We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Widiane Suites & Spa

Save Saved
You added Widiane Suites & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Widiane Suites & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Chemin du Lac de Bin El Ouidane BP: 44, Bine el Ouidane, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Bine el Ouidane
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Recently returned from Widiane Suites and Spa. Really enjoyed boat trip around the lake,
Views stunning. Cookery class was very well organised. Building work is being carried out
At rear of hotel and road does pass hotel, this did not disturb us in any way. The location
Is beautiful. Staff friendly and helpful. Food excellent. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    68
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
28
136
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I really cannot believe the last review ! I read this review last night when I arrived at the hotel and thought I would check out this guy's grievances ! This is the third time I have come to the Widiane Suites and Spa and the reason I have returned a third time is because it is so lovely.
This time I am situated in the lakeside rooms, however, I have also stayed twice in the rooms by the infinity pool upstairs. Bearing in mind that this guy must have just left, so there is a week maximum between our stays, the only sound I have heard in 2 days is the sound of the birds twittering. Where he gets the constant sound of lorries and building work completely throws me. Yes, occasionally a car drives along the road - its a road !
The staff are great and the whole place is tranquil and serene. I defy anybody not to enjoy the breakfasts - so much choice. The speedboat ride takes you to places you would otherwise not see, the balinese massage is fab and the cookery lesson fun ! You eat it for your eve meal, so a bonus - a free evening meal.
I for one will definitely be back and will be telling everybody I know how great it is - because it truly is !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have just returned from a 6 day stay at Widiane Suites and Spar
Believe me If we could have returned home sooner we would have!

We booked this trip with Groupon and now realize why some hotels need to entice bookings with these special offers from companies such as this.
Having traveled quite extensively over the years we try to book hotels etc that propose a good quality of comfort and service and do expect them to live up to their promises. We also do try to read between the lines of some reviews on properties, as there are some people for whom there is no satisfaction.
That said we strongly feel that if these properties promise something and expect us to pay for it and perhaps return to visit again they should at least try to provide the standards advertised and that we expect to find.

The impression we were given from its website was that this was a luxury Spa hotel in the middle of nowhere and was "the place to visit if you wanted some peace and relaxation away from the hustle of life".

What no one has mentioned in previous reviews is that the so called spa is virtually non existent, the spar area is very very outdated and shabby with a tiny decrepit Hamm am room that is reached up very steep tiled stairway with no hand rail, with wet feet can be treacherous. A Tai massage room that offers nothing else but Tai massage which is very good but that's it! No other treatments are offered! There is a hot tub sunken in the floor with a great view but it is old and full of dirt and what looks like dead skin and luckily did not seem to be working, a hairdressing salon that is empty with not as much as a hair clip to be seen.
We have never visited a spar in any part of the world that does not ask you some medical history prior to treatment to ensure that you are able to have a treatment. Here there is nothing at all, just get on with the treatment and sign the sales ticket for payment not even a relax time with a glass of water at the end.
The whole area is so outdated and shabby with broken chairs and none of the calming relaxing sanctuary atmosphere that is usually found in a spa, how they can advertise this profusely as Widane "suites and spa” is again totally misleading.

There is a main road that runs through the hotel between the lakeside pool and main building, there is a bridge over the road but this does not stop the traffic, mainly lorries creating more noise &dust to add to the problems. There is a major extension to the hotel being built next door and refurbishments to the existing hotel, that have so far taken 3 years are still on going, there is literally nowhere to get away from the continuous banging grinding and general building noise along with the dust.
If you are 'lucky enough' to get a room high up with the best view or the lake you are directly next to the construction and if you expect a restful relaxing day by the top pool well forget it, we decided to try the pool beside the lake, nicely refurbished but again plagued by more hammering going on there. We did however manage 1 hours peace during the work men's dinner break which was broken not by them returning to work early but by the arrival of large local families that seem to flock to this hotel along with screaming unruly totally un controllable and un controlled children.

We had a room in the main building, nicely refurbished, but you must remember they don't expect you to bring too much luggage as the hanging space in the so-called wardrobe would take 8 hangers at a squeeze.
This room (203) had a nice size terrace and a window to the side overlooking the service road to the hotel and building site therefore plenty of noise & dust but worst of all directly below the side window are all the motors for the refrigeration units that are starting and stopping continuously all day and more importantly all night.
This coupled with packs of dogs fighting and barking continuously throughout the night on the wasteland adjacent ensured that little or no sleep was had during our stay.
A little tip, if you want to have any thing near a warm shower set your alarm clock for 10 minutes before you want to get your shower and turn the hot tap on, after this time you may be lucky and get some hot water. Don't even think of showering between 6 & 7 pm, as when or if the hot water finally arrives you will need to run around under the shower rose to get wet! Good shower just no pressure and cold showers on two evenings.

