We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommendable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Martelletti

Locanda Martelletti
Piazza Statuto, 10, Cocconato, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 9 Restaurants in Cocconato
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Highly recommendable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Locanda Martelletti is the kind of place you can tell people to go to and rest assured that they will be delighted. I never spent a night at the Locanda myself but friends who did (last summer) testified that the service is impeccable and the rooms are comfortable and charming. With the restaurant I’m well acquainted because I have been a regular customer since 2010. At the Locanda you’ll always find a warm welcome, knowledgeable advice on the wines (in terms of food pairing) and of course – most important of all – always great dining. Locanda Martelletti offers only a small selection of dishes but there is daily variation and everything is cooked with the best ingredients. Recommendable is the (matured) T-bone steak, grilled over an open fire. But also something really good (and simple) are the meatballs “chilometro zero”: meaning that the meat comes from a local farmer. Owner and manager Franca Dezzani takes great pride in the promotion of local produce. That obviously includes the wines but also – and visitors should try this - the Locanda’s very own Vermouth. Highly recommendable!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Marvellous food and excellent attention”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The local menu, the choice of wines, the environment. we liked everything. Attention was excellent without being intrusive, and the big Fiorentina type steak a hit with the men of the family!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alteaAsti, Proprietario at Locanda Martelletti, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie di cuore da parte di tutti!
Franca, Liliana e Gabriele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our family ate at Locanda Martelletti several evenings and between all of us tried most everything on the menu. Without exception, every selection was excellent. Each selection was fresh, tasty, presented beautifully, and completely unique to the other course offerings.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alteaAsti, Proprietario at Locanda Martelletti, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, this tells us that we are in the right direction to continue to improve the reception for our guests
Franca, Tamara, Lily, Gabriele e Marcella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Book if you want a good spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We came across this restaurant by chance, so we had a bad spot in the grass, on an uneven surface. Fortunately we noticed before sitting down that the dog had been using that spot as a toilet a little earlier. The food was a little above average but nothing spectacular.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinland Pfalz
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Traditional cooking - Inspired”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

During our stay in the charming Hotel, see separate entry, we enjoyed the modern inspired traditional tuscany and piemontese cooking. The filetto with horseradish is something no one should miss. It is not only excellent food, fresh cooked and delightful, the whole atmosphere is well balanced. Not to forget the hughe list of quality partially from local winemakers.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locanda Martelletti also viewed

Cocconato, Province of Asti
 
Cocconato, Province of Asti
Cocconato, Province of Asti
 

Been to Locanda Martelletti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Martelletti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.