We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Eat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monkey Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koh Rong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monkey Island
Save
You added Monkey Island to your Saves list
Koh Rong Beach, Koh Rong, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a review for the Monkey Island Restaurant, not the resort.
We stayed at the nearby Paradise Bungalows, but ate mostly at Monkey Island after the first day. We found the food to be consistently tasty, the service was good and they paid attention to small changes we requested in the food for our children.
The staff was warm and tried their best to help us when we needed some work done.
The only area of improvement is the cleanliness of the cushions - I don't think they had been washed in ages.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    42
    37
    22
    22
See reviews for
8
41
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We ate twice at their restaurant. First time the service was extremely slow and second time quick. The third time we left because they were not really interested to come to ask our command so we left. In the evening the music is very loud so no way to sleep there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner booked the misleading Monkey Island resort for a 5 night stay without reading any reviews due to lack of internet, we called ahead as we were given the number from a guide in Siem Reap, we spoke with a member of staff who confirmed that Monkey Island was a very quiet very clean place to relax.
As one of the most expensive "private bathroom" bungalows on Koh Rong we were looking forward to arriving in what was claimed to be "untouched paradise"

What greeted us couldn't be further from the truth, after arriving in Monkey Republic their hostel on the mainland, we collected our tickets and sat down with a large group to await pickup to take us to the pier.Staff attempted to shovel is onto a large "chump" bus, we declined and went via Tuk Tuk.

After 2 hours on a unsafe boat we arrived at "paradise" we were greeted with a beach rife with plastic bags, battery's and other unsavoury stuff, we had arrives at what I would call a dump.

Once we crossed the open sewage river along the beach we arrived at Monkey Island Hotel and checked in by two very clicky unfriendly staff.

We arrived at our Bubgalow that was as far removed from inhabitable as anywhere you could hope NOT to stay, the room was filthy, the door was hanging from 1 hinge and the sheets were filthy, the mattress was nothing but springs and when I approached the staff to replace the mattress she made me feel that I was nothing more that a hinderance to her routine.

The true enjoyment came when we arrived at the bar for dinner and were forced to listen to pumping RnB. Half way through the meal two utterly wasted tourists started shouting at each while standing on tables and chairs. Another guy was so wasted he actually fell up the stairs onto a sleeping dog.

We left shortly after to get much needed sleep, utterly exhausted the "music" continued to blare out until 12am during which time 2 wasted tourist attempted to enter my bungalow presumably being two drunk to know where their accommodation was.

After the two attempted "walk in's" I sat outside to ensure no one else attempted to enter my shed. I turned two more drunken chumps away before going back in to attempt to sleep. After a further hour of terrible guitar playing from a near by shed I eventually fell asleep only to be woken by building works at 6am.

After the worst nights sleep in my life we checked out and left in search of a safe clean bungalow with a sense of relaxation rather than a party for chumps

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

They have all that it takes to make it truly special, but they loose out with staff that are at best surly and at worst they seem to view customers as a considerable irritation. The beauty of the island compensates for a lot of things that could be done so much better. If you book, don't expect to get what you clearly requested, and certainly don't expect to feel that they care too much about the information not being received at their end "it's not down to us that OUR booking agent doesn't pass on the info" was the response we got. Do expect beauty on your door step and an experience of sheer wonder from the island. But if you would rather not wake up with a disappointed feeling and customer service that makes you feel valued, then head next door to Paradise Bungalows. These people next door run a very tight ship.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Firstly, you must remember there isn't much on this island so there aren't many choices. The place we had intended to stay was full (book early!) so we ended up at Monkey Island. 5 of us in 1 bungalow. And for the money and beach location, it wasn't the worst I've had. The shower was so cold though it felt like ice. And when it rained, the ceiling leaked a bit getting us and our possessions wet.
On a positive not, the beaches out front were ok and the location is good. But I would recommend walking a bit further north on the island and paying a bit more for your sanity while you stay here.

Room Tip: If you do stay, bungalow beachside is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Monkey Island for 3 nights just before NYE. Before we travelled, we read quite a bit about Koh Rong and knew that the accommodation on the island is quite basic. That being said, after 3 nights at Monkey Island, we were very glad to get back to SHV.

Starting with the positives;
1) We quite liked Koh Rong, no concrete, glass or steel anywhere. It is a complete city detox.
2) The bungalow we stayed (ones without private bathroom) are right at the beach. Beach is really pristine.
3) Food (especially Asian dishes) tastes good and prices especially for drinks are very very cheap. Between 6-9 pm you also have the happy hour where you pay one and get one free.

Now the negatives
1) Rooms are really spartan. It is kind of like sleeping in open air with a straw roof above your head so all creatures room freely in your room. First night when we were about to go to bed, we saw a huge rat in one top of one of the beams! It was quite disturbing.
2) Shared bathrooms are cleaned once a day. Our sheets or towels did not get changed for the duration of our stay.
3) On the last night of our stay, the weather was quite rough and the sound of waves kept us awake so may not be a bad idea to bring earplugs.
4) When it rains, stuff will fall of from the roof.

One thing which needs to be appreciated is that all accommodation on the island including Monkey Island is geared for the backpackers. It is cheap, cheerful but lacks any sort of basic comforts like a clean toilets, sheets and a good night's sleep. We met people who came for a few days and ended up staying for weeks. There were families staying with small kids (which is great as they really enjoyed the beach and normally very calm waters). So this could be your heaven or hell...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauria, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and in that time our towels and bedding were never changed,out toilet tissue in the bathroom never emptied,and we even had to ask for toilet paper.
Realistically we realised its a desert island hut but at the very least the owners could take more interest in the cleaning and their clients.
For the money it's not worth it,it's very basic and none of the European staff seem to care about the bungalows.
The eating and drinking area feels like a grubby student bar after a particularly big night ashtrays full,tables dirty and everything feeling grubby.
We ended up eating at the nearby paradise bungalows where the food and atmosphere is far better.
The Khmer staff work very hard and are quite welcoming and the cooking is ok.
Go somewhere else unless it's for a very brief stay and your desperate.

Room Tip: Rooms are all quite well located
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monkey Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Island

Address: Koh Rong Beach, Koh Rong, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Koh Kong Province > Koh Rong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Koh Rong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Island has 20 hand crafted beach bungalows situated right on the white sand beach of Koh Rong. Each bungalow sleeps up to 4 people.Fall asleep and wake up with the sound of the waves lapping at your doorstep on one of the most pristine Islands of Cambodia - Koh Rong.We have a large selection of Thai and traditional Khmer meals, we also have daily specials and BBQ's.The bar/restaurant is situated right on the white sandy beach and enjoys a unique and uninterrupted view of the crystal clear, turquoise waters all the way to the horizon. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkey Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.