We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, but very dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marton Hotel & Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Marton Hotel & Country Club to your Saves list
Marton Hotel & Country Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stokesley Road, Marton, Middlesbrough TS7 8DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marton
Worcestershire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Good Value, but very dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

It was difficult to rate this hotel as it was good value with warm reception and good food, however, the place is in desperate need of a makeover.
Some of the rooms have been refurbished, and I was glad I chose one of those based upon the general furnishings. The carpets throughout are threadbare and generally very tired ambiance.
There is good free parking facilities and apparently free wi-fi is available. This did not manage to reach the 2nd floor where my room was located although it did work in the bar area.
My refurbished room was fine, however the provided toiletries are minimal and towels are as thin as the walls between rooms.
The breakfast was OK with the normal bacon, sausage etc and range of cereals. Dinner was good value and piping hot.
Overall, I think I would stay here again, but only as a place to lay my head down on an overnight stay and not for any length of time.

Room Tip: Choose a refurbished room and if wi-fi is important, probably one on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    37
    30
    25
    44
See reviews for
34
35
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel from 8th February 2013 until 11th February 2013 and I was greeted by Sarah? Hope I spelt name right? A very welcoming young lady and a personality to match.
This was my 4th time I have stayed at this hotel. All the Staff and Night Porters and Housekeeping staff made me feel very welcome again. I feel Safe when at this Hotel. There is also a Lift available for people who have Disabilities. The Bedrooms are en-suite and very clean. I have just booked again for September 2013. The Breakfast was excellent and I have no complaints whatsoever. Nothing is too much trouble for them. I like this hotel because it is very convenient for all Bus Routes and a short walk to Marton Shops. The bath fills up in an instant and it is always very hot water. Breakfast is included with the room and if you don't need a breakfast you can have a packed lunch. All the Meals are well worth every penny. They also cater for Special Diets. I just want to say Hello to Sarah, Rita and Linda.and All Receptionists. Frank and Phil Night Porters and a Big Thank You to Michelle and Joyce and All Housekeeping Staff. Roll on September!!!

Room Tip: All Rooms are Excellent. Service is Exceptional. 100% Service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and i have just returned from this hotel having attended a funeral in that locality. Providing you booked on line, (we used Booking.com) you save £20 a night, reducing the price from £60 to £40 per night, The hotel communal areas and the external facade is in serious need of refurbishment. However the room and bathroom were in excellent condition, very spacious and spotlessly clean. The above price also includes a full english breakfast, served buffet style, with a good selection. Nothing was tooo much trouble for the staff. Overall impression, good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on the 7th Feb, and I have to say we both couldn't fault the place.

Whilst it doesn't look like a palace from the outside, don't let that put you off.

The staff are some of the friendliest we have ever come across, the food was outstanding, and the room was great.

For the price, it was outstanding

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was booked to stay for 3 nights as needed to be close to the hospital,i needed to stay for a few extra nights and they re organised the bookings to fit me in . the room is one that has not been refurbished but it was perfect for what I needed . the staff were all really friendly and helpful and as a young woman in a strange place that made me feel just at home , all the staff were really chatty and recommended a local taxi ferm to take me to and from the hospital they were fab to . over all I really recommend it for somewhere to stay with nice friendly staff . they even wraped my breackfast up so I could take it to the hospital with me .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed for a night on our way to visiting friends, room was basic with no frills, nice bed and got a good nights sleep. It was one of the unrefurbished rooms so the wardrobe was an open rail.
Breakfast was good and staff very helpful.
Ideal for a short stay close to Middlesbrough for shopping and close to North York moors.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Had a pint or 2 there, thoroughly enjoyed it. The lady behind the reception was really helpful, stopping work to point me in the direction of the bar. Decent prices, nice atmosphere, good music, an all round great experience

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marton Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marton Hotel & Country Club

Address: Stokesley Road, Marton, Middlesbrough TS7 8DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough > Marton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marton Hotel & Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Marton Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marton Hotel And Country Club
Marton Hotel & Country Club Middlesbrough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marton Hotel & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.