We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the Granary Cafe-Bar-Bistro

the Granary Cafe-Bar-Bistro
28 Bridge Street, Tadcaster LS249AL, England
00441937833529
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 restaurants in Tadcaster
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

A group of 8 people visited this little Bistro on Saturday evening, for a Birthday celebration.

The place is small and cosy. Some of the party where a little apprehensive of what it was going to be like.

I have to say when the food was served, everyone was very happy with the Quality and taste of their meals

I had the Pork Wellington, and I have to say this is one of the best tasting meals I have had!

Im sure we will be returning again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard F, Owner at the Granary Cafe-Bar-Bistro, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thankyou for your recent review of the Granary. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and your very positive feedback really gives the chefs and the team a lift. We change our menu regularly to reflect the seasons and introduce new dishes so we hope you return soon to try our latest offerings.
Thanks again, Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

98% Recommend
    90
    19
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A lovely calming choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

New to area and had Chance to pop in here through the week recently on my way about with a friend. The service was ok and the staff were polite and pleasant. The food is cooked to order it seems so was worth a little wait rather than the 5mins in microwave or on hotplate.
Food tasty and reasonably priced and the place felt relaxing and welcoming though lacked a little atmosphere and wouldn't imagine what evenings are like but we will be back no doubt

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard F, Owner at the Granary Cafe-Bar-Bistro, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thankyou for your review of the Granary - we really appreciate all feedback. All our food is prepared fresh so there is a short wait but we hope the results speak for themselves. The café was certainly a little quiet when you visited however usually we are busy and bustling. We would love to see you again to try our evening food as the new menu is very exciting. Best regards, Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful.!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

A totally great find... and the most wonderful steak pie I have ever tasted, charming staff lovely bistro surroundings free car parks nearby and great value too... what more could we ask for.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard F, Owner at the Granary Cafe-Bar-Bistro, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Very glad to hear that you enjoyed the steak pie - when we started here 18 months ago many people warned us about tampering with the steak pie and we are very happy that it maintains its deserved reputation! It was also very pleasing to hear that you found us providing good value for money as, in the current climate, we feel this is key to getting return visits. Hope to se you again soon.
Regards, Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best ham and mushroom omelette I have ever tasted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

So, I have had breakfast in The Goring Hotel and last week was at the 5 star Rockcliffe Hall but honestly, I have never had a more delicious breakfast than the ham and mushroom omelette I had a couple of weeks ago at The Granary. Packed with (I think) home cooked ham hock and huge slices of field mushrooms - it was just delicious.

This is a tiny, unassuming bistro on the main street in Tadcaster, you'll get a warm welcome and delicious food - don't underestimate it - it's great little find. We're going to try the Sunday lunch and hope to be just as impressed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard F, Owner at the Granary Cafe-Bar-Bistro, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast on your recent visit and can confirm that our hams are home-cooked. Our omelettes get consistently good comments and to be compared to the places you mention gave the kitchen team a real boost. I sincerely hope you enjoy your Sunday lunch if and when you return.
Regards, Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Popped in having completed half of my cycle ride, received a friendly reception even in my sweaty Lycra! Kept it simple and ordered a bacon and egg sandwich and latte coffee, cost £3.45. I know you can't go far wrong with this but everything was spot on and I have to say the best latte I've ever had. The place is really clean with a pleasant ambience, definitely recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard F, Owner at the Granary Cafe-Bar-Bistro, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Very glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Our bacon from the Butchers Block in York is the best of several we have tested since we started here some 18 months ago and it is good to get continued positive feedback. Especially pleased that you enjoyed the latte as we put a lot of effort in to providing consistently good coffee. We hope to see you again soon.
Regards, Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the Granary Cafe-Bar-Bistro also viewed

Tadcaster, North Yorkshire
Tadcaster, North Yorkshire
 
Tadcaster, North Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to the Granary Cafe-Bar-Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the Granary Cafe-Bar-Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.