We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Woodlands Rainforest Retreat to your Saves list
Woodlands Rainforest Retreat
137 Manby Road, Narbethong, Victoria 3778, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Romantic, away from the stresses of CBD, wonderful food, excellent service, clean, luxurious and they have thought of everything! There was mosquito spray and plug ins, all toiletries, wonderful selection of bread jams marmalades and eggs, delicious barbq pack and well stocked mini bar (reasonable prices).

The layout is well thought out and high quality finishes. The Samsung TV and Blu Ray surround sound sytem made the spa experience extra special as we could listen to our favourite tracks whilst relaxing in the spa surrunded by the most spectactular views of the rainforest. Hours were spent on the deck nature watching, they even had wild bird seed to help tempt the King Parrots and Crimson Rosellas down (which I identified because there was a colour guide to the birds of autsralia thoughfully placed in the bungalow!!)

We will definately be staying there again! One slight negative... we booked a luxury weekend of 2 nights, assuming that we had food for both nights included, but this deal only has ONE barbq pack.. Jeff was very helpful in rustling up an extra meal though! Thanks :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night and we did not want to leave . It was such a beautiful experience. The cottages are extremely private and surrounded by tall trees.You are literally living in the middle of the forest. We took our own barbeque pack, beer and wine and were set for the night. The most exciting feature is the partially outdoor spa. It is good to look out for deals to stay here, is quite expensive if not on one.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at the Woodlands Retreat, both times it has lived up to its reputation of a romantic retreat. The cabins are beautifully placed within the bushland for total privacy. From the lay out of the fireplace, spa and general amenities this place is consistently comfortable. There are numerous places to visit locally if you are staying a few nights. A clean well stocked kitchen where you can cook or local pub that serves a good meal. Only negatives, no bubble bath for the spa, possible as this is not very eco friendly which would be understandable. Bit expensive if you are not there on a deal.
Keep up the good work

Room Tip: All cabins are well positioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

My partner and I are big B&B fans. Been to a few stand-alone cottage B&B in Arthur's Seat, Dandenongs and Great Ocean Rd, but this has by far has the best spa i've been to. The bathroom with huge spa was grand in size, the heated tiles and shower were great, and to top it all off, the bathroom doors completely opened up to the veranda where there is nothing but the sweet sound of birds and a tree-top view of trees and fresh air. Complete privacy and wonderful setting on a summer or winter night. The surround sound in each room, plentiful rainforest views from every angle, and natural spring water was a bonus - we wish we didn't have to leave! When we left we dropped by Healesville's Lonely by-stander restaurant to top off a wonderful 2 night/3 day romantic getaway.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

It was nice but it wasn't amazing. We stayed in Whispering Wattles bungalow. Didn't look much like the images they use on the website... wasn't up high, no water around it etc. The bathroom is great - a double spa with windows all around looking out to the rainforest, heated floors etc. The rest of the cottage is very average and little things like the couch and rugs were stained and dated. We used a voucher and stayed at the place half price and to be honest I would have been a bit disappointed if I had to pay full price. Overall it was nice but not as luxurious as was made out to be. If the rest of the bungalow matched the bathroom it could be lovely.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

If you are looking for somewhere to hide away from the world for a couple of days here it is. We arrived to a friendly reception from Jeff and when we drove down the bush track to our cottage, Whispering Wattles, we found a romantic 1 bedroom cottage with a spectacular spa full of bubbles and surrounded by lit candles and quiet music. Our BBQ pack ended up being sufficient for 2 nights dinner and every item from the steaks to the salads to the desserts was sensational.
King Parrots and Rosellas came to visit on the rear deck while I was preparing the BBQ and we were even supplied with bird seed for the wildlife so they wouldn't feel left out. The view from the deck, and the spa, and the bedroom, was of wall to wall greenery with canopies of towering trees. We drove past 3 other cottages to arrive at ours but could have sworn we were the only ones there for our entire stay.
For those that like their creature comforts, the digital TV, BluRay and surround sound did the trick and then some.
This is the sort of place you could arrive at and never leave the room. It was a wrench to pack up this morning and leave.
Enjoy your stay, I hope we are back there again soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed at Woodlands in Nov 10. We loved everything about it - the privacy, the room, the BATH, the tranquility, the food was great, and the groundkeeper, Jeff, was really friendly. We ordered a BBQ hamper that included different types of meat, salmon, cheese and desserts. There was ample food, of great quality to cook on the BBQ provided. The dessert was particularly nice. Eggs for breakfast tasted so fresh.

It is a bit of a trip outside of Melbourne/Healesville, but I guess that is the point. If you want to get away from it all.

It really is a magnificent, one of a kind experience.

Definitely would not recommend this to others because we want to keep it for ourselves!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Rainforest Retreat

Address: 137 Manby Road, Narbethong, Victoria 3778, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Narbethong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Narbethong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden in an untouched section of the spectacular rainforest of the Black Spur, this Australian Tourism Award winning retreat is designed exclusively for couples. Blending with the natural environment, each luxury rainforest bungalow has king bed, kitchen, open fire & huge sunken spa looking out into a living forest. Indulge with massages, gourmet meals in the seclusion of your bungalow. Rare combination of genuine privacy & pure luxury - a truly nature based experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Woodlands Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Rainforest Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.