We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marton Hotel & Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marton Hotel & Country Club to your Saves list
Marton Hotel & Country Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stokesley Road, Marton, Middlesbrough TS7 8DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marton
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time my colleague and I have stayed here whilst attending the uni in Middlesbrough. The hotel is tired and dated, but the rooms are clean and cheap. Really needs a good overhaul to spruce it up. Saying that, we paid £45 for a twin room including a cooked breakfast, so can't really complain!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    37
    30
    25
    44
See reviews for
34
35
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

After reading many reviews about this hotel I was somewhat pleasantly surprised by the welcome given to me and my family by the staff. Admittedly the place looks a bit dated but dont let it put you off.The restauraunt is great value and the food is very good quality. A basic menu but that is what I like. We are not ones for all this fancy grub.A good quality meal for a reasonable price is what I wanted & that is exactly what I got. There was a tribute band playing while we were at the hotel. 300 people all enjoyed themselves.

Room Tip: Ask at reception or prebook one of the refurbished rooms.Nice new bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Spent the weekend at the Marton Country Club, OK it's tired and in need of investment. If you want the Ritz for the price of a 1* Hotel you are on a different planet. I really cannot understand why people always see a negative or just like to moan. The rooms are large and the basics are there. The staff were friendly and the breakfast is a self service and plenty of it so you can fill your boots failing that pop across the road to the Rudds for a chain meal. The place is tired but has a character about it, People do your homework before embarking on a trip to save the hasle. I have stayed in worse in the UK and in the USA but you get what you pay for. I know the Club from old an knew what I was getting.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a refurb room for the space, if you don't like it ask for a change.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Terrible hotel, disgusting cold food, dirty decor, rude staff and a manager with "little man syndrome". This place makes faulty towers look like the ritz. Would urge people to give this place a miss because once you have been you will definitely not return!

Room Tip: There isn't a good room, they are all bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marton hotels

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This hotel is really in need of complete refurbishment. I had booked a 'superior' room via the net however if the room I stayed was superior I cant imagine the condition of non superior room. There was a smell to the hotel, worn carpets, bedroom furniture scratched. The duvets were thin and useless, bathroom required some work to remove stains around bath, shower screen not cleaned properly. The walls are very thin and there was a thin door connecting my room to another room which meant I could hear every conversation even though the other guests were not talking specifically loud. Their telly kept me awake til 2am! It was not a pleasant experience and I could not wait to leave. The only positive comment I have is about the food, I ordered from bar menu on the first night and it was very nice.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Read reviews and take note, this place AT LEAST needs to have a rethink on its name!! Bad bed sits for rent is more apt. Very tired décor, poor staff. not even electric showers. Stained carpets, mouldy bathrooms. IT DID however have a reasonable TV.

Room Tip: Premier inn down the road!!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Do not stay here, I can not emphasise this enough! It is truly dire and the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay in. The décor was like walking back into 1971, didn't look like it had been cleaned and updated since well, 1971. The smell when you walked in, was like a big wet dog, which died in 1971... the room was although spacious, very dated, the bed spread was stained and had quite clearly not been cleaned, the furniture was in disrepair, the bathroom had lots of mildew around the shower and the shower door, the sink had a hair grip stuck in the plug hole, which had been there for a long time going by the slime around it. Although breakfast is included it was vile and inedible. The staff were surly and rude. In fact it was so bad, that as soon as we walked in the room we tried to book another hotel, but unfortunately everywhere else was fully booked.

Room Tip: Choose the Premier Inn down the road (1.5 miles away)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marton Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marton Hotel & Country Club

Address: Stokesley Road, Marton, Middlesbrough TS7 8DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough > Marton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marton Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Marton Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marton Hotel And Country Club
Marton Hotel & Country Club Middlesbrough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marton Hotel & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.