We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“non existent service and lack of choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rouge Loughton

Cafe Rouge Loughton
179-181 High Road, Loughton IG10 4LF, England
0208 502 2011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 52 restaurants in Loughton
Price range: $34 - $48
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: One of the main cafes in Loughton
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“non existent service and lack of choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Visited this restaurant on the 17th august 2012 after pre booking table.
Shown to table and then waited 20 minutes before going in search of a drinks waiter.
Menus eventually arrived ,then told NO STEAK of any kind.This removed half of the menu.
Service then remained slow and very poor.The quickest service was when i asked for the bill!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

38% Recommend
    8
    18
    17
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Going Downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have to agree with other reviewers that the service here is definitely worse than ever. Have always enjoyed visits to this Cafe Rouge since it opened but the last 4 or 5 times we have left very disappointed. The last two Friday evenings in particular were terrible for service and the restaurant wasn't even half full with at least 4 'serving' staff, yet we still waited ages for food and drinks. Food is still okay but the service really lets this place down lately.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Love the location , even enjoy? a basic salad from a chain restaurant, but the service is always slow, slow, slow....it has become a standing joke...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We sat at a table outside the restauarant waiting to be served while a waiter stood telling his life story to another customer. Eventually we got fed up and walked off.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Food was average but the service was poor. We had gone to this restaurant for 2 years for brunch at the weekends and we have recently felt like it has gone downhill somewhat.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge Loughton also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rouge Loughton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rouge Loughton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.