We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Magical - Everything we have been looking for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goldeneye Resort

Save Saved
You added Goldeneye Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Goldeneye Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Oracabessa | St, Mary, Oracabessa, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Barefoot Summer Break
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Oracabessa
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Truly Magical - Everything we have been looking for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

GoldenEye is truly incredible in every way. We are well traveled and these were our favorite accommodations hands down. We stayed in both the a lagoon cottage and beach front and discussed over and over which we preferred because they were different but each so perfect. The lagoon cottages are super tranquil... swimming and kayaking right off your porch is simply unforgettable. The private sun deck, hammock, porch. In half a day I felt like I had been on vacation for a week. And walking out to the sand, our beach chairs just steps away from the water at the beachfront it is a dream. The staff are fabulous, food and drink top notch, watersports so easy... The spa is like a vacation unto itself. Rarely does a resort feel like it has such a light footprint on the ecology. GoldenEye is one of those boutique places that is perfect in so many ways without ever trying too hard. Everything is so well planned, laid out and tended to that the staff makes super top notch everything effortless, which as a guest is so greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    16
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
85
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

lagoon cottages are perfect for privacy. Beach cottages perfect for families. Picturesque views througout the property. Service is very good. Not typical Jamaican resort. Will likely see a celebrity chilling beside you by the infinity pool.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Island Outpost never lets us down. We just spent 4 nights in Lagoon Suite 10 and had an amazing experience. While this place was a stretch for our budget, it has been on my bucket list for many years. Traveling in the off season on a great special offer made it possible for us. As previously mentioned, the beauty of the resort would be nothing without the amazing staff -- from Gerry (front office) to Sampson (our driver) to Sanjay (sp??) (our bartender at the Gazebo) to the amazing bar staff at Bizot (yes, all of them!!) to Iran in landscaping who brought us fresh coconut water. This is turning a bit into an Academy Award speech, but its true. Every single one made our stay perfect.

My 2 cents:
--The staff at Goldeneye are amazing. They work very hard and I'm sure put up with a lot of crap from pretentious guests. Keep them in mind when you are tipping, buying drinks at the bar, or sitting down for a meal. Your generosity will be much appreciated.
--Try the coffee cooler frozen drink (non-alcoholic) at Bizot. I'm still going through withdrawal without it a week later!
--Its true - the locals know how to party and the roosters pick up when the partying stops, but this is Jamaica mon! We never felt the need to use the A/C, but I'm sure it would block most of the sounds unless you are a light sleeper.
--We could not afford any of the excursions, but found no need to do anything once we arrived.
--The food at Bizot Bar was truly amazing. As a vegetarian, I am usually left with the side dishes accompanying the main course, but not here. The veggie burger was among the best I've ever had. We would have preferred to have eaten every meal at Bizot as its atmosphere was so casual.
--While the resort is not all inclusive, we did receive the following perks that I had not seen mentioned in prior reviews: free basket of fruit in room (Julie mangos are delicious!), free bottled water, free bottle of Blackwell rum, and first drink of the day at Bizot is complimentary!