This room being in the main building the noise was not only from outside, the clutter of furniture being dragged around and china from the restaurant being piled up and it seems re piled up! Added to the usual raised voices of local guests sitting smoking in the dining room and lounge area below accompanied by the uncontrolled children even after midnight, their mothers grouped together also getting more excited and louder, again kept any chance of sleep at bay.
Every single evening we had to remind the front desk that there were other guests who did not appreciate being forced to listen to screaming overexcited uncontrolled children and parents. The main building is no more than a playground area for children all evening until past midnight most evenings.
It is obvious that the management do not want to upset their more local prospective return guests at the expense of guests who have traveled thousands of miles to experience this discomfort and that they assume will not come back.
We accept that noisy children are not a fault of the hotel but the staff in charge has a responsibility to ALL of their guests to insure parents respect other guests comfort.

It became a total waste of time speaking to the duty managers, as there assurances of dealing with the sources of the disturbances were rarely effective.

By now you may be thinking that this is a bit exaggerated but we can assure you these are only the highlights!

As you would expect we did ask to speak to the general manager on several occasions but our requests were met with endless excuses and as it seems the sudden inability to understand English!
After waiting for the general manager for 24hours, who by the way never did turn up during our stay! We managed to speak to the front desk manager Soufiane who seemed to be the only person with any idea how to deal with British guests. Although a nice gesture, unfortunately complimentary boat trips to their canyon area with more unruly families and further building work and dust does not help with sleepless nights and restless days.
There was no point changing rooms as every room was affected by noise and dust.

You may have gathered by now this is certainly not a place to visit if you need to have a holiday to relax and unwind.

We do appreciate that all hotels need to carry out maintenance and refurbishments but they should inform booked guests what to expect and let them choose whether to put up with it!

Most hotels manage to carry out these works with minimal disruption to their paying guests but this hotel seems to totally disregard their guests with, electricians chopping out old wall lights everywhere, painters repairing, rubbing down and re staining furniture in the main thoroughfare and outside bar area and god knows what trade hammering at metal, close to the lower pool area, all day every day!
It is honestly like holidaying on a building site!

Just to add to the owners total disregard for his guests they then put the re stained chairs in the dining room and over dinner guests had to try to remove salt and pepper shakers etc that were stuck to the tables and suffer black stain on their arms and clothing etc most did not even notice this and others, it seemed could not be bothered to mention it to the staff. We along with another British guest did point our black stained clothing out to the duty manager and his response was " what do you want me to do"!

Their local and weekend visitors may accept these conditions but after a flight from the UK and a 3 hour car journey it's certainly not worth the effort at the moment.

Having completed the little they have in the past 3 years it looks like it will be at least another 3 years before they may be able to claim that you will find "peace and tranquility" in this part of that Atlas mountains. Somehow with their attitude we very much doubt it.

It seemed obvious to us that they are trying to do far too much in one go, building the huge extension, the canyon trip area and refurbishing the existing hotel in one go and nothing is getting completed.
Perhaps it would be a better idea to have closed the hotel for a few months and concentrated all the effort on the refurbishment and messy construction, and then they may attract more guests and not alienate guests from ever returning as they are doing?

The upside was the 1 hour Moroccan cooking lesson with a lady Tai chef that was excellent and we were pleased to see that the hygiene standards in the kitchens are very good.
The quality of food, mentioned by other reviewers does seem to have been addressed with an excellent choice at breakfast, small but adequate lunch menu at the lakeside restaurant and a reasonable choice on the dinner menu quite nicely presented.
Room service was also hot, tasty and surprisingly prompt.

The views from the "building site" are stunning and although the wind does gust along the lake from time to time, generally the weather is lovely but chilly when the sun sets.

We also tried our 'compensation' boat trip to the canyon where we were assured of a "more relaxing peaceful day" there are floating pontoons for sun bathing and the complementary Tai massage that was great. The hotel has built a very nice Tai style restaurant (not serving Tai food though) half way up the canyon where there are excellent quality w/c facilities the only problem is they can only be reached by climbing 200 steps at the moment, although an elevator is being installed but is far from ready for use (more dust &building noise plus the same uncontrolled children rampaging between the dining tables and knocking over drinks whilst there parents sat chatting and chain smoking and the staff were unable, afraid or just not concerned to say anything to the cash spending parents. Perhaps it would be a good idea to notify guests going on this trip for the promised quiet relaxing day, of this too?

