We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working Crocodile Farm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koorana Crocodile Farm

Koorana Crocodile Farm
Coowonga Road, Coowonga, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Coowonga
Type: Zoos, Ranch & Farm
Attraction details
Longreach
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
123 attraction reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Working Crocodile Farm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Koorana is a grass roots crocodile farm with over 4,000 crocodiles on the property, some as old as 45 years and almost 5 metres in length. It is estimated that these crocodiles weigh almost 1 tonne. The guide showed us around some of the enclosures and demonstrated just how stealthy these animals can be. At one pond the guide tried to get us to show him exactly where the croc was. We all had a guess as there were bubbles rising in the middle of the pond and we could also see water swirling.
We were all very surprised when he threw a piece of chicken into the pond and the croc was right at his feet in less than half a metre of water. Fortunately the guide was standing up above the water on an enclosed platform. It just went to show just how they can move into position to strike their prey without any indication at all.
We had an opportunity to hold a young crocodile which was 4 years old and a bit less than 1 metre long. It has a commercial value at that age of $4,000.00.
Their restaurant serves all things crocodile, steak, burgers, kebabs and even spare ribs. As it was lunch time we gave it a try. Sort of a mixture between chicken breast and crayfish but with a firmer texture.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    26
    7
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“27/pp To Enter the Property? Whaaa?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were looking forward to going to the croc farm. We went in to the gift shop (I was intending to buy nicknacks to send home and a hat for my husband), and were told that we had to pay $27/pp to enter the property, let alone stay for the tours.

I was willing to BUY things from their gift shop and was rudely ushered off the property because I didn't fork out money for the "pay to step on our land" fee.

Will never go back!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“No Dogs In Cars (only)/ Expensive Lunch”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We travelled 3/4 hr from just outside Rockhampton, having already given our dog a toilet break and intending to leave him in the shade in the car; NOT letting him out obviously.

Upon checking if where we had left our car was alright, we were told to leave. Now whilst I accept their rules, wouldn't it be reasonable for them to include a no dog sign in their advertising and on their front gate; a 1 1/2 hr round trip for us.

We could leave our car outside the property, but there was no shade there.

Also, unless money is no problem, be aware that the meals are quite expensive for lunch. Everything....is around $17.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Working farm experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Very informative experience. It is what it is, a family run working farm. Not sure about the food as we didn't stay, but the guided tours are awesome, we even managed an egg raid from one of the nests! Makes for great croc photos. Unique experience, can't be too many places in the world you can do this. Worth the money.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Absolutely appalling for people with disabilities!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This park is obliviously not set up for people with disabilities, my in-laws were over from England and one has difficulty walking long distances and didn't feel able to walk the whole tour, a chair was offered to sit on but as explained he couldn't walk long distances between the crocs pens. They told us that if we don't pay the entry fee we couldnt even sit and wait on the rest of the family and had to leave the farm for insurance reasons. I found this absolutely appalling as the in-laws had travelled along way to see this farm. I think they need wheelchair access and have wheelchair hire available.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koorana Crocodile Farm also viewed

Rockhampton, Queensland
Yeppoon, Queensland
 

Been to Koorana Crocodile Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koorana Crocodile Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.