We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“down to earth relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B & B Oracabessa

Save Saved
You added B & B Oracabessa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B & B Oracabessa
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13 Mainstreet | St. Mary, Oracabessa, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Oracabessa B&B and Inns
Amsterdam/Berlin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“down to earth relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Long time ago i was in Paradise but i just stumbled upon this reviews and i remembered the great time i had at this place. Paradise Jamaica is a great place to hang out, meet people and start discoveries all around the island guided by local friends of the owner. its located roughly 20 km west of Ocho Rios, a cruise ship harbour city pretty much right in the middle of north shore (nice to see once but not recommend to stay if you want a relaxed time). By road taxi (most common way of transportation in Jamaica) it takes about 20 to 30 minutes depends where you want to hop off. Paradise Jamaica estate is located at the coast road and therefore fully connected to any place in Jamaica. long waiting time almost impossible!
A (privet) beach, very quiet and very clean ad beautiful is found after a 5 minute walk. Activities like the Dunns River Falls, a tour to Kingston, Port Royal (Pirates of the Caribbean) or the Blue Mountains (best coffee in the world - REALLY!!) or even to the former Hippy village Negril are offered at the lodge for reasonable prizes.
Since my stay the rooms had been fully renovated which i reckon makes the flair of the stay even more amazing. Fresh and local breakfast at the veranda with ocean view, good guides, great location, cheap rate (found no place at the north cost offering equal rooms for the smae money!!) and the people how run and own the place. I didnt found a 5 star bed and breakfast but I found a place which want to give you the best time at a great location with great people for a great price! I found friends there and i am looking forward to see how Levent and his team doing the next time i get there!!
If you have the change to stay, stay as long as you can and if its even just one night!

Enjoy Jamaica, Enjoy the Paradise! Enjoy Paradise Jamaica!!!

One Love!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

I have traveled to Jamaica for years. I have stayed in condos, apartments and guest houses.This guest house is the 'real' Jamaican experience. The ocean is across the street, wow, what a view! It is located just steps away from the beach which is usually private with no gawkers or hustlers.

I usually travel alone to get away from it all but I never feel alone with various international guests that book at this guesthouse. I often brag about this property to my clients as it is affordable and easy to navigate to other sights and reggae concerts.

Pablo, the Tour Master is knowledgable and offers tours at such a great value. I always feel safe and secure and get a chance to see the true, genuine side of Jamaica that you don't get on a tour bus.

This is my fourth trip and I am planning my next trip soon. See you there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

hi everyone,

this post might not be as objective as others I've seen but telling you the truth this is a direct answer to the negative feedback left that aint objective at all neither ...

I've been there for one month and travelled the whole Island during my stay.

This is one very nice spot !!! It has some very nice flexible and low prices and the overall "vibration" is good ! It has its own access to the beach. I met lot of people while there and kept contact today with them, and I don t know how you can be sure that people were jealous about you ??

I feel very bad for you if you had a bad experience while being there but I can tell you that during my stay I saw at least 3 groups of people that allready went there and came there again while I was around ! This place has some spirit for real

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Just came back from Jamaica and writing down my experiences I have to review this very cool guest house. Authentic Jamaicans meaning Pablo the relaxed Scout and house keeper who can tell you everything about the area and of course Miss Joyce who is the breakfast queen of the north coast, are two really impressive persons.
Meeting international young visitors and hanging out at the veranda with great ocean view and the scenery of James Bond Beach, swimming and liming on the nice sandy beach that belongs to the house - awesome.
This place is really alive and overs you great opportunities to discover one of the most beautiful regions of Jamaica. I´ll be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Me and my friends had a great time. The place is very reasonable for Jamaica therefore simple but everything is clean and nice. You meet people from all over the world as well as nice Jamaicans. The beach is incredible! A private sandy beach, you basically have the whole bay for yourself, nobody bothers you. The guest house has a foosball table, free wireless Internet, a guest kitchen, a washer and everything else you need as a traveler. We were more than satisfied and will come back for sure! From the guest house you can easily make trips all over the island and get back the same day. From the veranda, where you get your nice breakfast served by Joyce (a very nice Jamaican lady), you have a breathtaking view of the ocean. WE LOVED IT!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Meanwhile I was there 7 times between one week and 3 weeks. And I will return again. Once or twice a year there are guests who can't behave, but this will happen in every hotel or guesthouse. But most of the time is nice there. You always find nice friends or guests for common trips through the country. We sometimes had barbecue together with the locals and tryed the Jamaican dinners.
The guesthouse is located in a good area from where you can start your trips or just cross the main street and stay on the nice and BIG (500m) private beach. The beach is cleaned by an own beach keeper and located in the same bay like James Bond Beach. The next supermarket is in a walking distance, taxis drive all day and stop in front of the guesthouse.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Jamaica was NOT what I expected, it's overly touristic, not really travelers friendly.
HOWEVER the guest house was probably the one good thing that happened to me in Jamaica.
it was cheap (unlike anything else on the island), friendly, had a privet beautiful beach, where no one hassles me, and probably the only place in Jamaica that you can meet other world travelers.
I definitely recommend it if you're traveling cheap and want to hang around good people!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B & B Oracabessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Oracabessa

Address: 13 Mainstreet | St. Mary, Oracabessa, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Oracabessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oracabessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — B & B Oracabessa 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast Oracabessa is the right choice for travelers looking for a combination of charme, tranquility and beach, and a convenient location to explore the North Coast and its attractions.We are a small and friendly guest house with a private beach where the turtles nesting and hatching can be watch.Ocho Rios is 10 miles west and Oracabessa is 1 mile east. There (Oracabessa) will find Supermarkets , Pharrmacy, ATM, Post Office, Framers Market and small restaurants and many bars. Ocho Rios entertain more tourist and therefore offers everything to your need.Taxi to Ocho Rios take 15 minutes to Oracabessa town center 1 minute. Commuting between both towns is very easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your B & B Oracabessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Jamaica Hotel Oracabessa
B & B Oracabessa Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B & B Oracabessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.