Regarding value for money, we would certainly not have paid the asking price without the Groupon deal at the moment. We are glad however that we paid to upgrade the room as most of the standard rooms are not refurbished and dark and dingy, fortunately due to our relentless problems incurred the front desk manager, Soufiane agreed that they would not charge us the upgrade cost when we refused to pay it.
At least some members of staff are really trying to make an effort to retain custom and we wish them the best of luck!

We have no doubt that the first reaction to all of this from the management will be "no one else has complained about these things"
If this is so and Having seen the reaction from most of the people on duty that we have had to speak to we can only assume that the guests feel what's the point as you will get nowhere.

Our point is if they are happy to take our money for a service they should try to provide it for everyone and show a responsibility for the comfort of all guests.

We would advise anyone contemplating a visit here to leave it until at least 2015.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel was wonderful, serene and peaceful location with stunning views and helpful staff. Be prepared for the three hour transfer from airport to hotel, but there was a break in between and the driver Janah is very pleasant. My partner and I had booked this through a groupon deal and thoroughly enjoyed the added extra activities (1 hour massage, Mountain Trek, cooking class, and boat tour). I have no complaints whatsoever.

The room was cleaned daily, the staff were very helpful and friendly and if the option arises in the future I would gladly stay here again.

The only fault would be the breakfast, out of personal preference I did not particularly like it, it was mostly breads and cold meat slices, the eggs were not to my taste (runny/undercooked). However the lunch and dinner were perfect!

I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Casablanca, Morocco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

stayed here in April 2013 with a group of friends .
very expensive for the quality it offers !! you would assume that you will get a 5 stars service since you are paying for it, but actually it's not even a 3 stars !!
Food is terrible, and very small portion and we tried almost everything on the menu from salads to main dishes to burger and pizza !!
we were forced to take the ridiculous over priced buffet for dinner, but since we had already experienced their bad food at lunch, we just wanted to have salads for dinner and after a looooong fight they finally agreed on letting us choose from the room service menu.
Their wine list was huge but only 3 brands were available (the most expensive of course)
and to top it all, we were seated on freshly painted tables and chairs for dinners which ruined our clothes , how is that a 5 stars service ?
wouldnt come here again !

Room Tip: ask for double bed, and make sure its not 2 separate beds joined together !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My soon to be husband and I stayed at Widiane Suites and Spa in August 2011 for a week after purchasing a Groupon offer. We had a thoroughly enjoyable and delightful stay and would absolutely love to go back . We didn't leave a review after our stay but having read some of the other reviews I was really disappointed to see that some people had left some quite negative comments and therefore wanted to give our opinion. I don't think people should be put off from visiting Widiane after reading some of the comments.

To get to Widiane, as it is beautifully set in the mountains, you can either travel from Marrakech by car transfer or helicopter (I believe). The car journey is a 3 hour journey and is not the most comfortable of journeys however once you arrive at Widiane in our opinion it is well worth the journey!

When we visited Widiane they were in the process of some construction on the new building, I don't know whether the building works are still unfinished, however this did not disturb our stay at all. We could see the construction site from our balcony area but that did not bother us at all. I would just advise, if the building works are still being carried out, if something like that will bother you then don't go or ask to stay in a room the other side of the hotel.

The spa was OK, I think it can be improved and unfortunately the outside jacuzzi they have wasn't working during our visit but it is idyllically situated at the top of the building facing the lake which can be very romantic.

The room for massages was relaxing and peaceful and the massages we had were fantastic. The two therapists who were there when we visited were brilliant, great characters, very friendly and gave us lovely treatments.

The hammam treatment room is right at the top of the building and it is extremely hot in there. I didn't get on with the hammam treatment (not good for people with sensitive skin like me!) but it is an experience in itself! They also have mud treatment room.

The pool was lovely, the surroundings give a nice relaxing/calm feel and it is nice and quiet being in the mountains. Some soft background music would be nice for the pool area.

The hotel cannot be faulted on cleanliness, it was lovely and clean and we often saw a cleaner around the hotel. There was a problem with those small flies in our room one night but that was because we had left our doors open! The flies are attracted to the light. We asked if we could change rooms and we were able to so we did for one night and then went back to our room because we liked ours better! The fly problem wasn't necessarily the hotel's fault though as I think that just comes with being by the lake.

There is another jacuzzi down by the lake which is lovely to relax in. A bit cold but once you're in its fine! Again quite romantic. There are several different types of chairs/loungers to sit and relax in down by the lake too.

There is a gym which has air con and has basic equipment in should you fancy a work out!

