. This time not a word of welcome or a cheery "Good evening."

I would not return for a rather overpriced and mediocre meal but possibly stop for a drink.

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived to a warm welcome from the staff and promptly shown to our room, after being advised that the kitchen would be shutting at 9pm so we had to hurry and order food should we require.
The room was very clean (room 1), although the bathroom could do with being a little cleaner as it was grotty round the base of the sink taps and round the shower tray where the shower doors run, this was just minor but noticeable to us, the walls could also do with a freshen up but again its just me being picky.
I found the bed very comfortable but my girlfriend kept rolling over near the edge as she said there was an angle to her side where the mattress was worn.
The staff where very courteous and we had 1 evening meal & 2 breakfast times there, all food was served promptly & enjoyable, the pub itself had a good atmosphere but we only went once as we where down to go to a wedding so it was more of a place to sleep and have breakfast.
Overall I would say the hotel is OK and we would stay again if we needed to go back down to that area and required accommodation.
The young lassie who took our money when checking out could of been a bit more friendly but she was maybe distracted and we didn't get a cheerio or a safe journey after handing over our cash, maybe I'm just old fashioned that way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My family and I went to the Bull for Sunday lunch. We were shown to the restaurant where one other young family were also dining. There was absolutely no atmosphere and it was cold. (Perhaps some soft back ground music would have been nice). The waitresses had no customer service skills and appeared to take my request for more toast for my pâté personally and became argumentative. What happened to the customer is always right? No smiles and unfriendly staff with young teenage attitudes. Will not go back bit of shame though because the Thai curry was gorgeous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for 1 night to attend a wedding at Newick Park. The room was nicely decorated and clean but the bathroom very dated and the shower dirty. On arrival we were made to wait for 20 minutes before check-in which was quite rude after a long drive.

Our biggest problem was the lack of breakfast though. We arrived for breakfast at 9.45 and told the waitress we would wait for the rest of our party before we ordered. When they arrived the waitress took all our orders, only to return 10 minutes later and tell us the kitchen had ended breakfast at 10am and so would not be cooking our food. The waitress was very apologetic but had failed to warn us of the cut-off when we arrived for breakfast and was at a loss to control the kitchen.

Probably the best location for Newick Park if you can't stay at the venue itself but don't expect great service, and if you have an alternative stay there as it is quite pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bull on The Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull on The Green

Address: The Green, Newick BN8 4LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Newick
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull on The Green 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely old country pub ideally situated in a picturesque village in the heart of East Sussex, right on the A272. Under new management as of the beginning of April, we have recently undergone a refurbishment and have also taken on a new Head Chef. Serving a new, re-vamped menu and a large selection of fine wines and ales makes us a great stopping place for any occasion.In addition we have eight rooms, all equipped everything you need for a comfortable and peaceful night's rest should you find it hard to leave at the end of the night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Bull on The Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull On The Green Newick, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull on The Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.