We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth to visit with Family” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Opera Island Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasaragod
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oyster Opera Island Resort
Save
You added Oyster Opera Island Resort to your Saves list
Thekkekadu Island, Kasaragod 671345, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not worth to visit with Family”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Its always hard to write and say bad about something from my side, but I am helpless in this case.we visited this place in last week of April; with my and relative family that include 2 kids!! First some good point--Reservation experience over phone with Mr. Gul excellent, and that made more expectation having such nice human on other side; location around this property excellent!! First Lunch for Non Veg ; boating experience was good--Excellent BUT after that its better not to say everything else personally we found pathetic there....starting from maintenance of property not at all maintained( I know its off season for them but in this case they should have informed us in advance); Second while checking they never asked for any ID proof( amazing !!); Rooms are very small and I dont know how to explain that experience.. After check in and lunch when we started exploring property we were very upset ( I know its on village theme but I am sure a typical Kerala village will be much more better in any case). If you are with kids then this is not so friendly place for them keeping kids interest in mind while inquired Mr. Gul that we would like to check out immediately how much they charge for that; he never asked about our problem instead of that they were very clear on how much we need to pay; however keeping in mind business interest from both the side, we continued our stay but only in one hope that how soon we depart from there..... I would specifically mentioned horrible feeling during night time as we were only family in property and its too dark surrounding however they have some security staff on place. At last we were happy to check out and in entire trip to North Kerala this is the only bad experience I had that still remembered by our kids as well:).

Trust me , whatever picture they have placed on website, if this place is maintained that much then it could be great experience for us but no match at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had visited this place during a weekend from Bangalore with high expectations by looking into the photos of cottages surrounded by the backwaters. Upon reaching, we were disappointed with the pathetic condition of every cottage, unclean and it smells musty. The bed sheets were not changed and the mosquito tent definitely need a wash.

On the positive side, the view of backwaters surrounded by coconut trees and the food was awesome (especially fish). They have arranged a boat ride and a bath in the middle of backwaters. Few cottages had hammocks and A/C. Though there are no much activity to do in this place, i feel it is a great place to relax and cherish the nature. Ideal for group/team outing with friends. Overall, i feel this place is not worth for 5K per night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had to this place during April 2012. At first when we entered the compound we didnt feel so good . but after some time everyone's mood changed. its a wonderful place to just relax with your friends or family. we were around 15 people including kinds above 10 . so we played football, . cricket etc ... the most amazing thing about this place is the food. once you have the food you will feel completely worth spending the money. all kind of fish you will get here. really good. the cottage is really small , but some of us slept outside in the night, it was good. the climate was ok at the time we went . if its hot better avoid going during that time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We visited Oyster Opera in Dec 2012. The trip to the resort took close to 1 hr from Kasargod bus stand and was enjoyable.

The resort look really beautiful with all the water around. The breakfast served after our arrival was cold, but the fresh pineapple juice was heavenly.

There are enough activities in the resort to keep one engaged. We were taken to the secluded sandwich beach in a boat where we were served hot tea and banana fritters. With no one around, one can really enjoy the beach with utmost privacy. The return boat trip at sun set was a memorable experience with all the splashes of water and nice wind touching our skin. We also went to visit the mussel farms where the whole process of farming was explained in detail. Canoeing in the backwaters was another good experience at the resort.

There are relaxing hammocks near almost all cottages, swings for kids to play and rackets for the badminton freaks.

On the flip side, most of the times, the food served was very cold. The service was slow, once had to wait an hour to get tea. There was no hot water facility in the rooms and had to ask the staff to get hot water in buckets. Also, the rooms werent cleaned proactively, but once we raised our needs, the rooms were cleaned properly. But the positives certainly outshine the negatives.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place is on the backwaters with good and clean cottages and floating boats, we stayed in the house boat, if you are couple and will to experiment this is very good(house boat) but with children around it may not be safe, better stay at the cottage, food is very good they serve traditional dishes with varties of seafood and Non-veg ,staff and owner is very pleasant and kind

Room Tip: River facing rooms are good and spacious, dont not be sacred if you hear a loud sound of knocking at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Upside: We had a lovely time with very good service and excellent food. Excellent Fishing ( we had our own rods etc ) Excellent boat trip, good area for walking with charming locals.
Room was clean and comfortable and views perfect. Mr Gul Mohammed is a fount of information and we will certainly visit again.

Downside: It was a major festival so we had 4 rather noisy nights so check before you book. A/C is overpriced and only available in a couple of cottages. Rather a lot of falling coconuts so beware where you sit, and noisy livestock in the roof.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thalassery, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is one place I will heartily recommend to our friends. Tucked away in a corner of Cheravatthur town this place required some serious local knowledge on part of our chief engineer to be found. Once there its a completely different setting. The owner of the place has started this place after his return from gulf and there are lots of things you can do that are mentioned in other reviews. The food is great thanks to the ex Army cook they have and lots of variety of sea food are available. It was a great experience to have and enjoy. We enjoyed the unspoiled beach which was 10 minutes away across the lagoon (BTW the lagoon in the mid is shallow so you can stand in the lagoon in the water). There is a pool where u can do kayaking. We had a trip in the Backwaters which was better than my previous experience in Aleppy. The hammocks are great and the place is lovely when it rains. This is a place to relax and enjoy. Families friendly and most importantly not too expensive either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oyster Opera Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Opera Island Resort

Address: Thekkekadu Island, Kasaragod 671345, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kasaragod
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Kasaragod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Oyster Opera Island Resort India/Kasaragod, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Opera Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.