We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sidings Restaurant

The Sidings Restaurant
Station Lane, Shipton-by-Beningbrough YO30 1BT, England
01904 470221
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Sidings Hotel and Restaurant is situated in York, in North Yorkshire and is based around 5 Pullman-style railway carriages, located by the east coast mainline. The restaurant is unreservedly Italian, offering dishes such as cannelloni, marinated sardines, lamb with rosemary and potatoes, steaks and a selection of pizzas. The wine list focuses on Italian wine and three courses will cost an average of ��30 per person. Don't forget to check out the specials of the day, as well. Tickets, please! Next stop: the Sidings Hotel and Restaurant!
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“overated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

we haev been to the greek night which happens the last friday of each month,we found on both occasions the food well overcooked and not great quaility and when they start the dancing and plate smashing the manager who is supposed to teach you how to do the dancing just gets everyone going then walks away,which leaves you struggling.So we will not be going back there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    47
    55
    22
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Plesently surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

5 of us visited here today with a groupon voucher expecting just another Italian restaurant, but what a find! Fantastic setting with the trains going past to keep the kids, and me,entertained until the food came out. The best garlic bread I've ever had and fantastic pizza and pasta. I think they were a bit short staffed as we had a bit of a wait but were very well looked after. Would definitely be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our second visit to this restaurant. The staff are really pleasant and helpful and the food is very good. Wonderful garlic bread! We sat in the conservatory and had a leisurely lunch watching the trains whizz by. We will be back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Train Enthusiast's dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great weather so sat outside whilst trains flashing by at 125mph.
Food excellent with large choice and 3 specials a day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“sunday lunch for train spotters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

we had a good Sunday lunch roast with Italian twist and the boys could watch trains husband and grown up son.There were two family groups with small children wished I had gone over said what very well behaved children they had. Good value and good lunch

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sidings Restaurant also viewed

Shipton-by-Beningbrough, North Yorkshire
Shipton-by-Beningbrough, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Sidings Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sidings Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.