We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience in a friendly environment.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sidings Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sidings Hotel
Save
You added The Sidings Hotel to your Saves list
Station Road, Shipton-by-Beningbrough YO30 1BT , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
375 reviews 375 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Unique experience in a friendly environment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed in room 8 and our grown-up son had room 5. Apparently, our son's room was a bit cold, but that was really the only 'complaint' that we would raise. Our room was a four-poster and was perfectly adequate. I actually had to get up in the night and turn off one of the heaters because it was a bit TOO warm. :-)

The bed was a three-quarter size, but was absolutely fine for us. I don't think anyone would experience any problems with it unless they were of a very large stature.

Certainly the rooms and the bathroom are a little compact, but you have to realise that to some extent you are in a sleeper compartment on a train. That's part of the fun. There are more conventional hotels nearby, but surely people don't come to the sidings to sleep in a standard hotel room? We found it to be a really unique experience.

Yes, I was awoken at regular intervals by the sound of trains rushing pass in the wee small hours, but again, I knew this was going to happen. I actually had earplugs with me and would have used them if I'd thought it a major problem, but it really wasn't.

The breakfast was, again, perfectly adequate. We were happy with the selection of cereals, fruit, toast etc. on offer, but for an extra £4.95 per head we could have had a full English. Good value in my book.

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. There were guests at the hotel that had travelled from Glasgow and they also enjoyed their stay. The owner and his staff were always warm and friendly.

We hope to visit again when our friends come over from America next year.

Room Tip: Room 8 was nice and is a bit further away from the train line (although you wouldn't know it!) T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    136
    48
    41
    45
See reviews for
40
260
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This could be better with the services of a good handyman, heating engineer and restaurant manager. We unfortunately had trouble keeping warm in the public area without being right next to the fire.
In a lot of ways they tried hard, the staff were friendly and some of the areas were modern, such as the restaurant toilets which had nice contemporary basins, but wood should be painted regularly and if you are in a windy place, secondary glazing is really essential for sound proofing as well as warmth and staff should warm the rooms before guests arrive.
The food was not bad, tasty meatballs for starter followed by chicken in a mushroom sauce were tasty, but chocolate sauce on an apple crumble and custard? No.
Likewise lovely of the staff to offer something with your aperitif, - nuts, yes, but chocolate buttons and truffles, no.- (They come after the meal, with coffee or tea or liqueurs!)
Get these things right and less hap-hazard it will be.
For those of you who want to spend your hols sleeping in a tiny railway carraige it could be bliss. Personally I was not able to sleep - (every time a train went by resulted in me being shaken awake) - you might love it, but too many other aspects of this unusual place were not to our expectation.
Suggest until upgrading done, please obtain more comfy chairs and throws for your guests as a minimum effort and learn how to wash and dry dishes efficiently, it's just basic stuff really.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the sidings hotel last year and it was one of the best experiences we have had. The sidings hotel was a beautiful and unique experience with lovely, friendly and very helpful staff. I would definitely recommend friends and family to stay here. My husband and I are really looking forward to staying here again. Thank you for a truly unique and enjoyable visit

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I went for tea on grouponit was a cold day and we were asked if we wanted to say by the open fire which was wonderful. It was so cosy that we didnt want to leave. Staff were very welcoming,attentive and friendly. Food lovely. Atmosphere fabulous. Nicest afternoon out for decades.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Myself and my partner went to York for two nights for his 30th birthday.
31st January to 2nd February 2014.
We stayed at The Sidings, Shipton about 5 miles from York centre.
Brilliantly unique place to stay especially if your a train lover.
The restaurant is sat around 12 feet from the main east coast line which is very busy with passenger and freight trains but not noisey.
Our stay in part of an original pullman carriage was not nearly as cold or small as we expected. My partner is 6ft 4 and was fine apart from door height.
We had a lovely radiator on the whole visit and the bathroom had a towel rail which was so warm it was lovely.
The weather was terrible on the Friday evening and rained none stop. This wasn't great for the old wood and did make a dampness in the window areas and a damp smell but thats to be expected in such an area in such weather.
The bed felt hard as its built on a solid surface but the mattress itself was really comfy and slept ok. Could have done with a mattress protector or two on as so many people will stay in the bed that would not only protect it but make the visitor feel its a little cleaner.
The room and bathroom were clean and tidy and had tea and coffee etc in the room. Our tv had freeview and was all touch to turn on so no remote to lose but, in the room we were in the tv is on a shelf surrounded by wood and once in bed you can not see it.
Breakfast is full continental but can pay for english. We had toast and cereal so weren't bothered about paying for full english. Its very different having trains going passed every 10-15mins at 100mph at some times. But enjoyable to look out over the green fields and train lines whilst eating.
The buildings were also clean and tidy and the open fire was lovely to sit in front of on such rotten weather evenings.
The staff and owner, Sid, were lovely. Very helpful and accommodating.
We probably wouldn't stay longer then a couple of nights and would love to have some better weather so we could sit out looking over the train lines and greenery.
OVERALL very enjoyable stay

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Just spent 2 nights at The Sidings Hotel-What an experience!It was really enjoyable! My husband is the railway fanatic,but I must admit the stay was so different! Accommodation better than you would expect ,sleeping in a railway carriage! Comfortable beds, hot showers, television, good food ,friendly service and lots of trains! Going back soon with the grandson-he will love it !

Room Tip: Try the 4 poster bed in room8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Spent two nights here last week on a KGB deal. Sid was very helpful and a most pleasant host. We had cancelled in December due to illness and Sid made it very straightforward to re-book. Dinner was lovely .....we're vegetarian and loved the choices available for us. We will definitely visit The Sidings again - although next time we will go for the four poster room as we did find our room a little cramped...didn't like having to crawl into the bed from the foot!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sidings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sidings Hotel

Address: Station Road, Shipton-by-Beningbrough YO30 1BT , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Shipton-by-Beningbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Sidings Hotel UK/England - Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sidings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.