Room Tip: Lagoon Suites are very private! Dive off your personal over the water deck, drop your canoe for an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I can't praise GoldenEye enough. We got there with very high expectations (which can be dangerous) and they were not only met but exceeded by a mile. The setting is absolutely spectacular (yes the sea is a bit rocky - bring a pair of Swims or stick to the lagoon if you have delicate feet), the rooms are great (all you'd expect but the difference is made by the small touches: great music selection, awesome bathrobes, stunning outdoor shower), good food (so nice to stay at a hotel where breakfast comes from a menu and not from the usual boring buffet). Special mention to all the staff: Jenny, Candice, even the beach attendants. I've stayed in my fair share of nice hotels and although some might be newer, more luxurious, located on a prettier beach, very few come close to this level of effortless cool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We just returned from 5 days at Goldeneye. We stayed in Lagoon Villa #7. I felt that the lagoon suites were more private than the beach cottages. It’s the best of both worlds in that you are able to swim, snorkel, kayak etc in the lagoon right off of your private porch or deck, but if you feel like laying on the beach and swimming in the waves, you can walk over there quickly and easily. Our room was perfect, lovely sheets towels robes. Outdoor shower, huge soaking tub, nice bathroom. We used our porch and deck a ton for reading, relaxing and sunning. There is a mini bar, coffee, fruit basket and snacks in the room- all well stocked. We had a bottle of white wine in our fridge that we wanted to open, but there wasn’t an opener in the room... it took several calls and nearly an hour for someone to arrive with the opener. (this was atypical but was annoying). There is definitely a buzz at night with the various wildlife sounds, the music from the bar in the distance and noise from the roads. It was not loud or distracting, and if you sleep with the windows closed and air conditioning on, you don’t hear it at all.
The food was really VERY good! Tons for options and really delicious fresh produce from their own gardens. A lot of local ingredients and fresh fish. The breakfast (included) had a number of great choice including fresh fruit, great pastries, eggs- pretty much anything you could want. Lunch at the Bizot bar was casual and really delicious. We often had the grilled fish specials, which were well prepared and very good. Large portions and super fresh! They have great music playing and the wait staff and bartenders and friendly and efficient. Dinners at the Gazebo were also really good. Great service, lots of choices, good wine lists and well prepared fresh food. I can’t emphasize how nice was to travel to the Caribbean and have a large variety of organic delicious vegetables on the menu- in addition to local fresh fish. The vibe is laid back but elegant, romantic but not stuffy. As a side note, we ordered to our room for dinner from here 2 of the nights- the food arrived very quickly and was well presented and fun to dine on the water alone.
We debated going into town for a meal but never made the effort. We did stop at Buccineers ( a jerk place quite nearby) and got some really good chicken and festival. The jerk was so good and worth making the short trip.
The glass bottom boat is worth going out in to get an overview of the massive reefs surrounding the property. Snorkeling we saw a lot of fish and large variety of coral. The kayaks are so much fun and you can explore the coast line fairly safely. There are also paddle boards and long boards to go out on and get a wave or two ( great surf for learning and for kids). There are 2 pools, which is nice as the main pool was dominated by children in the mornings... escaping to the salt water pool on the point was a nice option.
Overall, it was a really great experience. Fun celebrity sightings, luxurious but casual, sleepy and relaxing but lots of activities to fill your days. It’s a long drive from the major airports, but worth it once you are there. We will be back!

Room Tip: The lagoon suites are more private than the beach villas..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Without a doubt the best resort i have ever stayed at. Accommodations, views, beaches, service, and food all second to none. Second time visiting was even better than the first. Have now stayed both on the beach and the lagoon...and can't make my mind up which i like better. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I can't say enough about Goldeneye. Incredible setting, fantastic food, fabulous rooms and great environment. We just got and I had to let everyone know about my stay:

Setting-Great white sand beach with nice pools surrounding it. Lagoon is also very unique. I swam the 1 mile around the island which was alot of fun.
Food-Every meal we had was spectacular.
Rooms-Top notch. I stayed in #20 beach front which was close to the Bizot Bar and pool. Loved it. Spacious and enjoyed the outdoor shower.
Activities-We played tennis. The court is in great shape. We paddle boarded, swam as I mentioned. Lots to keep you busy if you need to be.

What a gem this place is. It will exceed all of your expectations!

Sincerely,

Karl

Room Tip: #20 close to pools, Bizot Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Goldeneye Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldeneye Resort

Address: Oracabessa | St, Mary, Oracabessa, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Oracabessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Oracabessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldeneye Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GoldenEye was Ian Fleming's Jamaica retreat and where he wrote all 14 of the James Bond novels. Today, accommodations at the original resort include: The Ian Fleming Villa, 11 one and two-bedroom Beach and Lagoon Villas, six Lagoon Cottages, and one Ocean Front Villa. Located on a stunning 52-acre site, GoldenEye is home to secret coves, breathtaking private beaches, tropical forests, and a seawater lagoon. The property is also home to the FieldSpa and two restaurants - Bizot Bar (a beach bistro) and The Gazebo (finer dining). GoldenEye is located 20 minutes east of Ocho Rios. It is a 90-minute drive from Montego Bay Airport and an 8-minute drive from Ian Fleming International Airport (private aviation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Goldeneye Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldeneye Hotel Oracabessa
Goldeneye Hotel Ocho Rios
Goldeneye Resort Ocho Rios
Goldeneye Resort Jamaica/Oracabessa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldeneye Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.