The food was brilliant, breakfast lunch and dinner were all more than satisfactory! I noticed a comment about alcohol, for myself and my partner that wasn't an issue as we don't drink however they do serve alcohol, or they did when we were there, but you will find it is more expensive as Morocco is a Muslim country and the alcohol is imported. Anyone visiting Morocco should have an awareness of this before they go anyway.

We slept very well, the room we stayed in was two single beds put together which although a little annoying sometimes I think that appears to be the norm in a lot of foreign countries so it didn't bother us as there were so many other wonderful things about the hotel and our stay.

The Groupon offer we thought was absolutely fantastic value with the excursions and treatments we had which were included. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted with wet flannels to freshen up our faces and a refreshing widiane cocktail. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip by boat to the other hidden part of the hotel where we had lunch, swam in the lake and had some fun on the jet ski! We were also all given 10 minute thai massages each on the loungers. It was fantastic!

We hired a pedalo boat one day and there was also a trekking tour through the mountains which my partner went on and said was brilliant for views.

The hotel also kindly told us when they were arranging trips outside of the hotel so we could go if we wanted to. One of the trips was to cascades d'ouzoud a beautiful natural waterfall where there are lots of little souks and we sat and had a traditional Moroccan meal. It was a gorgeous day out and also where my partner proposed! During the time of our visit it was Ramadan and therefore the residents and workers in Marrakech were all fasting however this did not stop the kind gentleman (I can't remember his name unfortunately) who kindly drove us to the waterfall and walked up and down steps in the blazing heat with not even a drop of water to drink! Whatever your name is, and if you are still working at Widiane, we thank you very much! I hope you can remember us! (The couple that got engaged by the waterfall!)

The staff at Widiane were very accommodating, friendly and always had smiles on their faces. The Buddah Bar was lovely too. It wasn't very busy while we were there but we did have a few drinks in there a couple of nights with other families/couples staying at the hotel.

Overall we had a fabulous time, we loved every second of our holiday we didn't want it to end! It is luxurious, but it is Moroccan luxury! If you are looking for more 5 star luxury then go to somewhere like the Maldives but if you are looking for a holiday of relaxation with a bit of authenticity and tradition then go to Widiane. You will not be disappointed!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would absolutely love to re-visit! Thank you for making our stay such an enjoyable one.

Charlotte and Niz (stayed August 2011)

Room Tip: Superior lake facing room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a fabulous location if you want to get away from it all to relax and soak up the fabulous vista.
The room we were allocated was just OK, it was on the top level, quite basic, large but TV was too far from the bed to view it comfortably, no storage space just a few shelves in the hanging space area - would not call it a wardrobe, the rain shower did not work, only the hand shower did which made having a shower unpleasant. There was a garden area with 2 chairs but too much greenery to sit in the sun, there was a hot tub but it would have taken a week to get it clean. When we mentioned a few things at the reception desk we were quickly offered a new room, my, it was like staying in a different hotel, it was excellent with a lovely view, upgraded furnishings and a great bathroom with a fully functioning shower! We loved it and would ask for room 206 next time.
The restaurant served adequate food, but after 5 days we felt we needed a change as the menu was really quite basic. Breakfast, whilst it looked like a feast as there were so many plates of food, but most of it went back. Omelettes were good,
As we were here on a Groupon deal we experienced the Thai massage which was excellent and would certainly book it again, the hamman was really nothing special and would not book it again. The cooking class was really chop a few bits and assemble a few things, however the chicken tagine we watched being prepared was excellent when we had it for dinner. The boat trip took us across the lake to their thai restaurant, this was a lovely trip as the scenery was spectacular, We did not do the trek opting to,just walk up to the small row of shops for some supplies instead, we had heard it was quite arduous.
All in all it was excellent value for money and I would definitely go again. The staff are helpful and have a good professional manner and it is well worth the 3 hour drive to get there.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the main (mid level) building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Widiane Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widiane Suites & Spa

Address: Chemin du Lac de Bin El Ouidane BP: 44, Bine el Ouidane, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Tadla-Azilal Region > Bine el Ouidane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Bine el Ouidane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Widiane Suites & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Middle Atlas is nesting a most subtle pearl, Widiane Suites & Spa. A concentrate of essence and wellbeing to enrich your senses as you take in open views, fresh air and contrasting landscapes.Associating luxury and refinement, this masterpiece is the ideal retreat for nature lovers, where the time ceases to let you enjoy the celestial and charming site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Widiane Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widiane Hotel Bine El Ouidane
Widiane Suites And Spa
Widiane Suites & Spa Morocco/Bine El Ouidane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Widiane Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.