We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a joy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sidings Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Sidings Hotel to your Saves list
The Sidings Hotel
Station Road, Shipton-by-Beningbrough YO30 1BT , England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Billingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a joy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay which we really enjoyed, having eaten here in the past we wanted to experience staying in the converted train we were not sorry, loved the experience. The meal we had was also exceptional and the wine was superb. Staff are so friendly and efficient we just loved it, going back for lunch very soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    157
    53
    43
    47
See reviews for
48
298
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We arrived quite late so ended up with the one room that was left. First night this wasn't a problem at all it was extra small I think compared to the photos of others but, it's a train and that's what we were expecting. However the second day it rained and when we returned to our room the carpet was wet through along one wall. Not ones to complain we just avoided standing on it. Things though got worse as no heating was on all night. Our ceiling and walls were wet through. I'm not exaggerating when I say we were freezing to the point we were daring the other to get out of the covers first the next morning. The staff were all lovely and the food was ok, just a shame about the damp and cold.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidingshotel, General Manager at The Sidings Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
We are really sorry that you were cold! If you had told us, we could have brought an additional heater for your room. We hope that you will visit us again and possibly try a different room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My wife and I were really looking forward to the experience but we were both very upset by the reality.

So much so that despite having a paid for 2 night booking we left after the first night.

We didn't expect large rooms, nor 5 star quality but we did expect a "room" that had been reasonably well maintained and "clean". Unfortunately neither were true. I know that the carriages that had been converted into hotel rooms were quite old (I believe about 30 years) but, to be perfectly honest, if I stay in an older hotel I still expect it to be looked after. Not, as in this case, shoddy, failing to bits, rotting and covered in damp mould.

Apart from the comfort factor it is totally unhealthy to be breathing in damp mould - especially if, like me, you have lung issues.

What else was wrong ? The food (3 course set menu) was mediocre to say the least - just felt, and tasted, as though everything had been tipped out of a can or the freezer and poorly heated up. Would make a motorway service area seem cordon bleu.

Great shame that such a wonderful idea is let down by such poor regards to maintenance and service.

Room Tip: One somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed overnight on the Greek Night in the restaurant. Excellent buffet and dancing the night away to live music. Room small, but comfortable bed and mini bathroom were all we needed. Good breakfast next morning overlooking the train track and fields beyond.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidingshotel, General Manager at The Sidings Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our 'smashing' Greek night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed here one night on March 12. We were in York to visit the National Railway Museum and stumbled upon this hotel in an internet search for hotels near the train station. The hotel itself is not within walking distance of York and so required a short cab ride as we did not have a car. The property is so unique and a must see for train enthusiasts! Everyone was so friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 8 at the back of the property, which consists of a central modern bar and restaurant and five railway carriages . The bed was huge and so comfortable. The toilet was small, but that is to be expected.
The hotel itself sits mere feet from the busy ECML rail track and the dining room offers the most amazing view of trains whizzing by as you eat. Even the view from the room was fun! The property itself was very quiet otherwise, we were not disturbed at all by the trains.
Very nice breakfast served, included with the room. Continental, but they do offer full English for a few pounds more.

Room Tip: Room 8 at the back was lovely and seemed bigger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights 17-19 March 2014. Excellent 3 course set menu meal on first night, beautifully presented.

Good nights sleep in railway carriage, but it was just a little tired round the edges.

Friendly staff.

Very good value using a KGB voucher.

Room Tip: We stayed in carriage 4, very little train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidingshotel, General Manager at The Sidings Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thanks for your kind review! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

One of the best hotels we have stayed in!! Totally different from the usual "chain hotels" in more ways than one, from arrival to departure Sid, Costa, Nathan and all the staff were extremely friendly, welcoming and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. If it's the average size hotel room you want - don't bother, The Sidings are restored railway carriages with very comfy beds and en-suite shower rooms. It was lovely to sit by the log fire after wonderful dinners with a couple of drinks, including complimentary ouzo and chat to some of the other guests who were as impressed and happy as we were.

We were celebrating my husband Phil's 60th birthday and we were really made a fuss of.
Overall we had a wonderful time and we were sorry to leave. We will definitely be back. What a great experience.

Also seems to be a very popular restaurant with the locals as they were all piling in to eat.

Cheers Sid and all the staff for everything.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sidings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sidings Hotel

Address: Station Road, Shipton-by-Beningbrough YO30 1BT , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Sidings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sidings Hotel UK/England - Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sidings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.