We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of College Arms

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
College Arms
Main Street, Linton-on-Ouse YO30 2AY, England
+44 1347 848823 ‎
Improve this listing
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We happened onto this place while driving the countryside, and were hungry, so stopped in for dinner, not expecting anything special. We were very pleased and surprised with the food, the staff and the selections of beer. The staff was welcoming and helpful -- we weren't sure what we wanted, but offerings were explained to us; we went with the Balti Garlic Lamb (outstanding) and with garlic mushrooms and a fried onion starter (don't remember its name) which was also delicious. The garlic nan was bubbly, crisp, absolutely perfect. Dinner (above and two pints) was 20GBP. We struck up a conversation with Emily (delightful young lady), and had a great evening talking basketball. Highly recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    0
    0
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic curry, welcoming staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I have dinner here often and also pop in for a drink. It's very welcoming for families, kids are welcome until 9pm every night. The curry is the nicest I have had in the area. Pool table, darts board, tv, juke box and dominos are popular. Locals are friendly and happy to tell you about the area. Drinks are average price and service is fast. There is a lounge and a bar so good for those who also want a quiet drink. Would highly recommend it and certainly worth travelling to if you like a curry.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Rough around the edges”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

If you like a pint of ale and a filling supper then you are right at home here. Refined dining this is not but that is also not what they are trying to do. I use this place often as I pass through for a good boozy dinner with colleagues and we then walk back to our beds. Very useful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Deffo be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

On visiting the quaint little village of Linton On Ouse me and my partner stayed in the local Manor House B&B which was stunning, we arrived and decided to take a walk through the village.
Whilst walking we found the College Arms which from the outside was a nice looking village pub, we entered to a warm welcome and a smile from the staff which was nice as some places you seem to need to pay extra for that!!
After two pints we got into the banter with three locals which entertained my partner as yet again i was wrong in the convo ha!!!! Altho on a plus i did beat two of the locals at pool which was my bonus of the night!!!
And i must mention the beautiful Indian that is situated out the back of the pub with its own little restaurant, i have to recommend the chefs special.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very uneasy and unwelcoming atmosphere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

A village pub situated in the lovely quaint location of Linton on Ouse this establishment has real potential. However the rude and unwelcoming attitude and temperament from the proprietors towards customers leaves a lot to be desired.
Drink prices are very high and exceed that of those expected of a city centre watering hole.
We ordered a takeaway from the Indian restaurant which is ran from the college arms, on waiting for the rest of our order my partner ate a chip from the bag and was aggressively told to leave the establishment as we were not sat in the restaurant side of the pub.
Such a shame for an initially inviting evening.
Bad experience all round, never again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to College Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.